Customer reviews for Sorel Women's Alpha Pac™ Boot

Sorel Women's Alpha Pac™ Boot

Ideal for staying warm and dry during all kinds of cold-weather activities, this boot features a built-in gaiter, shatter-resistant buckle closure, cozy 9mm recycled felt liner and an EVA midsole that reduces weight while enabling a closer foot fit for improved performance.
Overall rating:
3.857 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
11 out of 14(79%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Review 1 for Women's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These boots were great.

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer avatar
danismom
Location: Decatur, Al
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My feet usually stay cold year round even in my home state of Alabama, so I didn't expect to find a boot that would keep my feet cold on a trip to Alaska, but these did the trick. I just spent a week in Nome, Alaska working with a missions group and as a volunteer with the Iditarod Sled Dog race, so I spent a lot of time outside. I wore these Alpha Pac boots with sock liners and thick wool socks, and my feet never got cold. I normally wear a narrow, but the medium width worked well with the thick socks.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Watch out Frankenstein

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
emugal17
Location: Cleveland, OH
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unless you want boots that challenge the likes of Frankenstein platforms I wouldn't bother with these. While I am sure they are warm and snug they look like you are trying out for Rocky Horror. Maybe go for some other style as these are HUGE!
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Size

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Angm
Location: Cleveland, oh
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Large
True to Size
Too Large
I ordered a size 8. The boots were more like a size 9 or 10 and that's with 2 pairs of socks. By the time up I return, get my money back and pay for postage and if I reorder, our winter " vortex" will be over.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sorel Alpha Pac

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Hockeymom2103
Location: Wisconsin
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the boot. Had my first pair in the early 70s. My husband and son both have these boots so it was a no brainer to get a pair for our daughter. She was not on board with the look but that changed when we were snowmobiling all day and her feet were always warm... Won her over. Fit is great. Thanks Sorel.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Sizing

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
CowgirlND
Location: Dickinson, ND
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would have like to have seen this boot offered in half sizes. I wear an 8.5, ordered a size 9 and while the left boot fit well, the right boot was too large. My feet run true to size. The boot itself is perfect for my outdoor work world however.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HATE THESE BOOTS!!!

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Kelly527
Location: Chciago
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you have a long foot, stay away from these. They seem to be well-made, the one time I was able to waste 12 minutes pulling and tugging to get them on, they were warm and performed well in the snow, but NO boot is worth this hassle. I'm a woman with a 12M foot. My heel is small, so my foot is very long from ankle to toe. The 11 is long enough. With the liner and socks, it's narrow enough. HOWEVER, getting my foot actually into the boot is an exercise in frustration. My foot is just too long to bend where it has to bend to get this boot on. The footbed is very heavy compared to the upper material and it falls over, so that you have to screw your leg around to even get your toes in, but getting the toes all the way to the bottom of the leg part is a trial, because the lining bunches up at the heel, then trying to get your toes any farther into the boot requires the above-mentioned tugging, adjusting and pulling for several minutes on each foot. The liner alone is easy to get on and fits. The boot without the liner is almost as difficult to get on, but no amount of socks would make it narrow enough without the liner. I will never buy another boot that doesn't zip to the ankle. I've worn these once last year and they're going to the Salvation Army today and I'll be forced to wear my short boots in what's projected to be six inches of snow. I am not happy. Will never buy Sorel again.
I do not recommend this product.
-9points
6of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pair of boots

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Customer avatar
donc
Location: Lake Placid, NY
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had a pair of your Snow cat's for over 20 years. All 3 of my children use them at one time and then my grandson until they out grew them and I got them back. It was hard to find another pair but I just love my Alpha Pac as much. Light weight, warm, calf height to keep the snow out. Well worth the cost....
I would recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome boots

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Customer avatar
mama
Location: South Dakota
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
They do run big, so buy a size smaller.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I wanted this to be the perfect boot

