Customer reviews for Sorel Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot

Sorel Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot

A modern classic, the Joan of Arctic Boot combines Sorel’s celebrated cold-weather performance with a stylish design that’s as smart on urban streets as it is warm in a deep snowpack.
Overall rating:
4.425 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(565 reviews) 564
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 565 reviews
5 Stars
380
4 Stars
99
3 Stars
47
2 Stars
24
1 Star
15
506 out of 550(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Review 1 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Short and Sweet

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
tjjessie1
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
I'm a northerner who will keep this short, simple and sweet!
Had to have them!
Got them!
Sincerely LOVE them!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Find your fit....

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
SiouxFan
Location: Moorhead, MN, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Sizing is a issue with all these reviews to read through. My shopping suggestion...find a store and try them all on! I measured a 5.5 on the Sorel fit guide and am normally a 6 1/2 in everything! 5.5 too small....6 a little snug but comfortable....6.5 PERFECT! I wore the 6 at home and while comfortable, it rubbed on my heal. The 7 size, my foot just wiggled around. I finally stayed with the 6.5 (my true size) and it's been perfect. You must try before you buy but I promise you will LOVE these boots once you find the right fit!
I would recommend this product.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GORG!!!

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Hayty
Location: Illinois
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My first pair of sorels and in love!!! These boots mean business and they do it while looking like no other snow boot out there definantly show stoppers lots of compliments! Not only are they gorgeous wonderful quality A+++++++++ from the toes to the top up and down best quality boots I've owned! These on me anyway run a full size big im normally a true 7.5-8 o got the 7's and they fit with room to spare still so if trying to decide on a size Id say at least order a 1/2 size smaller and you'll be good:) can't wait for snow now with these babies!
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fit unexpectedly true to size

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
CCNY
Location: New York, NY, USA
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these boots after considering them for a couple of years, and am glad I did. They are cute, warm and promise to be useful in this year's inevitable snow storms!!
However, based on 2 years' worth of reviews I read, I wanted to share my surprise about the sizing. Most reviews indicated that these boots ran large, and recommended to buy a half or full size larger. I usually wear a 7.5/8, and tried on these boots in a size 7, 7.5 and 8. The 7 was painfully tight. The 7.5 was a bit too short in length and left my feet sore after wearing them for 15 minutes or so. The 8, while a little wide, was a comfortable fit. I tried these with both thick and thin socks and found the fit to be the same (since the boots are a bit wide). Having to buy my normal shoe size in this boot was surprising given all the reviews. Definitely measure your feet carefully and compare with Sorel's sizing guide; you may find like me that your regular shoe size will fit fine.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

For the cold

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Sylvia0504
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I recently purchased these boots for the cold winter season in Missouri. I wore these boots for the first time today to a football game (Go Chiefs!) and my feet were freezing. I didn't think that this would happen since they are advertised to ensure that your feet stay warm and comfortable. I love the look of the boots, but I bought them for the sole reason to keep my feet warm, and they didn't do the job!
I would recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

walked to far

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
K123
Location: Edmonton Alberta Canada
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
I bought these boots for $190.00, came home and took the dogs for a walk. Half way through my walk I was in pain from the rubbing on my Achilles. Also, the Insoles do not fit in these boots. I have blisters and the next day I'm still in pain. Hoping the store will give me store credit. Gonna try a different brand.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

First Minnesota Winter

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
WikiNiki
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First things first, size. I read so many reviews, some said that this boot ran big some said it ran small. I used the sizing guide which said I was a 6 I'm usually a 5.5-6 and it fits perfect. My advice even if you think you know your size would be to follow the sizing guide and you'll be fine.
Second my job transferred me from the warm south to Minnesota. I ordered these boots as soon as I moved after having Sorels recommended to me by so many people (seriously, even the mail man). I'm so glad I ordered these. They are cute and warm. I honestly would still have bought these even if they were super ugly, they are that great. Bonus they go pretty high up on your calf so if you accidentally step into a deep bit of snow you stay dry and warm. I also really like the removable liner. It really makes it easy to dry your boots.
I would recommend this product.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great all around boot

