Customer reviews for Sorel Women's Caribou® Boot

Sorel Women's Caribou® Boot

Often imitated but never equaled, the original Sorel boot features waterproof construction, seam-sealing and a removable ThermoPlus™ felt inner boot for warmth, comfort and protection in cold and wet winter weather.
Overall rating:
4.311 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(235 reviews) 235
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 235 reviews
5 Stars
144
4 Stars
49
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
17
1 Star
6
200 out of 225(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Caribou® Boot
Review 1 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Trh657
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
This boot is perfect for the cold weather. The height is perfect and the fact that it is completely closed makes snow play time and work time much more fun. Also the liner on the inside was not as warm as I expected. Not to mention that these boots are fashionable; they go with jeans, leggings, snow pants. If you wanted to you can even tuck your jeans into the boot and it becomes a great snow bunny look. Lastly, these boots are impossible to slipp in. Walking on ice is like driving with chains/4 wheel drive.
Overall this are great boots and I would recommend them to any customer.
Occasions: Active, Work, Highly Versatile, Going Out, Casual
I would recommend this product.
+48points
105of 162voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gorgeous Boots!

PostedDecember 25, 2010
Customer avatar
Marilyn
Location: New York City
I bought these boots as a Christmas present to myself and I am so happy I did! I ordered the black pair and received them yesterday - they are gorgeous and well made!! (They remind my of $300 ski boots!) After reading the reviews I decided to to get a size 6 instead of my usual size 7. When I first tried them on they were a bit snug. But after walking around in them they got roomier and are now very comfortable. I also tried them on without the inside sock/lining and the boot was super big! I personally had trouble pulling out the liner - but if you tug from the fluffy top you will see where the liner seperates from the actual boot and you can pull out. The boots are on the heavy side so I don't forsee myself walking all day in them. Overall, I am happy with my purchase and looking forward to NYC's first blizzard!
I would recommend this product.
+35points
39of 43voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byElena
Bronx NY
 
Please wait while more information about Elena is loaded.
Additional information about Elena could not be loaded.
Not a happy camper for the !st.time
onDecember 22, 2011
I was so excited to get these boots, that when they finally arrived i put them on and was so disaponted,... i wear an 8,so i order the 8 because of some the review that said that the boot are true to size,well there not, they were so "BIG" so i have to return them n go for a smaller size...
-1point
0of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 3 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

When You Think Heavy Duty, These Boots Fit the Profile

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Litalysa
Location: Minnesota, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Let me start out with expressing how excited I was to get these boots for their slip proof dependability...
Durability: WOW. Boots are heavier than I imagined. I did not expect to wear these for a night on the town, but also didn't expect them to be AS clunky, where I'd be tripping over my own steps. I am 5'3" so it's easy for me to trip in really clunky footwear. I simply purchased these to be able to walk on ice while walking the dog and to withstand the blistering cold Minnesota weather.
If you are looking for that thick soled warm boot (literally thick ALL AROUND) then these are sure to last and do the job intended just by the look of them. They have about an inch in thickness (rubber) all around the sole of the boot. Comparing the soles to my Tofino boots, they are in contrast very different and I know I can trust them on ice. Now if you are like me and want a dependable boot that holds up to its construction description, but still want somewhat of a cute boot on your feet that don't make your feet look like mini tonka trucks, these may not be for you. They are well made in my opinion, but are most definitely a clunky boot and I've seen in some descriptions the term "clown feet" (which maybe a little over exaggerating) but your feet will look like you're wearing a men's size. (Unless you're a size 6 or below, lucky ones!)
Fit: *Note: I wear an 8 in flats everyday wear. The most important part, figuring out your size in these hefty things. I ordered a size 7.5 when I normally wear a 7.5 in a boot. Typically, for the narrow boots I stick to my regular size, BUT these are WIDER boots. For me there was a size issue. I unfortunately have to return these. They are very large on me. After removing the liner my husband could fit in them and he is a men's 10... I can't even believe I might get a 6.5 an entire size down... I went to a store nearby that had one size 7 left and they were the older version that had to of been sitting in the back of their warehouse for a while because the lining was old and had a more restricted front so while sliding on the size 7 boot they were a little more snug around the shaft, but once in, I STILL felt I had more room than I needed! *Keep in mind I like a snug boot. Overall, if you want roomy go down a half size, but if you want TRUE to your size and snug go down a whole size.
Comfort: Yes comfortable. Very roomy in the heel area and up front to fit plenty of those layered thick socks some of you like to wear. I like the suede shaft, it does not rub or sag on your leg.
Overall: I rated a 3 star instead of a 5 star for two reasons. The boot size in my case was not true to size and the fact that I expected clunky, but not as if I was wearing a men's size clunky boot. I thought they'd have a tad more of a woman's fit, but I would still recommend this boot for its functionality. These boots are durable and warm.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love, love love them!

