Customer reviews for Sorel Women's Caribou® Boot

Sorel Women's Caribou® Boot

Often imitated but never equaled, the original Sorel boot features waterproof construction, seam-sealing and a removable ThermoPlus™ felt inner boot for warmth, comfort and protection in cold and wet winter weather.
Overall rating:
4.299 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(224 reviews) 224
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 224 reviews
5 Stars
135
4 Stars
49
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
16
1 Star
6
190 out of 214(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Caribou® Boot
Review 1 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Trh657
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
This boot is perfect for the cold weather. The height is perfect and the fact that it is completely closed makes snow play time and work time much more fun. Also the liner on the inside was not as warm as I expected. Not to mention that these boots are fashionable; they go with jeans, leggings, snow pants. If you wanted to you can even tuck your jeans into the boot and it becomes a great snow bunny look. Lastly, these boots are impossible to slipp in. Walking on ice is like driving with chains/4 wheel drive.
Overall this are great boots and I would recommend them to any customer.
Occasions: Active, Work, Highly Versatile, Going Out, Casual
I would recommend this product.
+21points
54of 87voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gorgeous Boots!

PostedDecember 25, 2010
Customer avatar
Marilyn
Location: New York City
I bought these boots as a Christmas present to myself and I am so happy I did! I ordered the black pair and received them yesterday - they are gorgeous and well made!! (They remind my of $300 ski boots!) After reading the reviews I decided to to get a size 6 instead of my usual size 7. When I first tried them on they were a bit snug. But after walking around in them they got roomier and are now very comfortable. I also tried them on without the inside sock/lining and the boot was super big! I personally had trouble pulling out the liner - but if you tug from the fluffy top you will see where the liner seperates from the actual boot and you can pull out. The boots are on the heavy side so I don't forsee myself walking all day in them. Overall, I am happy with my purchase and looking forward to NYC's first blizzard!
I would recommend this product.
+24points
26of 28voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byElena
Bronx NY
 
Please wait while more information about Elena is loaded.
Additional information about Elena could not be loaded.
Not a happy camper for the !st.time
onDecember 22, 2011
I was so excited to get these boots, that when they finally arrived i put them on and was so disaponted,... i wear an 8,so i order the 8 because of some the review that said that the boot are true to size,well there not, they were so "BIG" so i have to return them n go for a smaller size...
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 3 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Hoping

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Schneebeladen
Location: Lake Superior
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
I received my Caribous today, and they are very very large. My foot measures to 6.5/37 on the nail. Without a sock, my foot slipped out of a tightly laced boot without any effort. With a heavy winter sock on, it's only slightly better.
I'm hoping that the extra room in the toe box will help retain heat as tight boots = cold feet, but I am concerned about slipping (as slipping boots on heels = painful blisters).
That said, there's no real support in the footbed so I'll add arch and/or heel cups to give the footbed some support. If I end up having to constantly apply mole skin/sports tape to avoid blisters, I won't be happy.
Fingers crossed that if further investment in this expensive boot doesn't work out that Sorel will stand behind their product.
Things that make me want to keep the boot, A) reputation, B) style & design (although full sheep skin inner in addition to the wool (outer) lining would be a great touch - there's room!), C) beefiness - I like a solid step (also protects from buried objects beneath snow), D) the large size might work out when I need to slip something on/off quickly (e.g., mail/trash run).
I do not yet have enough information to recommend, but I'll keep you all posted as time will tell if they're too large...frost already this week, so, Winter is Coming!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Kind of disappointed

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
NHSunset
Location: Derry, NH, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Large
True to Size
Too Large
Loved these boots, was determined to get them once I bought a similar style that weren’t waterproof. Really love the style and living in New Hampshire and having to endure the crazy winters here I thought they’d be a great option. First thing I notice when I receive them in the mail: they’re heavy. Heavier than any normal boots I’ve held or owned. I assumed that was normal though and would take getting used to. But that’s not the problem. I realized how extremely huge these boots were when I compared them to every single other boot I own. I ordered a size 10, which I usually do with every shoe, but when I put them on my feet they were about two sizes too big. Not sure if this is a manufacturing problem or if I should’ve sized myself with the online chart. But when I order a size 10 I kind of expect a size 10.. Really feels like a men’s size, and trust me I’ve double checked, it’s a woman’s shoe. Highly disappointed now I have to return the boots, plus Sorel doesn’t cover shipping costs on what will be a very heavy package due to the weight of the boots and the size of the box. Very unhappy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost Perfect

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Outdoorsy1
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are great looking, practical, study, cold weather boots. The toe box is big enough that toes will not be cramped and get cold. The 9mm felt liner will provide excellent warmth. I ordered the shale/stone color and thought they looked even better than the picture. I returned them with a heavy heart. I'm very picky about boots and there was just one shortcoming I could not live with. Only 4 sets of lacing buckles made it impossible to lace them really snug across the instep. So, I am replacing them with Premium 1964 boots with leather uppers. I had a pair for 30 years and they served me well, although I could have used the added warmth of the Caribou.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Weigh the Pros and Cons first!

