Customer reviews for Sorel Women's Caribou® Boot

Sorel Women's Caribou® Boot

Often imitated but never equaled, the original Sorel boot features waterproof construction, seam-sealing and a removable ThermoPlus™ felt inner boot for warmth, comfort and protection in cold and wet winter weather.
Overall rating:
4.264 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(311 reviews) 311
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 311 reviews
5 Stars
185
4 Stars
65
3 Stars
28
2 Stars
24
1 Star
9
259 out of 298(87%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Caribou® Boot
Review 1 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Trh657
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
This boot is perfect for the cold weather. The height is perfect and the fact that it is completely closed makes snow play time and work time much more fun. Also the liner on the inside was not as warm as I expected. Not to mention that these boots are fashionable; they go with jeans, leggings, snow pants. If you wanted to you can even tuck your jeans into the boot and it becomes a great snow bunny look. Lastly, these boots are impossible to slipp in. Walking on ice is like driving with chains/4 wheel drive.
Overall this are great boots and I would recommend them to any customer.
Occasions: Active, Work, Highly Versatile, Going Out, Casual
I would recommend this product.
+69points
165of 261voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gorgeous Boots!

PostedDecember 25, 2010
Customer avatar
Marilyn
Location: New York City
I bought these boots as a Christmas present to myself and I am so happy I did! I ordered the black pair and received them yesterday - they are gorgeous and well made!! (They remind my of $300 ski boots!) After reading the reviews I decided to to get a size 6 instead of my usual size 7. When I first tried them on they were a bit snug. But after walking around in them they got roomier and are now very comfortable. I also tried them on without the inside sock/lining and the boot was super big! I personally had trouble pulling out the liner - but if you tug from the fluffy top you will see where the liner seperates from the actual boot and you can pull out. The boots are on the heavy side so I don't forsee myself walking all day in them. Overall, I am happy with my purchase and looking forward to NYC's first blizzard!
I would recommend this product.
+57points
67of 77voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byElena
Bronx NY
 
Please wait while more information about Elena is loaded.
Additional information about Elena could not be loaded.
Not a happy camper for the !st.time
onDecember 22, 2011
I was so excited to get these boots, that when they finally arrived i put them on and was so disaponted,... i wear an 8,so i order the 8 because of some the review that said that the boot are true to size,well there not, they were so "BIG" so i have to return them n go for a smaller size...
-2points
0of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 3 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Returned Item

PostedMay 5, 2015
Customer avatar
elh13
Location: medfield ma
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Boot is about 2 sizes larger than normal
HEAVY
Great quality though
not for me...
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

too heavy

PostedApril 13, 2015
Customer avatar
hilnyc
Location: nj
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
i can barely pick my feet up with these.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm,comfortable & stylish!

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Customer avatar
TommySki
Location: Brick, N.J.
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought these for my girlfriend after a brutally cold snowmobiling trip to Vt. a few weeks ago. Her old boots couldn't handle the subzero temps. Record cold & snow in the NE this winter. Went back to Vt. last weekend for another trip and her feet were so warm & toasty she was running around in the deep white stuff like a little girl again. These boots are WARM, comfortable & stylish!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Winter Ready

PostedMarch 7, 2015
Customer avatar
Missjennc
Location: Upstate NY
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
We have had a crazy winter, so I wanted boots that were right on point for heavy snow. So far, so good.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Caribou boots

PostedMarch 7, 2015
Customer avatar
AMLB
Location: Windham NH
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Love them just wish they didn't look so bulky.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

So So

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Customer avatar
maafkarna
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
I got this for my daughter and paid two day shipping..unfortunately I didn't received on time it took over a week and endup picking up from UPS.she wear size 7 but this is huge so we end up ordering size 6.since my daughter want it Sorel somehow.But I would recommend LL.Bean
they are so comfy and true size good for newengland weather...
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Obsessed!!!!