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
nicky1092
Location: Detroit, MI, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wasn't expecting the boots to be as big as they are- they're pretty large and a little heavy but I absolutely love them (I'm also a size 12, so they're bigger than the picture).
While these do run ever so slightly on the big side, that's a good thing. They fit well on my feet whether I'm wearing regular socks/hidey socks for flats on my way to work if I'm trekking around and wearing big thick wool socks.
These are intense weather boots that are great for getting to work, walking the dog, or sledding up north in Michigan weather.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Winter Boots

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Kitteh
Location: Boise, ID, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently bought these boots for what is looking like to be a rather snow heavy winter for Idaho. They are incredibly comfortable, much more so than my last pair of boots. My feet stay dry and warm, even after tromping through snow all day. I have yet to try them on pure ice (no snow covering), but I doubt that they would let me down if I was being careful. I thought the boot fit true to size, and that is with me wearing wool socks. (Note: I like my boots to be snug, but not tight) In any case, I recommend these boots to anyone who wants to keep their feet dry and warm all day long and not have to worry about any nasty spills.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good looking and sturdy boots

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
zm1980
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Since I live in Wisconsin I've already had a few chances to try these boots out and so far I've been impressed. The quality is top notch and they are very warm. The thick felt liners are really nice. I'm thinking of getting a pair for my wife, too. They might be a bit on the heavy side for some, but I find clunking around in a big ol' pair of Sorel's very satisfying.
Regarding size: I usually wear a 8.5 so I got an 8 in these boots and I find that they fit well with a little bit of extra room for thick socks.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Cold Weather Boot

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Customer avatar
JRGentry
Location: Colorado
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We bought a pair of Sorel Caribou boots for the whole family. These boots are stylish and comfortable. They were recently put to the test with temperatures at -14 in Colorado. You won't be disappointed.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best BOOTS ever made!

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
aarh
Location: Arlington, TX, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
I have owed this pair of boots for several years. They have never failed me, Not one time. Great in the snow, and slippery wet areas. The liner of the boots are very easy to wash and keep clean when you need too. I have these on my wishlist this year and I hope I get a new color. Wish me luck.
Merry Christmas from a Sorel happy Lady.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Way too big

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Customer avatar
J9865
Location: Michigan
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Large
True to Size
Too Large
I just ordered these on Wednesday and got them on Monday. I usually wear a 7.5 or an 8, so after reading the reviews and seeing that these fit true to size I got a 7.5. I tried them on today and I have about an inch and a half of extra space. They were also much wider than I thought they would be. I seriously thought they accidentally put the men's caribou boot in a women's box. I can't even walk in the boots without feeling like I'm going to trip and fall, it's very disappointing. I want to order a 7 but I'm too nervous it won't fit.
I do not recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Boots for the Gal Who has cold feet

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Farmgal
Location: Kansas
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
As an outdoor gal, I have tried all different brands of snow boots. This beats all!! Wish I would have purchased sooner. There is enough room in the boots for UGG insoles. The price seemed high, but they are an investment. Very well made and good looking too.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly recommended!