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Customer avatar
JMFrancis
Location: Columbus, OH, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First let me start by saying - I LOVE the idea of these boots. Waterproof, serious tread (I think you could climb an ice-mountain in these bad boys without slipping!), trendy colors, and nice liner! I absolutely believe you could go for a nice long walk in these in a foot of snow and your feet would be dry and warm. All great things.
But....
First - I bought these boots thinking the other reviewers were being too picky.... I was wrong. I generally wear a 6.5 or 7 in shoes. Per other reviews, I ordered down and got a 6. The liner fit my feet fine, however, when I took the liner out (and it will slide out with your foot every single time you remove the boot)- my husband could fit into these and he wears a mens 9!!!
Second - The liner in these boots will eventually wear thin where the seams inside the boot are. This will be EXTREMELY uncomfortable for you in the future.
Third - unless you do some serious leg workouts at your gym, I wouldn't suggest buying these. I would guess they are about 4 lbs each, adding an additional 8+ lbs to your feet when walking.
Lastly - These look HUGE on my feet! I am 5'6 with a slender buid (115 lbs) and these are so incredibly wide and clunky it is impossible to walk normally in them. Unless you plan to make the ultimate lumberjack-fashion-statement, you won't be wearing these with leggings or skinny jeans in the fall/ winter. They are just way too big.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warmest boots ever

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Msbrinkley
Location: Denver, CO
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
I fell in love with these years ago when I worked as a lift operator at a ski resort. I stood on ice and snowpack for hours at a time in these and my feet never got wet or cold....while not 'pretty', these boots are absolutely, without a doubt, quite simply...AMAZING !!!!!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mostly great boots!

PostedMay 24, 2014
Customer avatar
DiniFive
Location: Northampton, MA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
I used these boots during this past winter, which was super-snowy and cold. They're fantastic! They kept my feet warm & dry, & they fit great (I bought my regular size), and I had no chafing at all.
My only complaint is that the liners come completely out with my foot whenever I take them off - unless I'm not wearing socks. This became REALLY irritating since I was wearing them almost daily for a while. The entire lining comes out, and isn't that easy to get back in. Other than that, I'm really happy with these.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

so happy

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer avatar
ChristieChicago
Location: Chicago
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absolutely love these boots. They have saved me this winter in freezing Chicago! They are super comfy & warm. They are a little heavy but being such a solid boot, I can handle a few pounds per leg!! I love my grey & black caribou choice! Def recommend!!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

To big around ankels

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Julee
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I wasn't expecting something to make my foot look danty and or small but these were very big around my ankels. I felt as if I could not get them tight enough to feel comfortable. Sending the product back and I already spent a small fortune on the boots and now I have to pay to return them.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Blister boots not good for walking

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Customer avatar
sarah28
Location: va
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wanted a classic rain boot that would keep my socks and jeans dry during wet and cold weather. These do the trick, but the first or second time I wore them I was walking in the city and got blisters on the back of my ankles. These boots are very heavy and are not ideal for lots of walking. They fit very snug (I tucked my blue jeans into my socks); however, I could feel the boots coming off my heels while walking. After reading the reviews I ordered my normal shoe size of 6 1/2 and I think these boots are too big. I won't be buying another pair until trying them on in store.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

over-constructed too heavy

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
smkl
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Unless you're a construction worker, these boots are way too heavy. They weighed in at over 6 lbs. when i went to ship them back!
I do not recommend this product.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Winter Boot - Great Value!

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Terra
Location: Columbus, OH
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After several mild winters and owning no cold weather foot wear, this year's brutal snow and cold had me in search for the perfect winter boots. I read multiple reviews across several brands and decided on the Sorel Caribou Boot in black. I am so pleased with this purchase and they arrived just in time for our next big snow. These boots are about true to size, with just an everyday sock - anything thicker, and I would recommend going up at least 1/2 size. The boots are lined and so warm, even after being outdoors for several hours. They're comfortable and provide good traction. I've been shoveling, sledding, on a neighborhood walk (or trudge) all in these boots and have no complaints. My only struggle is when it's time to take them off... I typically end up pulling the liners out. Still, easy enough to pop back in, so not a deal breaker. Based on the quality of this product, I would recommend these again and again. Worth every penny as I expect they will last for many years to come. They're practical, comfortable and look good.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm comfy boots!