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Customer avatar
BlondePersianGrl
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just recently moved back to Cape Cod from Orange County so you can imagine my surprise with the crazy cold artic freezes and snow we have gotten this 2015 winter season. I've been wearing a pair of wellies with the fleece sock insert and my feet have been so cold I couldn't take it any longer!!!!!
I have been on the hunt for a snow boot that would be durable and warm. I saw a girl in dunkin donuts with a pair of Joan of arcs from Sorel so I got to researching. Then I went to visit my friend and she had the caribou boots, I tried them on and I was in love.
So I came to Boston today to buy some boots!!!! I found the caribou in the Grey color which Im obsessed with and they fit amazing. I'm usually a size 7-7.5 but I got the 7 and it fits great with my thick winter socks. The durability of these boots are amazing, they do feel heavy but you get use to it and they are extremely warm. I am totally in love with these boots and would recommend them to anyone looking for quality and durability.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

serious boot !!

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Customer avatar
blinker76
Location: Tulsa, OK, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in NE Oklahoma, and most know that our weather is unpredictable to say the least. This winter my outside chores doubled and covers about 10 acres of walking. so this year i decided to be prepared (least amount of snow in years), but i was ready. i researched for 2 months before deciding on the Caribou. so glad i did because these boots are awesome. i ordered a 7 (my true size) and they are roomy enough for thick socks but not a must. i did find that if i leave my muddy boots out in the cold it takes forever for my feet to warm up so now i keep them by the heater till i need them. They are excellent on ice, no slipping at all. i have not had the deep snow this year to try them out but have confidence they will work out great. They are a little heavy but that should be expected in a boot of this type. I found the weight to my advantage in keeping sure footing and when they are laced all the way they are great for hiking on uneven terrain. as i love to do ! :) In summary these boots are not for the faint at heart, they are a serious boot for serious outdoor conditions. So if you are looking for a heavy duty durable dependable boot Sorel is the place to go. And they are cute cute cute
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE!

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Customer avatar
Boston111
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
I purchased these boots after the 6+ feet of snow in Boston this winter. The boots keep my feet completely dry and super warm. I'm typically a 6 1/2 and a size 6 fits great. They are a bit clunky, but a small sacrifice for the functionality. They still look cute too!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PERFECT!

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Customer avatar
Ktea
Location: Ohio, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These boots are absolutely perfect. I initially ordered a size 7 based on my foot's measurement compared to the sizing chart the site provides but they were very loose. I exchanged for a size 6 and they were a perfect fit. Super warm and very comfy. They are a little clunky but it's something you'll get used to after a few times of wearing them. Very stylish yet extremely practical. Thanks, Sorel!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Large & Heavy

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Customer avatar
raps03
Location: Northeast
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Large
True to Size
Too Large
These boots run 2 1/2 sizes bigger than your normal shoe size. They are very heavy and difficult to walk in. I can't wear them unless there is a lot of snow because it's hard to move around in them. The insert never stays inside the boot. Every time I take them off it comes out and it's extremely difficult to get back in. The only pro about this boot is the warmth. I would have looked at a different model of Sorel's if I had time but I needed them for the snow.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for the 50"+ of snow!

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Customer avatar
Nodakivy
Location: Providence, RI
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered these just in time for the wave of blizzards that hit the east coast and they were perfect! My feet were nice and toasty trudging through snow in -20 F temps. They fit true to size with the thick wool socks I wore with them. And as an added bonus, they are ridiculously cute and comfortable. As some other reviewers mentioned, they are a little bit heavier than the average boot, but that's to be expected with such a well-made and weather-proof boot. They sure made this first-time Sorel boot wearer a loyal customer!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing quality and classic look.

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Customer avatar
tiffanietwisted
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
User submitted photo
These snow boots are so incredibly warm. They have heavy duty tread on the bottoms to get you through anything. The liner is removable making it easy to dry and clean. They make my feet look large, but that's the charm of snow gear!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fashion and function

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Customer avatar
JCall78
Location: Wilmington, MA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
With the wild winter weather here in Massachusetts, I decided it was time to treat myself to a new pair of boots. My new SOREL's do NOT disappoint. Immediately upon taking them out of the box I put them on and fell in love. The style is extremely comfortable to wear with jeans or with snow pants to shovel. I love the heavy feel of these boots. I feel confident that I will be wading through the spring thaw in style. The size is perfect. I am a 7 in pretty much every shoe - so I got a 7 in these based on the reviews and they fit perfect. I would recommend that you get your size when you buy them.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid boots for Mid-Atlantic snow storms

