Customer reviews for Sorel Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot

Sorel Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot

A modern classic, the Joan of Arctic Boot combines Sorel’s celebrated cold-weather performance with a stylish design that’s as smart on urban streets as it is warm in a deep snowpack.
Overall rating:
4.381 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(650 reviews) 649
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 650 reviews
5 Stars
429
4 Stars
114
3 Stars
53
2 Stars
34
1 Star
20
575 out of 634(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Review 1 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great boot!

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Customer avatar
splash23
Location: Duluth, Minnesota
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
I have the black/snail red. Sharp looking boot! I was torn about sizing from all the reviews. My measurements were for size 7 1/2 but I normally wear an 8, sometimes 8 1/2. Stayed with 8 and glad I did. Fits good with regular socks and can still wear thick wool socks, just fits more snuggly. Super comfortable! Only wore once so far, but did a lot of walking. No blister for me. Haven't tested warmth yet, but only a matter of time here!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Want to love, but seriously, they hurt so much

PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Customer avatar
poverbaugh
Location: New York, NY
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had the Joan of Arctic boots for years, YEARS, and have a job that I walk around all day. I am SO disappointed. The Joan of Arctic boots are so adorable and I love looking at them, and thats about it. The construction of the boot is of very high quality and they are VERY warm, however they have a fatal flaw that many other customers have noted - they are HORRIBLY uncomfortable and make the back of my heel bleed every single time I wear them. I have given these boots plenty of time to wear in, (4 years!) and I have never been able to break them in so they don't kill my feet. Sorel NEEDS TO FIX THIS as it seems no one tested these boots before putting them on the market. They are SO CUTE and SO PAINFUL. Please change the leather that goes down the back of the calf. so that I can wear these cute boots and not want to walk around barefoot in NYC winters.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Taffy Joan of Arctic

PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Customer avatar
Alezu2727
Location: Chicago
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Love,love,love these! Not only are they incredibly warm and comfortable, they are also super cute!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Skeptical at first but thrilled in the end

PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Customer avatar
Anne9
Location: Boston, MA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I first tried on the boots, they were stiff and digging into the back of my leg. I almost returned them but then read a review that the boots had to be worn in first. I am so glad that I held on. These boots are so warm and comfortable. I get compliments on them every time I wear them. You do have to wear the right socks with them, and be prepared to have the first 2-3 wears feel a little stiff. After that, they are perfect. Also important to remember that they won't fit like a fashion boot. It's a heavy duty snow boot and they are constructed to withstand the elements.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm, Comfy Boot!

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Customer avatar
Marilyn2015
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Normally I wear a size 8, but I returned the 8's and ordered a 7.5, which fits just right. I love that there's plenty of room for my toes and for heavy socks.
These boots are very warm and comfy. Even though I live in Atlanta, GA, it occasionally gets very cold, icy and snowy. I mainly bought them for a trip to Montreal in the dead of winter, and wanted to have something with great traction and warmth in icy, snowy weather. I love these boots, and they're so cute with leg warmers and jeans.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy duty, warm, quality boots

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Customer avatar
Livy
Location: Oakdale, MN, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really love these boots. I got a pair this Christmas from my mother, and they're easily my new favorite winter boots.
Living in Minnesota, I really needed a pair of heavy duty, warm, winter boots; these fit the bill perfectly. They are very warm - I've worn them in -20F below and my toes stay nice and toasty. I also like that they're waterproof (at least the rubber sole bottom portion), so I don't have to worry about my feet getting wet when stepping in puddles or sloshy snow. I sprayed my boots with waterproofing spray to keep the upper portion & fur of the boot clean. They're comfortable enough to wear for extended periods of time, and they're also cute enough that I often tend to wear these when I go out with friends, too! I get compliments on them all the time/people ask where I bought them.
I would say these boots run slightly large. I'm 5'2", 135lbs so my feet and calves are slightly wide. I wear 7's pretty much across the board, and I think I could have gotten away with a 6.5 if I really needed to. Even when I'm wearing thick wool socks, I still have plenty of width/toe/calf room. I did end up sticking with the 7's, though.
The boots are definitely made out of high quality material; I have not found any defects with my boots. For the price, you really can't beat the quality.
CONS:
Because these are heavy duty boots, they are heavy (weight speaking). Your legs get a bit of a work out when wearing these, but you get used to it. Also, when you first start wearing these boots, they tend to be a little uncomfortable because of how stiff they are - particularly in the back of the ankle; the boot will rub against the back of your ankle which is kind of annoying. It doesn't do this as much once you've worn the boots enough to break them in, but make sure you wear thick/tall socks with these boots, especially when you first start wearing them. I recommend wearing them around the house while doing house work to speed up the process of breaking them in. I've been wearing my pair for a couple weeks now and they don't hurt anymore. The only other complaint I have about this particular boot is the fact I had to go to four different stores to find a pair! I know that with the 2013-14 winter, Sorel had to use some of their 2014-15 supply, so things got backed up a bit. I'm hoping that this boot becomes more readily available, because I would DEFINITELY buy another color if they became available.
All in all, I highly recommend these boots. Hope this is helpful for anyone on the fence! Definitely a great purchase.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