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Customer avatar
mandy08
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in Minnesota and we get some frigid winters! I bought these last Fall and they got a ton of use last winter. We had a "vortex" and had a significantly colder than normal winter (-30 to -40 degrees). These boots are amazing. They are both stylish and practical. They fit true to size and are a bit roomy in the toe box which is perfect for pairing with wool socks. I wore these to work and also wore them ice fishing and they're great for all occasions. I will say they are a bit clunky and can be difficult to drive in.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cinderella123

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Cinderella123
Location: Berkley, MI
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I still have my first pair of Sorels from the mid 90s. Back then they all were a tan color and you picked mens or women's and your size. They were made in Canada and cost much more than today and still look like brand new today. My husband still has his from the 80s. The Joan of Arctic in black are a perfect addition to my collection. They fit pretty true to size in my opinion and the felt liner makes it feel like you are walking on pillows or a cloud. The look is very high end, and keep my feet toasty warm in the worst conditions, wet, wind, ice, and snow. Sorel makes a great boot for bad weather, if you just want a boot for to and from the store.... you may not need this level of boot. This is a real boot, that just happens to look fantastic. Keep up the great products Sorel!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great boot for the non outdoorsy woman

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Customer avatar
ShaundraQ
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just moved to Sweden and my type of outdoors look was a sneaker.not to mention my boot choice being a stiletto. But this boot is both fashionable and extremely functional. It takes a good week to break in but it fits like a glove. I can't wait till the snow so I can play out side with my kids and not look like a total mom. I can look like an appropriately dressed me! These boots are fabulous! Super comfortable.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HELP

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Auddie
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
I ordered an 8 and I typically wear a true 8 but my foot is measuring a 7. My 8's are to big. Should I order a 7 or 7.5. Everyone has such different experiences with size. I like to wear thin or no socks with my boots. Suggestions?
I would recommend this product.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sold Out

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Tiffany20
Location: Minnesota, USA
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
After about a year now I've been trying to get my hands on these boots specifically the color in Taffy port Royal or Oxford Tan and they are sold out everywhere and are now not even making these boots in those colors anymore I believe. This is very disappointing and annoying. Also I have found that every time I want to order boots they aren't in my size or color.
-47points
6of 59voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great boots for my first New England Winter

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Customer avatar
NewEnglandTransplant
Location: Concord, NH, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I received these boots in the mail the other week, and I'm really hoping they live up to high expectations! I recently moved to the New England area from the South and was in dire need of real winter gear. I did some research on good quality snow boots (will be doing a lot of walking this winter) and ran across Sorel's Joan of Arctic boots.
The rave reviews and size 5 option convinced me to invest in a pair. I ordered up half a size from my normal 5 to a 5.5 so that I could comfortably wear thick socks with them. I was a little worried at first because some of the reviewers said that they ran big. When I opened the box I was a little disheartened because they looked huge! I tried them on with wool socks, however, and they fit PERFECTLY! They probably look much larger than a regular size 5.5 because of the liner but am hoping they will be extremely warm for winter. Aesthetically, these boots are GORGEOUS, and I can't wait to break them in with the first snow!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very cute, great quality!

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Sbhubbard22
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been thinking about purchasing these for a few months now. I am so happy I finally did! I haven't had a chance to wear them for any length of time yet because I just purchased them in September. However, in just trying them on, they are really cute and are great quality. I am typically a size 8, I ordered a 7.5 and I am very happy with the fit. I cannot wait to wear them this winter!
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy and cute to boot! (See what I did there?)