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Customer avatar
MidAtlantic
Location: DC
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been looking for a boot that doesn't leave me soaked after walking through the snow, as my hiking boots do, in the winter. After reading a number of the reviews on this site, I was concerned about these running too large and ordering too many sizes down. I am a 9 in heels and in sneakers, and prefer a wide fit for dress shoes. I ordered the regular women's 8 as soon as it became available, even though many recommended going down 2 sizes. The size 8 boot fits me just fine. A size 7 would be too small. I don't have any issue with the thickness of the liner, and I think if I did order the thicker one, as some other reviewers did, this might be too tight a fit with thick, wool socks. I'm very pleased with the sturdiness of the boot overall and its warmth, particularly after climbing over steep snow piles and enduring low single-digit temps this year. I'm hopeful these will last me for a lifetime.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality boot, not so quality bulk

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Customer avatar
midwestwinters
Location: Michigan, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I found the boot very large and bulky even though I purchased my correct size. I love the boot, it keeps me warm and is a necessity in the heavy winters. Yet, I'm still disappointed as to how big and bulky the boot is. I feel as though it's a workout to lift my foot in the boot. I would recommend the product ,but go a size lower than you would usually.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Very Serious Snow Boot!

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Customer avatar
Leigh
Location: South Carolina, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
We only get snow and ice a couple of times a year here, but occasionally I travel to NYC in the winter months so I decided it was time to invest in some warm, waterproof boots. After much internet research, these were the boots that interested me the most, both for style as well as functionality. This site didn't have my size in the color I wanted (Cinnamon) so I had to order from a sporting goods store. Bummer, I really wanted to order from here, but alas...
I trusted the reviews and ordered down a size. I usually wear a 9.5 in dress shoes and a 10 in tennis shoes so I went with a 9 in these and it was the perfect fit. I wear a thick smart wool sock with these, so the extra room is great and there is no way my feet will ever get cold with the combination of these boots and my socks!
I've never owned a true pair of snow boots and I was surprised at how heavy and sturdy these were. They are certainly not for sissys! But they were so cute on, I didn't care. I wore them around my house for a couple of days to break the stiffness a bit and get my feet use to the added weight, then I ventured out shopping in them a few times. I tucked my jeans into them and honestly, I felt so strong and tough in them as I went around town.
A couple of weeks later I had a trip to NYC. It was January and I knew I had to take my boots. I was so excited and prepared for the snowy weather. I put them on as soon as I got to the hotel because we were headed downtown for dinner and some shopping. It was very cold, but the sidewalks had been cleared so I wasn't really walking in snow or ice. My feet were warm, but by the time we hit a couple of shops and then went to Chelsea Market for dinner and more shopping, my legs were exhausted! I remember standing at the curb waiting for the light to change and as we crossed and I had to step up on the next curb, I felt like I could barely lift my leg.
Luckily, the new Sorel store was just a block or so away, so I made a beeline there to buy another pair of lighter waterproof boots to walk the city in. (I got Glacy Slip Ons...I'll review those next) and boxed my Caribous and wore the Glacys out of the store.
Now that may sound like I don't like the Caribous, but I DO. They are awesome boots, and look amazing, but they are SERIOUS snow boots and not for the faint of heart! Had I been stomping around in snow and ice, I would have kept the Caribous on and been a happy camper! They are heavy and warm and everything you could possibly want in a snow boot. The quality is excellent, well put together, the lining is so warm, and the soles are thick and strong. I have no doubt I will use these boots for many, many years to come, but in the right environment, just not for shopping!
If you live in a very cold, snowy climate or visit one from time to time, these are the boots for you if you are going to be walking directly in the snow. I am so happy I have them and look forward to many years (due to the great quality) of wearing them.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buy a size down! Then fall in love :D

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Customer avatar
Elizabeth1490
Location: Colorado, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These boots are so wonderful in the Colorado winter. They have a nice grip, are weather proof, and they keep my feet nice and warm. I absolutely love them.
After reading reviews, I went with a size smaller. I usually buy boots in an 8, but ordered a 7 and I am so thrilled I did. They fit perfectly.
Yes, these boots are clunky and big, but they serve much more of a purpose than being "cute" or "trendy" ;)
I highly recommend these boots in a size smaller. They're the best winter boots I've ever had!
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 Next »