Customer reviews for Sorel Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot

Sorel Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot

A modern classic, the Joan of Arctic Boot combines Sorel’s celebrated cold-weather performance with a stylish design that’s as smart on urban streets as it is warm in a deep snowpack.
Overall rating:
4.418 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(591 reviews) 590
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 591 reviews
5 Stars
397
4 Stars
103
3 Stars
48
2 Stars
27
1 Star
16
529 out of 575(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Review 1 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very pleased

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Susies
Location: Arkansas
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
The boot is so good looking and the fit is perfect. I love the you can remove the liner.... For a different look.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love, love, love

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Yvette
Location: Milwaukee/Chicago
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
I live in Milwaukee and commute to Chicago regularly so wanted something to keep my feet dry and warm. These fit the bill. I absolutely LOVE my Sorel's! They are comfortable, super cute, and keep my feet dry and warm.
I debated which size to get after reading the reviews and ended up purchasing my normal size. I'm glad I did. They are slightly big, but I can wear thicker socks and don't have to worry about rubbing in the wrong places.
Perfect for Chicago/Milwaukee winters.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

temp rating off

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Customer avatar
GerkinE
Location: Ct
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am a drained outdoors woman and I have found this boot not to spec on temp rating. My feet actually got chilly maybe down right cold at about 15 degrees. Even though I live in CT. .. I travel to Maine and Alaska often. Also.. the wear on these boots soles is insane. .. I have maybe trekked about 20 miles since receiving them and the heel is already worn on the outside considerably. Overall a great stylish boot...but I have found it is not true to its temp rating...or sole durability. If you are a fashion conscious person..grab it...they're gorgeous...but for an outdoors woman...It's not appropriate.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

In love!

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Customer avatar
gldubbs
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had debated which size to get after reading the reviews and ended up deciding to purchase my normal size. I'm glad I did. The boot fits slightly big, but I'm able to wear thicker socks and not have to worry about rubbing in wrong places.
They are beautiful boots and I'm so happy with them! They keep my feet super warm, their INCREDIBLY comfortable, and adorable. Perfect for Wisconsin winters.
I'd recommend these to any and everyone!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm in LOVE

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Customer avatar
crazymomma
Location: Ballston Spa, NY 12020, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought these boots at work on Black Friday. Best thing I have ever purchased! These boots are true to size and are great for any situation when the weather drops. They are very cute with a pair of skinny jeans. They are amazing!!!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great and cute boot

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Tummy
Location: Richmond VA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These boots are great! I used the size guide on the site. My foot measured about 24.5cm so I got a size 8. I wouldn't be able to wear a thick sock but that's fine because the liner is warm! The liner also has a great lil ribbon detail on the outside seam :) Hasn't snowed here yet but great in the cold rain. Can't wait to take these cuties to Russia!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Um, YES.

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
malitroobs
Location: Appleton, WI, USA
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Joan of Arctic boots are exactly what I wanted them to be, and MORE. They're stylish, incredibly warm when it's really cold outside, and don't overheat my feet when I wear them to class. I am generally a 7.5 in all shoes, sometimes an 8. I don't consider my feet narrow - perhaps even a little wide. My Sorels are a 6 with room to wiggle my toes in semi-thick socks. Size down at LEAST a full size! I was afraid they'd be too snug, but the liners stretch a bit with wear. You won't be disappointed with these!
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Aggravates plantar fasciitis

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Customer avatar
MomNYC
Location: NYC
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fabulous quality boot, which due to the raised forefoot height unfortunately instantly aggravates plantar fasciitis. Even with a significant heel lift placed under the foot liner, this boot caused heel pain that lasted 48 hours after only 30 minutes of wear. The heel height is listed as 1", but given height of forefoot, is probably closer to a net of 0 to ¼".
Disaster for anyone who suffers from PF.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Feet!

PostedDecember 6, 2014
Customer avatar
KJean
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
After struggling for years with either cold toes or large boots, I finally found the perfect boot for outdoor walking and activities. I tried on this boot at Cabela's, but the fit was too tight. I was told to go up one size. My feet, however, were extremely warm and the boot fit snuggly against my legs. I ordered online 1 size larger, and my feet, and dog, are now happy walking outside in the winter!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I don't like these in person as much as online...