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Foxrivervalley
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
I purchased the Caribou-style Sorel boot stamped G083 Manitou around 1989(?). White rubber bottom with white leather upper. Have replaced the liners several times as expected and have polished the upper and have used mink oil on them. These boots are still going strong. Always use them when doing the snowblowing as they have excellent traction. Plenty warm with good liners and wool socks. The rubber bottoms have yellowed with age. Does anyone know how to get them white again??? Mr Clean Magic Eraser seems to work the best so far. Otherwise, no complaints at all. Happy to have such a well-made product that has lasted so long. Thanks Sorel!
I would recommend this product.
+14points
16of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First Impression

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Huzzah
Location: Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just got these in shale yesterday. First, let me start off by saying the standard shipping was incredibly fast--I ordered these on a Monday and received them Thursday. Next, I think many reviewers over-exaggerated the bulk of these boots. Yes, they're big, but that's what I expect from heavy duty snow boots. As for the weight, the package I received them in weighed in at 5 lb, and when I tried them on and walked around, they were NOT as heavy as people make them out to be. Finally, I was hesitant on the sizing as I am a tried and true size 8, yet many reviewers said to size down. However, I measured my foot as the sizing guide instructs and my foot was indeed a size 8. After trying the boots on with standard socks, they are perfect yet roomy enough to fit thicker socks. Overall very impressed with the boots and can't wait for it to snow!!
I would recommend this product.
+30points
30of 30voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warmest Winter Boots

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
KapryciousBlue
Location: Houghton, MI, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My mom's had a pair of these boots since forever (and a few duct tape patches, of course). I got mine as a present about 6 years ago, maybe a little more. First things first: we live in central Wisconsin and the UP, respectably. There's a lot of snow and cold, so cuteness isn't really what's most important in boots. Also, we spend a week every year camping in a cabin in the UP in the winter. It's heated with a wood-burning stove, so we spend a lot of time outside collecting wood, hiking and otherwise enjoying nature. A lot of boots can keep you warm in the city, or for short periods of time, but these boots will never let you down.
A lot of people seem to be saying that they run small. I couldn't disagree more. I sized up to an 11, when I normally wear a 9.5. I probably could fit my feet into a smaller size, but since warmth is the key component, lots of trapped air is better at insulating than too many socks. This method leaves you with really large, bulky boots that shift a little when you walk, but they don't look silly under snowpants, and actually they're pretty attractive when you consider similarly effective boots. When I get more, I'll definitely stick to the larger size.
These boots are way more waterproof than any other "winter" boots I've owned. It seems like manufacturers assume if it's snowing, it'll never get wet. I've forded ice-cold streams more times than I can count w/out worrying that the water would get in.
I've spent a good 6 months a year in these boots (every day) for at least 6 years before I had to give up on them. That's longer than any other shoe I've had, much less a specialty shoe like this. The only reason I had to get rid of them was because the tread wore down, and they were slippery on the ice. (Like I said, my mom's are probably 5 years older than mine, and are doing fine with a few duct tape patches here and there to secure the waterproofedness.) They never gave up on keeping me warm, or on being overwhelmingly comfy. They're like the (waterproof, windproof) sweatpants of boots.
It's gearing up to be winter again, so I'm checking out some of the other Sorels. There are some that are a little more fashionable, but if you're looking for a hard-working, long-lasting, crazy warm boot, you can't get better.
(I tried to add a picture, but they're almost always covered by snowpants and as such, unrecognizable.)
I would recommend this product.
+23points
26of 29voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Hoping

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Schneebeladen
Location: Lake Superior
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
I received my Caribous today, and they are very very large. My foot measures to 6.5/37 on the nail. Without a sock, my foot slipped out of a tightly laced boot without any effort. With a heavy winter sock on, it's only slightly better.
I'm hoping that the extra room in the toe box will help retain heat as tight boots = cold feet, but I am concerned about slipping (as slipping boots on heels = painful blisters).
That said, there's no real support in the footbed so I'll add arch and/or heel cups to give the footbed some support. If I end up having to constantly apply mole skin/sports tape to avoid blisters, I won't be happy.
Fingers crossed that if further investment in this expensive boot doesn't work out that Sorel will stand behind their product.
Things that make me want to keep the boot, A) reputation, B) style & design (although full sheep skin inner in addition to the wool (outer) lining would be a great touch - there's room!), C) beefiness - I like a solid step (also protects from buried objects beneath snow), D) the large size might work out when I need to slip something on/off quickly (e.g., mail/trash run).
I do not yet have enough information to recommend, but I'll keep you all posted as time will tell if they're too large...frost already this week, so, Winter is Coming!!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Kind of disappointed

