Customer reviews for Sorel Women's Caribou® Boot

Sorel Women's Caribou® Boot

Often imitated but never equaled, the original Sorel boot features waterproof construction, seam-sealing and a removable ThermoPlus™ felt inner boot for warmth, comfort and protection in cold and wet winter weather.
Overall rating:
4.278 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(270 reviews) 270
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 270 reviews
5 Stars
164
4 Stars
54
3 Stars
24
2 Stars
19
1 Star
9
229 out of 260(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Caribou® Boot
Review 1 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Trh657
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
This boot is perfect for the cold weather. The height is perfect and the fact that it is completely closed makes snow play time and work time much more fun. Also the liner on the inside was not as warm as I expected. Not to mention that these boots are fashionable; they go with jeans, leggings, snow pants. If you wanted to you can even tuck your jeans into the boot and it becomes a great snow bunny look. Lastly, these boots are impossible to slipp in. Walking on ice is like driving with chains/4 wheel drive.
Overall this are great boots and I would recommend them to any customer.
Occasions: Active, Work, Highly Versatile, Going Out, Casual
I would recommend this product.
+62points
140of 218voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gorgeous Boots!

PostedDecember 25, 2010
Customer avatar
Marilyn
Location: New York City
I bought these boots as a Christmas present to myself and I am so happy I did! I ordered the black pair and received them yesterday - they are gorgeous and well made!! (They remind my of $300 ski boots!) After reading the reviews I decided to to get a size 6 instead of my usual size 7. When I first tried them on they were a bit snug. But after walking around in them they got roomier and are now very comfortable. I also tried them on without the inside sock/lining and the boot was super big! I personally had trouble pulling out the liner - but if you tug from the fluffy top you will see where the liner seperates from the actual boot and you can pull out. The boots are on the heavy side so I don't forsee myself walking all day in them. Overall, I am happy with my purchase and looking forward to NYC's first blizzard!
I would recommend this product.
+46points
54of 62voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byElena
Bronx NY
 
Please wait while more information about Elena is loaded.
Additional information about Elena could not be loaded.
Not a happy camper for the !st.time
onDecember 22, 2011
I was so excited to get these boots, that when they finally arrived i put them on and was so disaponted,... i wear an 8,so i order the 8 because of some the review that said that the boot are true to size,well there not, they were so "BIG" so i have to return them n go for a smaller size...
-1point
0of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 3 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cute boots delivered In a hurry

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer avatar
Wolf
Location: Little Rock, AR
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
I ordered these Caribou boots in Shale/Gray on Tuesday night and they were delivered to my home on Friday at 10 am. I used the fit chart since Arkansas doesn't have a Sorel Store. My foot measured 9in which is 22.86cm which means my foot is a 6. However, I know I need shoes bigger than my actual foot so I went up one size and purchased a 7 (all of the shoes in my closet are 7.5). I can't wait until my ski trip 2/24/2015 to Aspen to try them. They are heavy, but I expected that since the website states for heavy snow. I'm partial to Sorel because a good friend let me wear hers on last year's ski trip.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Way too Big

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer avatar
Jkellz721
Location: Chicago, il
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I live in Chicago and we get a good amount of snow every year, so I needed a boot that could keep my feet warm and not wet but still cute. This boot looked perfect for what I needed. I currently have the tivoli 2 boot which I absolutly love, I just needed something a little more snow proof. To make a long story short I got these boots in a size 10 because I kinda have fat feet and they were huge, not only did they fit huge they looked huge. So I went to the Colombia store to exchange for a different size. I had to go 2 sizes down to a size 8 and they fit good but they still looked huge and clunky. Now I have a friend who got a size 5 and they still looked massive. Maybe it's just they way there made. Unfortunatly I had to return them. This is a good product and I've seen it look good on some people just not me.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and Wonderful

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Nicners
Location: Columbus, OH
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
These boots are so warm and comfortable. It doesn't hurt that they are also extremely fashionable! I have gotten so many compliments on them. They are the heavy duty winter boots I needed. Worth the investment, I've only had them for a month or so but if they are the same quality as my other Sorel boots, they will last for years to come. I have all great things to say about Sorel boots.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

What happened??