PostedDecember 6, 2014
Customer avatar
PackerFan
Location: Hudson, wi
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I finally ordered these after not being able to find them in my size last year. I usually wear a 7.5-8 in shoes. I used the size chart and ordered 7.5 and they fit perfectly. When I tried them on they are a bit uncomfortable. I'm not sure if they just need to be broken in or what, but the back is really stiff and makes me walk a little funny. Also the toe box and the area around the ankles is HUGE and I feel like I am clomping around when I wear these. I also don't think they are super warm. I will definitely need to wear thick socks with them. My friend has the Tofino boots and I think those fit a lot better. If I hadn't already worn these out to test them out I would exchange them.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FINALLY FOUND THEM

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
AmberNicole8
Location: East Lansing, MI
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been in search of these boots for over a month. I finally have purchased these in the shale color. They have been sold out everywhere, literally everywhere. I live in Michigan and I didn't want to go through another winter without a pair of hardy boots. These boots seem like they will be perfect! They are stylish and claim to be able to weather crazy cold temps. My best friends father said he purchased a pair of Sorel boots in college and his are still in good shape and he still wears them... He's owned them for about 20 years! That is what sold me because they are expensive. I am generally a size 9.5 but i bought a 9. I bought a half size down because they were the last pair in store and I was afraid that I would never be able to find them again before snow hits. I tried them on with two pairs of thick socks and walked around the store and was comfortable! So I feel as if they run slighty big. I would definitely recommend these to anyone that has to go in snow!
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great winter boots!

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Deb144
Location: Colorado
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just moved to Colorado from Arizona. I was in dire need of some winter boots, and I decided on the Joan of arctic style because they seemed popular here and had great reviews online. I initially purchased these boots in the slate color in size 5. I usually wear a 5-5.5. I had a feeling the boots wouldn't be the best fit, but I bought the slate boots in a rush when there was literally only one more slate color available in only size 5. They fit fine but would have been slightly uncomfortable to wear for long periods of time or with thick socks.
I ended up having to return them since I didn't think spending ~$200 on shoes that didn't fit right was worth it. The customer service was absolutely amazing. Because I returned my boots by mail a day or two after receiving them, I received a full refund for the shoes as well as the cost of shipping to my house. It was so easy and hassle-free.
I did end up finding the right size on Amazon a few days later (go figure...). Now that I have the right size, the shoes are very comfortable and warm. They provide good insulation against the snow, especially if you wear thick socks or layer your socks. The only downside I've noticed so far is that the panel of rubber at the back of the boots that connects the calves and the ankles is quite stiff and can make it slightly difficult to walk. However, I've only noticed this being an inconvenience when I've tried to flex my ankles. As long as you're not trying to run a spring or climb up a thousand flights of stairs, I don't think it will prove to be a huge problem.
I liked my boots so much that my sister went out the very next day and found a pair in size 7. She wears sizes 7-7.5, and she actually thought size 7 was a better fit for her.
So... In terms of sizing, I'd highly recommend going to a retailer and trying on a few pairs in different sizes, even if they're not the exact style you're looking for, before ordering online if possible.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Boots are not as warm as I thought

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
XimenaColdFeet
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
I recently moved to Denver, and was looking to purchase a warm pair of boots that would keep my feet warm during snowy/cold days. I usually wear a size 8 or 8.5, depending on the shoe brand. I ordered a size 8 on these boots, and after I tried them on they were too tight. I returned them (which by the way was extremely expensive to do), and ordered a size 9. When I got the new size they were a little lose, but after the past experience I did not want to return them AGAIN and pay more, so I kept them.
One morning I wore them to ride my bike, and to my surprise my feet were frozen after 20 minutes of pedaling. The boots did not keep my feet warm and I was not even touching snow. Also, the boots got wet on the tip of my toes. For a 150USD pair of boots and especially this brand I would expect a quality product, not what I got. They do look cute, but their function was not met at all. I would not recommend this product to anybody and will most likely not buying any Sorel products anymore.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gorgeous Boots!!

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Susie41
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I missed out on these last year due to sizing issues. These boots run a half size to a whole size bigger than I normally wear which is 8.5, also the different colors fit differently. I originally ordered the Shale in 7 and 8 on a different site, both of those boots slipped in my heal but I had toe room in the 8, tight in the 7. I ordered the Black/Sail Red in 7.5 on this site and they are perfect!! No slipping on the heal, the toe box is tight but comfortable with a wool sock. I wore them for 11 hours yesterday and they were warm and comfortable the whole day. I used the sizing guide on this site and I was between a 7.5 and 8 but closer to the 8. I have somewhat narrow feet so maybe that's why I had to go with the smaller size.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Mountain Living Boots