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
NHSunset
Location: Derry, NH, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Large
True to Size
Too Large
Loved these boots, was determined to get them once I bought a similar style that weren’t waterproof. Really love the style and living in New Hampshire and having to endure the crazy winters here I thought they’d be a great option. First thing I notice when I receive them in the mail: they’re heavy. Heavier than any normal boots I’ve held or owned. I assumed that was normal though and would take getting used to. But that’s not the problem. I realized how extremely huge these boots were when I compared them to every single other boot I own. I ordered a size 10, which I usually do with every shoe, but when I put them on my feet they were about two sizes too big. Not sure if this is a manufacturing problem or if I should’ve sized myself with the online chart. But when I order a size 10 I kind of expect a size 10.. Really feels like a men’s size, and trust me I’ve double checked, it’s a woman’s shoe. Highly disappointed now I have to return the boots, plus Sorel doesn’t cover shipping costs on what will be a very heavy package due to the weight of the boots and the size of the box. Very unhappy.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost Perfect

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Outdoorsy1
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are great looking, practical, study, cold weather boots. The toe box is big enough that toes will not be cramped and get cold. The 9mm felt liner will provide excellent warmth. I ordered the shale/stone color and thought they looked even better than the picture. I returned them with a heavy heart. I'm very picky about boots and there was just one shortcoming I could not live with. Only 4 sets of lacing buckles made it impossible to lace them really snug across the instep. So, I am replacing them with Premium 1964 boots with leather uppers. I had a pair for 30 years and they served me well, although I could have used the added warmth of the Caribou.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Weigh the Pros and Cons first!

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Customer avatar
JMFrancis
Location: Columbus, OH, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First let me start by saying - I LOVE the idea of these boots. Waterproof, serious tread (I think you could climb an ice-mountain in these bad boys without slipping!), trendy colors, and nice liner! I absolutely believe you could go for a nice long walk in these in a foot of snow and your feet would be dry and warm. All great things.
But....
First - I bought these boots thinking the other reviewers were being too picky.... I was wrong. I generally wear a 6.5 or 7 in shoes. Per other reviews, I ordered down and got a 6. The liner fit my feet fine, however, when I took the liner out (and it will slide out with your foot every single time you remove the boot)- my husband could fit into these and he wears a mens 9!!!
Second - The liner in these boots will eventually wear thin where the seams inside the boot are. This will be EXTREMELY uncomfortable for you in the future.
Third - unless you do some serious leg workouts at your gym, I wouldn't suggest buying these. I would guess they are about 4 lbs each, adding an additional 8+ lbs to your feet when walking.
Lastly - These look HUGE on my feet! I am 5'6 with a slender buid (115 lbs) and these are so incredibly wide and clunky it is impossible to walk normally in them. Unless you plan to make the ultimate lumberjack-fashion-statement, you won't be wearing these with leggings or skinny jeans in the fall/ winter. They are just way too big.
I do not recommend this product.
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warmest boots ever

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Msbrinkley
Location: Denver, CO
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
I fell in love with these years ago when I worked as a lift operator at a ski resort. I stood on ice and snowpack for hours at a time in these and my feet never got wet or cold....while not 'pretty', these boots are absolutely, without a doubt, quite simply...AMAZING !!!!!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mostly great boots!

PostedMay 24, 2014
Customer avatar
DiniFive
Location: Northampton, MA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
I used these boots during this past winter, which was super-snowy and cold. They're fantastic! They kept my feet warm & dry, & they fit great (I bought my regular size), and I had no chafing at all.
My only complaint is that the liners come completely out with my foot whenever I take them off - unless I'm not wearing socks. This became REALLY irritating since I was wearing them almost daily for a while. The entire lining comes out, and isn't that easy to get back in. Other than that, I'm really happy with these.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

so happy

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer avatar
ChristieChicago
Location: Chicago
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absolutely love these boots. They have saved me this winter in freezing Chicago! They are super comfy & warm. They are a little heavy but being such a solid boot, I can handle a few pounds per leg!! I love my grey & black caribou choice! Def recommend!!
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 Next »