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Kat1726
Location: Stamford,Connecticut
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
This boots are very comfortable ,very warm excellent for this cold and snowy winter.
This boots run big I wear size 7,but with Sorel boots I ordered size 6 and fit perfectly so I would recommended go 1 size smaller then your actual size.
Love them
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Caribou Boot

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
HGAVLAK
Location: Cleveland, OH
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I cannot express in words how much I love these boots. Not only are they stylish, but comfortable, warm, sturdy, 100% waterproof/sno proof and easily wiped clean. The Caribou is the perfect height; not too short and not too tall. The grips on the bottom make navigating the snowy conditions seamless! They do run very large so I would suggest ordering a size or a half size down from your normal shoe size (dependent on how thick your socks are). I find myself picking outfits that will allow me to wear these boots daily. BEST BUY EVER. Worth every penny and put UGG to shame...
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT-like 4 wheel drive for your feet!

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
DLynn
Location: Salem, MA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's another sloppy day in New England and these boots have been tremendous in the snow, slush and rain. These are on the large side and they did give me blisters the first time I wore them, but they have redeemed themselves a hundred times over. My feet have stayed dry and warm and I have great traction on some pretty unpleasant sidewalks. I have confidence when walking on icy sidewalks and through slushy puddles. I would highly recommend these boots to anyone who has to brave sloppy winter days.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

a walk in the park

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
nancy23
Location: New York City
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these boots so I could enjoy walking in cold, snowy and cold wet conditions. I have taken 2 and 3 hour walks in the park on untreated trails on 15F degree days and my feet stay warm and toasty... and I hear and feel the crunch of snow with each step. The heavy treads are good for stability.
My feet are narrow, usually take N size, but I padded up the arch with an extra insole so they are reasonably comfortable.
Walking on bare pavement is cumbersome, akin to driving with snow tires on bare highways! I have other warm boots to wear when it is cold but dry.
But I'm glad I have these so I can enjoy the cold outside this winter after a good snow storm of which we have had several.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Big and Clunky But So Warm

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Kim1216
Location: Chicago, IL
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered these boots in order to survive the Polar Vortex that just won't leave Chicago. Having to walk to and from the train and to and from work with my old boots just wasn't cutting it anymore, so after a ton of research I finally decided that this brand was the best. I ordered this specific boot because I liked the neutral colors and the height of the boot. When I received the boot I was surprised to see how big and clunky these were. If you are looking for boots that make your feet look small these aren't for you. I wear a size 9 normally, so that is what I ordered. The inner boot fits perfectly. The outer boot is huge, but my foot doesn't slide around or anything; I just feel like I am wearing steel toe boots. You definitely get a good leg workout in if you are walking long distances in these things. The first 3-4 times I wore these boots I found that the stiff suede material really hurt my ankles and they were pretty uncomfortable. I started to bend the boots back and forth to loosen them up a bit when I didn't have them on and after about a week they feel wonderful. They keep my feet nice and toasty and the best part is that they are completely waterproof. Even the suede material. My only complaint is that unless I am wearing knee socks, my socks always end up around my toes when I have these on. All in all, I am VERY happy with my purchase and definitely recommend if you aren't bothered by how clunky these boots are.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not designed for daily hard wear use by farmers!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Brookfield
Location: Goshen, New York
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bitterly disappointed. This is my 2nd pair of Sorel boots and I will NEVER buy Sorel again. If you are looking for light use boots for snow shoveling, grocery store trips, snowmobiling or use that doesn't require much walking this is you boot but if you want an every day, on the farm, live in them 9 hours a day don't buy this boot. The rubber has cracked on both boots from walking and now lets the wet in. The liners wear made with such a small opening it was almost impossible to get your foot in without cutting into the felt and I have a size 7, narrow foot. This boot is in it's second winter which equates to about 6 months of solid wear in it's lifetime. From Sorel I expected more but would hazard a guess that these boots are made overseas and do not have the same qualities that Sorel was originally known for. My first pair of Sorel Caribou boots lasted 9 winters and only the tread wore out. I would suggest Sorel look into the quality of it's production before they lose another customer due to poor workmanship.
I do not recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my new boots!

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Customer avatar
HFeaganes
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If your looking for nice warm boots then you will love these. I wear a size 10 so they aren't very petite looking but they keep my feet so nice and warm and all the tread on the bottom makes walking on ice a breeze. I wasn't sure if I should go up a size since I wear thick socks but I printed out the size chart and had my thick socks on measured my feet and still was at the size 10 measurement. They fit like a glove. I would definitely recommend buying these boots.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 Next »