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
ironswiveler
Location: Missoula, MT, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When living in Montana it is incredibly important to have a good pair of snow boots. Although going perhaps 5 to 7 years without them, my winters never really required me to walk anywhere, so I could get away with being only a tad bit miserable in the cold and wet weather. After moving to a larger town for college, I gave up my little Versa to my mom who could keep it safe over the winter. Most Montanan cities are fairly small on the scale of other states so anywhere I really need to go is a short bus ride away or in walking distance. Because I mainly rely on my feet to get me from point A to B, I began researching snow boots and visiting shoe shops to find out what would be the most ideal footwear for the long Montanan Winter. Of course, every single person I talked to recommended the Joan of Arctic Boots, or just Sorel in general.
Why the Joan of Arctic is such a fantastic boot:
The material is really what makes this boot so great. As most shoe shoppers know, the material of the boot is très importante. Because these boots are made from genuine fabrics and materials, they will last you forever (or minimum 10 years). Perhaps not the lining, which is great Sorel made them removable so that you can now replace the inside of the boot, because they are often the first thing to wear out.
The other great aspect of this boot is that they are moderately heavy (quality materials tend to be heavier than cheaper materials), I feel this helps me feel grounded. They are incredibly warm, when I hear people complain about how cold it is outside; I think to myself I didn't notice because my feet are so warm. They are waterproof (not sure if any snowboots aren't). Maybe the most important to many buyers... FUNCTION AND FASHION. I just wanted a good functional boot, not really realizing how fashionable this boot was until I tried them on in the store. As I'm fairly girly, I love that these boots are so functional but maintain my femininity.
Like most things, the Joan of Arctic boots are not perfect. The only three issues I've noticed are:
That the back of legs, where you'd find your achillles tendon, chafes against the boot. This doesn't happen all of the time, mostly when I'm walking longer distances and at a faster pace. This also doesn't happen when I walk on snow, just dry ground. I haven't tried wearing a different type of sock yet (I've been wearing wool socks, this problem might not be too bad if you wear a softer material that won't rub your skin raw (not that the boots rub them raw). You might try synthetic socks that you would wear around the house especially around Christmas time.)
The second issue is that they are a tad slippery on ice. Because these boots are rubber on the bottom the traction isn't as great as it could be with a different kind of material, but then again rubber is waterproof. I've slipped a couple times but have been able to catch myself so I haven't actually fallen yet.
The last issue I've had with the boot is a fairly mild one. The buttons that hold the lining on them tend to come undone on their own which can be a pain if you're worried about it like me. I just feel that if they cost $150, I'd hope the snap-ons would at least work well. I've seen on another review that she had hers for less than a month and the buttons actually came off. Although this issue is annoying, it really in no way affects the purpose of the boot. The lining doesn't move even if the button is undone so if you're thinking about buying these boots, don't let that stop you.
I'd say the quality of these boots are well worth the buy because the good qualities absolutely out-way the bad. But if you have a cat, put your shoes in a safe place. Mine likes to play with them, especially with his claws.
I'd recommend waiting for a sale to buy these boots. I stood in line at Bob Ward's on Black Friday because my mom was actually buying them for me and I wanted to make them as cheap as possible for her. As mentioned before, they are normally $150 but after applying the discounts, I got them for $92.50. And when you get them for nearly $60 less, you don't worry too much about the chafing and the buttons coming undone.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
modland
Location: Seattle, WA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have these boots in the tobacco & sudan brown color, and they are very cute. But I am disappointed in the quality. The description says that they are best for casual wear and in the snow. I was tromping around in 40 degree weather yesterday (no snow), wearing a medium-thickness sock, and my toes were numb. They did stay dry after walking through a few puddles. As far as casual wear goes, that's a definite no. I've worn them once walking in the city, and it was painful and awkward. They are heavy and dig into the back of my ankles.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Toasty Warm!

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
MtnLady
Location: Big Sky, MT
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased these boots several years ago, and I love them still. I work outdoors all winter in Montana and even in -20 temps my feet stayed warm for several hours before I had to add toe warmers. Great for walking around town too, completely waterproof and comfortable. Keep in mind, these aren't slippers and are most comfortable when worn with medium to thick over-the-calf socks. I also added my Superfeet insoles, and it makes them even more supportive. My only wish is that they had a beefier outsole, instead of the herringbone.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byironswiveler
Missoula, MT, USA
 
Please wait while more information about ironswiveler is loaded.
Additional information about ironswiveler could not be loaded.
Care
onDecember 4, 2014
Hi! I saw that you had these for several years... I was curious about how you take care of your boots to keep the quality?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love them!

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Cold
Location: Montana
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased these boots and was worried that they would look like canoes because I had to order size 12. They don't and they are great! They are really warm too!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps you warm

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Lisastu
Location: Erie, PA, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Great boot, worth the price, only part of my body that was warm. I was caught in a snow storm of 2 ft. And was amazed.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect blend between fashion and practicality

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
RioBabelle
Location: Virginia, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live my boots! they are very well made with the finest materials. They are eye catching! Yes, waterproof (jumping through semi frozen water puddles), my toes were very toasty. USE THE SIZE GUIDE please. Don't try to guess your size, these boots are made to be worn by thick socks. If you use the size guide you will find the correct fit, mine fit perfectly (I wear an 8 and boots and 7.5 on sandals and pumps, according to the sizing guide I am a 7.5 which fits like a glove) They are easy to get in and our off (I leave mine loosely tied) a plus when you have impatient children haha!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 30 Next »