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Customer avatar
gustboaster
Location: New England
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sorel, I'm so disappointed! I had Caribous years ago that were the best winter work boot out there. My husband still swears by his. I ordered a new pair last week, and have worn them to work (outdoors, physical labor, New England winter) three times and my feet have remained cold each time. I couldn't figure out what was happening until my husband showed my his liners, which are the really nice version I had in my last pair. Apparently Caribous are now shipped out with a cheap liner and you have to buy the nice pair for an additional $35.00(?!?). I'm so disappointed that Sorel has cheaped out on their best boot. Deciding whether or not to return. While the outside construction remains way above par, I can no longer recommend these boots.
I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Don't make the mistake I made they're great but--they run HUGE

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Customer avatar
c503
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are very well constructed, the quality shows very well. I've worn them in the very cold Chicago winters and they hold up quite well, not to mention they're a popular item and they look nice. They can be a bit clunky but function over fashion when it's -20. I normally wear a 7.5 and I ordered a 7. It ran huge and I returned it for a 6.5. Unfortunately I bought them well before winter and only tried them on once failing to realize they were still big. It just recently snowed and I've worn them twice. They're way too big but now I have to suck it up because it's far too late to exchange/return. They're definitely worth the money just make sure to order a size [or two] down.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Boot

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Customer avatar
Chriss
Location: Northwest Iowa
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Ordered these from another site because they sold out here, I ordered the Shale color. Alot of reviews are saying order a half to full size down, I normally wear a 6.5 in regular shoes and a 7 in boots and athletic shoes, since Sorel states they fit true to size size I ordered my normal size 7 and I'm glad I did, even a half size down would have been to small, my normal size 7 fit perfect, I recommend ordering your normal size. They are heavy duty serious snow boots therefore they are bulky so keep that in mind. They are a little heavy but that's too be expected in a serious snow boot. They are also wide in width from a style perspective but not from a wearing perspective. I have a narrow to medium width foot and with medium or thick socks on I had just a little room in the width left, not much therefore I don't consider them to be to wide at all, you need some room left for air to keep the feet warm, from a style point of view they do "look" very wide and clunky but I bought these for serious snow and not for style. They are not clunky or heavy enough to effect my walking in these, they are a little hard to drive in, that took some getting used to cause my foot didn't want to bend to push the petal. We were at 5° here for the high and my feet stayed warm and dry, they grip the snow really well and I did not slip or slide. I would highly recommend if you want a serious snow boot.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Boots!

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Customer avatar
Shannan
Location: northern Indiana
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
My feet are always cold and these boots are incredibly warm. I've shoveled in single digits and my feet stayed warm! I walk the dog every day in northern Indiana and I was tired of falling on ice. Foot bed is sturdy and broad. I can now walk with a normal stride across slush, packed snow, patches of ice, or heavy snow without worrying at all! No slipping and sliding. Even though the boot itself is hefty the fit is incredibly accurate and snug. I wear normal socks but room to wear medium to heavy weight socks. Be patient with leather uppers - they will relax within a month and become more malleable when tying. Laces are super strong. I worried boot wouldn't be tall enough, but it ties securely around calf and no snow gets in. I've been impressed. Boot adds weight to your stride. I only notice the extra weight on longer walks - but adds to the exercise and worth the security of dry, warm feet and no broken bones from falling. I got Shale/Stone and love the contemporary color combo. FYI - boots are overkill for mild, low precipitation winter days so have a lighter weight backup pair.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great boots

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Customer avatar
vintagevix86
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
These are my first true snow boots and I love them. It's been really icy outside and I feel so confident (but still cautious) as I walk around the city (Montreal). I didn't heed the warnings of other reviewers to buy them a size or two smaller than my true size so mine are definitely a tad large on me. I'm typically a 7 but bought a 6.5. Oh well! The only real downside is that my fiance doesn't like them...even tho he wishes he had a pair (for practical reasons).
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Boot, but EXTREMELY Bulky

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Customer avatar
Britney
Location: Washington, DC, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this boot after spending months researching a good waterproof, warm boot option. Last winter, my feet were always cold. Today is the first day I wore my boots and I must say that they are extremely warm. Your feet will be dry and warm for sure. The boot does run big. I wear a size 9, but ordered a size 8 which is a perfect fit. Also, these boots are VERY BULKY. I was shocked when they came in the mail. Initially, I thought they were men's boots or for lumberjacks. I mean, they are huge and heavy. If all you care about is keeping your feet warm and day then these are the shoes for you.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Bulky