A bit clunky

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Customer avatar
NickyC
Location: Westport, CT
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
I wanted to love these boots - they look fabulous but they are way too clunky and heavy for me. I had the feeling I had ski boots on and simply couldn't imagine having these on for a few hours. The Tivoli High II boot is a much better boot comfort wise but unfortunatley they are out of stock.
I normally take a 7.5 but went up a half size up to the 8 in these. In the Tivoli High II a whole size up is recommended.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

beautiful snow boot

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Customer avatar
pastore
Location: nyc
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
As mentioned before I too destroyed my ankles after wearing these boots for a week but was my own fault...do ot wear these boots with ankle socks. I WAS FINE UNTIL I DID THAT!! Aside form that these boots are chic and look great with jeans and leggings. I live nyc and between the snow and cold weather these boots held up...i was out in snow for over 3 hours..feet were warm n dry. Would highly recommend to anyone, i bought the taffy color and love them. They are true to size in my opi ion.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Way too BIG

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Customer avatar
Maegan
Location: Dallas TX
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Large
True to Size
Too Large
These boots are so cute! BUT they fit enormous! I wear a 10 in boots and I ordered a 10 and should have ordered a 8. I would only buy these if they were in the store and I could try on. Not online. I would reccomend if you could try them on first. Not to buy online.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm, dry, little big

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Customer avatar
Chicagowintersufferer
Location: Chicago
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very happy with the look and warmth of these boots. They do run ever so slightly on the large side, but if you plan on wearing thick socks with them they are true to size.
So far my only complaint is that the back of my right boot sometimes rubs the back of my achilles tendon. So far no blisters, but if I were to walk around for a long time in them there's definely potential.
But I've been getting a lot of compliments on them and my feet have been dry and warm! Great for preventing slipping on ice and snow.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the look of these boots!

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Customer avatar
Mustangpra13x
Location: Cape May, NJ 08204, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
I originally wanted a different pair of Sorel boots but they were on back order so I bought these instead. I love the look and they are very warm. They aren't comfy for long periods of time but they're are perfect for walking around in light snow.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

High quality boot but awkwardly large

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Customer avatar
Ali12345
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have another pair of Sorel boots (the Tivoli) and love them. So snug, perfect size, great quality. Bought these in the same size, they seemed to fit my foot (toes in the right place) and although the rest of the boot seemed just too big all around I thought maybe it was just a style difference and that I would get used to it. However, not so... I have to wear multiple pairs of socks and even then the laces are as tight as possible and the boot is not snug. I have a friend with the exact same boots and they fit her perfectly in her normal size so not sure if this is something unique to the 9.5. I really like the overall look of the boot and am sad that they are so cumbersome to wear!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trendy

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Customer avatar
Skye177
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
I absolutely love these boots. They not only keep your feet warm and dry but are great looking.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE!!!!

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Customer avatar
745289
Location: New york
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Don't listen to all the negative comments about these boots. I was wary of them from the start because I have plantar fasciitis. However, these boots give great support and even have a bit of a "rock" motion to them which makes it even better. These boots are SO WARM and even though I wore a thin pair of low cut socks, you could definitely fit a pair of warm chunky socks in with no issues. GET THESE BOOTS!.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great boot!

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Customer avatar
k813
Location: Jamestown, MI, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
I have searched for a warm and water-proof boot and finally found it! I really like this boot and will be wearing it for many years! Warm, stylish and practical.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love em!

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Nony
Location: Denver, co
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
I wanted these boots for Christmas but the were out everywhere....worth the wait!! I love them. They are sturdy, warm, water resistant and super cute! I get compliments every time I wear them.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeded expectations

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer avatar
Nikki22
Location: South Dakota
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for a boot that was warm and stylish. The Joan of Artric does just that. I have received so many compliments on them. I was afraid the fur would be cheap looking. Boy was I wrong. It's the furtherest thing from cheap and its so soft. I am a true 11 and these fit perfectly. I would say if your looking for something to shop around in or long periods of walking. This may not be for you as they are a bit heavy. However if your looking for something warm for kids activities, shoveling snow or just your go to from work or gym to home. These are perfect!!!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pretty great boots

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer avatar
CarrieAnn
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are warm & can handle stomping through the snow mounds left from the snow plows when trying to get to the car! They are heavy, so I wouldn't wear them somewhere where I needed to do a lot of indoor walking once I got there. But for deep, nasty and/or wet snow, they really are perfect! I also like the leather loops on the sides of the fur to help pull them on - super-handy when holding a small toddler in one arm while trying to throw your boots on :-)
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

these boots are cute and functional

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer avatar
Michelle12
Location: Colorado
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am very pleased with these boots. They are super cute and very warm. I would not trust them to the -25 temp rating because my feet were cold in them at about 0 degrees but they are perfect for cold weather when just going around town. One thing that does bother me is the back of the ankle rubs which can be very irritating but this goes away with bigger socks for cushion. I have warn these in the snow about 6 times now and even hiked around in them while hunting. They kept my feet warm the entire time
Overall I am very pleased with these boots and would definitely recommend them.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not impressed unfortunately

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Customer avatar
sam13
Location: weatherford, ok
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have only wore these boots for 2 months in Oklahoma (we don't have harsh winters) and already they are leaking. No just a little leak either. If I go out in any kind of snow there will be a puddle of water in the bottom of both boots after coming inside for a few mins. It has to be coming in from the bottom somewhere. The little snap on my right side of my right boot that snaps to the inner boot broke the first time I indisposition it. I really wish these boots were made better because I love the look they just don't function Well enough. Guess they will have to be for cold but dry days. This really disappoints me since I paid enough to have a fully functioning snowboot. Guess I will have to look elsewhere. Sad thing is, my cheap ones I bought 4 years back and have worn a lot still don't leak but the boots I have saved for for years are made cheaper.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 33 Next »