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
TammyB
Location: Wolverine Lake, MI
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased these boots from the Bass Pro Shop in Michigan a few months back. I thought they would be perfect for the hunting season and cold winters. I wore them for the first time this past weekend and was so disappointed that my feet got wet with only a couple inches of snow. I called the store I purchased them from and they said to bring them in but they wouldn't guarantee they would replace them nor do they have my size in stock. My family has purchased Sorel boots since I was a kid and I have never been unhappy. I really would like a replacement pair and hope it is just bad stitching or something. On a positive note they are very comfortable and lightweight.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

toasty toes

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Corey05
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
While I agree that the boots are a little bulky, I don't think they are heavy. I like that you can tighten the top and calf area. Easy to pull on. Comfortable to wear. I wear an 8.5 or 9. Ordered a nine and they fit great! I wear them everyday-to the bus stop, grocery store, sledding, etc. Never feel that they are too bulky. My feet have never been so warm. Today it was below zero and my feet were still warm!! Also love that they are waterproof-great when the snow is melting! Have been wearing them for a month and so far they have held up very well!
Occasions: Active, Highly Versatile, Casual
I would recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Okay

PostedDecember 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Ceallaigh
Location: Chicago, IL
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
I'm handicapped and need taller boots that don't require lacing. Based on the reviews, I ordered these a size smaller. It wasn't easy to try these on and I finally cut the plastic loops off the laces. They're still not easy to get on if you have mobility problems, but it's doable. The size smaller is the right size, but they are huge in the heel--I guess these were made for hobbits who have heels that jut out in back and the front part of their feet are short. The quality and workmanship seems outstanding. I haven't worn them without the liner, but with the liner (which makes them harder to get on) they are the warmest boots I've ever owned and they have good traction in the snow and are waterproof. I'm keeping them, but I still think the fit is kind of wonky.
Occasions: Other
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Women's Alpha Pac

PostedDecember 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Location: Jackson, WY
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
I was doubtful about ordering a whole size down as reviewers suggested but it is a must. I'm usually a 9, ordered an 8 and am really wondering if I should have ordered a 7 1/2. I seem to be pushing the limits on the ankle pull cord, (trying to cinch it tight for warmth and just to keep the boots on) and am worried the cord is stretching and wearing already. Thinking of trying an exchange...
Definitely not too clunky or unattractive, functional and sporty.
Occasions: Highly Versatile
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this boot is fantastic

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Customer avatar
alwayssmiling3
Location: at the beach in sunny california
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
from the second i put my new boots on i loved them- they were a perfect fit-true to size-feels comfortable on the inside - trendy look and not heavy at all when walking around. i just wore them quading up in the mountains in Oregon through slushy icy snow and pouring down rain.my feet were dry, warm and comfortable with only a pair of smart socks on.
i am happy to share my wonderful boot experience with you. smiles
living my true being me life
say-it believe-it live-it
Occasions: Active, Casual
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Montana Winters

PostedNovember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Shawna24
Location: Yaak, Montana
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
I purchased these boots for outdoor activities like snowmobiling and snowshoeing. I very much dislike having COLD feet! I was torn between the Alpha Pac's and the Intrepid Explorer -100. I decided on the Alpha Pac because they are lightweight and have a less bulky fit. I do not regret my decision. This weekend I was out for hours in 2 feet of snow , snowmobiling and walking around. My feet never became cold in the 20 degree weather and I did not wear socks. I normally wear a size 7 1/2 but after reading other reviews decided to get a size 7. As I said I normally do not wear socks and they are still a bit big but this will work out as I can either wear socks in colder weather if needed or purchase a thicker liner for the boot. I wore them to town one day when the weather was about 35 degrees and my feet were very warm. I think I will buy a pair of Tivoli's for around town. The construction looks solid but I have not worn them for too long to know for sure. What I do like is Sorel's fantastic Customer Service that stands behind their products and I know that if I have a problem they will be there to help fix it.
Occasions: Active
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.