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Customer avatar
angieo1346
Location: Sturgis, SD, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice artic boot but they were WAY too bulky and heavy for me. Therefore, I returned them. :-(
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great boot built for the extreme cold

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Customer avatar
JayBo
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in northern NH, and we get quite a bit of snow and low temps for the winter. I got these mostly because they are: waterproof, warm, grippy on ice, high quality that will last years.
I did read other reviews that says it runs large. It does. I'm normally a size 9, and I was swimming in a 9, but I was too afraid to go a full size down, so I did a 8.5, which works fine. It fits cozy when I wear wool socks, and just a little roomy with regular cotton socks (which is good for creating and trapping hot air in so that's fine too). I took these for a 3 mile hike one day and they were super comfy, I didn't slip on the ice once, and my feet were the warmest thing on my body. It was awesome.
I also see some people complaining that they are heavy. DUH. The heavy soles keep your feet on the ground and help prevent slipping on the ice. They are built like that on purpose. But really, they aren't that bad. Once you wear them a few times, your legs will get used to it. No big deal.
Highly recommend these!
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Arctic Apocalypse

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Customer avatar
ChiCityChick
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great boot. Could get your through an arctic apocalypse. The only downside is that they're pretty bulky. I wasn't expecting them to be so heavy and thick, but I've gotten a ton of compliments on them and my get have stayed nice and cozy.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Winter Boot

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Kristen88
Location: Wisconsin
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My mom has had her Caribous for over 20 years. Decided to invest in my own. Don't mistake a clunky boot that is wide for a shoe that runs large. I am a true 10. Ordered a 9.5 since they were out of 10s. They fit fine. I would order same size or 1/2 size down maximum unless you have small, petite feet. Mine are pretty normal. I don't think they are too wide but, I need to break them in. They are a waterproof boot for super cold temperatures. They look cute but are a larger structured boot. Get this boot if you want it to do some work! For those saying it's too clunky must not have super cold and snowy winters because I need this boot to survive winter!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product looks clunky

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous1357
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Large
True to Size
Too Large
I am usually a size 6, but when I received the Caribou in a size 6, the foot of the boot, all around, looked two sizes too big. The boot itself is very heavy and the shaft felt uncomfortably tight. The product looks fashionable and functional online, but it looks clunky and large in person. I really wanted a good pair of winter boots, but I am going to return them.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

So Disappointed!

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Marti
Location: Whitefish, MT, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought this boot 3 years ago. I wear it to walk the dogs in the snow maybe 2 hours 3 or 4 times a week during winter months. This year the rubber is cracking and not reparable per the shoe repair shop. I thought the boots were great because they kept my feet warm and dry. They look like new with hardly any wear EXCEPT the cracks in the rubber! I am so disappointed.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

VERY HEAVY Boot - twice the weight of others!

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
thejohnsonzoo
Location: South Bend, IN, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Ordered these for my daughter in college. She had tried on other styles in the store and didn't realize some Sorel boots weigh more than others! They weigh TWICE what the other boots do! Please be aware of this before you order and have to pay for two-way shipping!!!
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Customer avatar
gal77
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought a pair of Caribou boots 3 yrs ago and by the end of the first winter of wearing them, the rubber was cracked on the inner side of both boots. I returned them to the store I purchased them from and received a new pair. Again, by the end of the following winter the rubber was cracked on both boots. My husband has the same boots and the same thing happened to him, though he was able to wear them for 2 winters before the rubber cracked.
We purchased these boots thinking they would be high quality and would last for a number of years. Very disappointing and frustrating.
I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Caribou® Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

CITY GIRL MOVES TO THE COUNTRY

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
IMAGINASUN
Location: HARDYSTON, NJ
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
User submitted photo
I LOVE THESE BOOTS. TOOK SOME GETTING USED TO THE SIZE AND GRANDEUR BUT AS SOON AS I WORE THEM OUTSIDE IN THE MUD AND SNOW I REALIZED THE INCREDIBLE VALUE!! FEET STAY DRY AND WARM! THERE IS A LITTLE ROOM IN THE TOE SO MY FEET ARE NOT TOUCHING THE FRONT IN AN 8.5. LOVE THEM!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 Next »