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Customer avatar
LindsayB
Location: Portland, ME, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although I haven't had a chance yet to test these out in a Maine winter, I'm confident that they will do just fine keeping me warm and dry. They are very well made, so you will definitely be getting your money's worth. They do run small. I am typically a 7, and I got a 7.5, which fit great, but if I wanted to wear thicker socks, I'd need to bump up to an 8. I'd recommend going a full size bigger if you want to wear thick socks! But I would absolutely recommend these boots if you are looking for something functional AND fashionable!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Barely Lasted One Winter

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
WetSadFeet
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
They are falling apart!
I had a pair of the standard Sorel Boots for 11 years, however they went missing during a move and last fall I needed a replacement.
Sorel is known for its good quality, and ability to keep feet warm in even the coldest climates (and I live where it gets COLD). So I bought the Joan of Arctic for something a little bit lighter and more stylish than my old ones.
However within weeks the snaps at the top were popping off. 3 out of 4 were gone within 2 months. And then, just as the ice began to thaw in April my feet were getting wet. The rubber on the back heels had cracked!
They were warm and comfy while they lasted, but the quality of the materials was shocking for a company whose last boots I bought never had any wear and tear issues.
Very dissapointed - I hope its not like this with all their boots...
I do not recommend this product.
+19points
22of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these boots!

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Tati316
Location: Hood River, OR
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just got my boots today and I love them. I ordered a size 9 and that's my normal shoe size and they fit perfectly. Slightly snug but not at all bad or uncomfortable. They're beautiful boots and I'm so happy with my purchase. Can't wait to wear them when it snows. highly recommend them!
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Use the fit guide

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Marnie
Location: Madison, WI, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After reading countless reviews about the sizing of this boot, I printed the fit guide and ordered as recommended. I wear a 7.5 in my asics running shoes and buy 8's in heels often. The fit guide told me to buy a 6 or a 6.5. I went with the 6.5 and it fits perfectly.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a note on fit...

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
lalalovely
Location: Fairview, NJ, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a true 8.5 in shoes. I measured my feet before ordering per the fit guide and I'm so glad I did! The sizing on these boots is a full size off. I ordered a 7.5 as advised by the fit guide and they are PERFECT. It's so important to have a spot on fit when boots are big and heavy so you can walk comfortably. Use the fit guide and you can't go wrong.
These boots are great otherwise, as well. They have a generous shaft circumference so they fit my hard to fit...ample calves. The materials and stitching appear to be high quality. They are WARM. With these in my collection, for the first time ever, I can't wait for winter.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I hope this review helps you!

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Shopgurl3
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Ok, I don't write reviews, but I felt compelled to do so after reading many reviews that were all over the board in quality, size and fit.
First, the sizing. I wear between an 8 and a 8.5. I ordered the 8, and they fit perfect. Unless you are delusional about your size...I would say they fit pretty close in true to size. If you are in the middle of sizing, then go with the half size lower like I did. Also the measuring chart was spot on in helping me decide in which size to go with.
Second, quality. Ah-mazing! These boots scream quality and expensive all over them. I found no snaps popping off like others have stated, and in fact the only way snaps are going to pop off is if you are brutal with your shoes and guy rough in tying shoes. Otherwise, I have no idea how they are coming off.
Third, fit. Now I will say that I can see how these boots rub on the back of your feet. They are stiff, and like most expensive shoes, they do need to be broken in. There is pain that goes with wanting to have boots to withstand severe temperatures. Once they are broken in, then these boots are like butter for subzero weather. Until then, get ready to deal with stiff leather and heavy duty rubber to hit in all the wrong places.
Hope this helps after ready so many wishy washy reviews. Overall, what a great buy for some severe winter conditions.
I would recommend this product.
+57points
60of 63voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byEstelle
 
Please wait while more information about Estelle is loaded.
Additional information about Estelle could not be loaded.
Durability
onOctober 21, 2014
How long have you been wearing them? More than a year? I'm interested to know how long this quality has held up for you. Personally,the only reason I would spend this kind of money on a boot is specifically because you can brutalize them and they'll hold up (and keep your feet warm and comfortable).
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 ... 29 Next »