Customer reviews for Sorel Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot

Sorel Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot

A modern classic, the Joan of Arctic Boot combines Sorel’s celebrated cold-weather performance with a stylish design that’s as smart on urban streets as it is warm in a deep snowpack.
Overall rating:
4.235 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(1003 reviews) 1002
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 1,003 reviews
5 Stars
619
4 Stars
178
3 Stars
87
2 Stars
61
1 Star
58
848 out of 976(87%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Review 1 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Only Thing I Like About Winter . . .

PostedDecember 16, 2009
Customer avatar
Location: Montreal
. . . is wearing these boots!
They are super-cute, very comfortable, and make me feel confident that I won't embarrass myself by falling all over the place when walking on unplowed Montreal sidewalks!
I needed something waterproof (these bad boys are perfect!) and toasty, and am very satisfied with their performance. They take a while to put on an off, but man! Worth every extra second . . . and every penny.
Good job, Sorel!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Arctic Princess Boots

PostedDecember 25, 2009
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
I love my Joan of Arctics. I'm a late adapter to the whole skinny jeans tucked into boots phenomenon, but when I saw these I knew I wanted to give it a try. They are super warm and I get compliments wherever I go. Everyone wants to know where I got them. I had to buy one size smaller than I usually wear because they felt a little too loose. I feel like these boots are something I will keep in my wardrobe forever.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

NOT for women with calves larger than 15" around!

PostedJanuary 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: NH
i bought these because i loved the look of them, with the fur at the top and how they laced up. they're a gorgeous boot for sure! i wouldn't say that my feet are fat, but they aren't skinny either and these boots were very tight on my feet. i wouldn't have been able to wear a thick pair of winter socks with these. but if i had gotten a size bigger, they would be too big, length-wise, for my feet. the size runs right, but the width runs very small. my calves are about 16" around and these boots will not fit over them. since i can't pull them all the way up, the boots scrunch by my heel and rub on the inside, making it painful to walk and creating blisters. these boots are NOT for people with calves ANY larger than 15" around.
these stores should also tell us how tall the boots are so we know how far up our calf they will go. and they should most certainly tell us the circumfrence of the opening of all the boots.
i'm returning these and wont buy another pair without a better description.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Super warm, super cute, and sadly, super PAINFUL

PostedJanuary 11, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Milwaukee, WI
I live in Wisconsin, and if there's one thing you need to invest in, it's a good pair of winter boots, so I bought these as a Christmas present to myself. They are super warm, super cute, and, unfortunately, super painful to walk in. The leather outer bends at the skinniest part of the boot, and nips in too much right above the ankle, resulting in too much friction in a very sensitive area. I have really bad ankle blisters after wearing these for 3 hours snowshoeing.
Since snowshoeing, I've loosened the laces, which only made it worse. There's just not enough 'give' to the materials.
I want to believe in these boots; my mom had a pair of Sorels that have lasted a decade and are still going. But if I had to do it again, I definitely wouldn't spend $130 for boots that give me blisters.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blisters- don't tighten the laces TOO much

PostedJanuary 22, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Canada
Wisconsin- I had the same problem UNTIL I stopped tightening my laces so much.. .try it.
I'm not blister free.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My First Pair of Snow Boots

PostedJanuary 25, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Orlando, FL
These boots are an excellent buy, very warm, durable and cute. I'm usually a size 7, but these ran a bit large even in a size 6.
Great for trekking through snow covered towns in the Mid-West. I'm from Florida and snow is an entirely foreign ordeal for me, I needed to stay warm while visiting customers in IL, MN and upstate NY.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love them...

PostedJanuary 28, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Tulsa, OK
Purchased my normal shoe size and it was a perfect fit. However the upper leather does need some break in time. They are stiff around the ankle and my one foot is fatter than the other, so the fatter foot is getting rubbed raw around the inside ankle bone. You wouldn't want to wear them outdoor's all day until you broke them in. They are cute
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Practical and Attractive

PostedFebruary 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Maine, USA
Ladies, if you are an individual who enjoys weather that warrants the use of this boot, you are in luck. Not only is the boot attractive for a "snow boot", but also very comfortable and warm. The boot has been constructed to accommodate any width of foot. If you have a narrow foot, wear a more bulky warm sock. For myself I have a plump foot and wear a wool-nylon blend, thin sock and my feet are very warm. These boots are lightweight for their construction and do not fatigue the feet and legs, due to their weight, in any activity. I wear them on the sidewalks of downtown and also the deep snow at our cabin located in Rockwood, ME on Moosehead Lake. Enjoy the comfort and know that your choice is also attractive. Snow, ice and wind away, cause I have my Sorel Joan of Arctics!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This boot is awesome, except it runs very large

PostedFebruary 10, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
I love this boot a lot. Except that it runs very large!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awesome boot but runs waaaaay small

PostedFebruary 10, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
I love my furry Joan of Arctics but they tend to run very, very, very small!
I would recommend this product.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

joan of arctic

PostedApril 17, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
I bought these boots last year and used them in Queenstown, New Zealand, I'm so glad i got them as not only do they look great, they are super warm and comfortable, i've had no problems with them and look forward to using them again this winter in Queenstown. I new i had the right boots when i saw celebrity Elle Mcpherson wearing them this year in a magazine.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't wait for snow

PostedOctober 16, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: NY
These are the best winter boots I've ever bought. Although it hasn't yet snowed, I know from experience with Sorel that my feet will be kept nice and toasty (and dry!). I was frankly surprised at the ease of movement in these boots. Since they're taller than the Caribous, I figured I'd have more ankle restriction in these (not a per se problem with the Caribou; bulk is expected in a boot that protects so well from the elements). But they're incredibly easy to walk in and feel much lighter than they are. I disagree, though, with reviews that they run large. I normally wear an 8.5/9, and I had to return an 8 for a 9. The 9 fits just right.
My only "complaint" is I wish Sorel sold replacement liners for the Joan of Arctic like they do for the Caribou. I know these boots will last me many years regardless, but it would be nice to get a new liner instead of a new pair of boots down the line.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

FURRRRRRRR

PostedNovember 14, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Boulder, Colorado
I was on a quest for a pair of Sorel boots because, since my childhood, they have been the only brand of boots that I can count on for both warmth and comfort. It is paramount to me that I am able to walk in a pair of boots if i am going to actuallly wear them......simple huh? Sorel has the magid combination. These are super cute! That's a bonus. I only had one reservation about this boot and it was the amount of fur around the calf...ARG!... Although I like the look, I found it a bit extreme. The inside of the cuff had so much fur bulk that I had a hard time getting a good fit. I took out my clippers and trimmed the fur on the inside and now they fit great. The fur hits at the wides part of a female calf and that much bulk was uncomfortable and affected the fit of the upper boot. Now I have a custom fit. What a great boot, great color, great functionality, and great wearability.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great looking boot but way too large

PostedNovember 26, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: rochester mn
These boot are really great except they run large. I have worn them once and came home with blisters from my foot sliding around inside. They are a little heavy as well.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome Boots Ladies!!!

PostedDecember 1, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
These boots are warm, comfortable, and obviously very cute! They do run a little big...I usually wear 71/2 but I was able to get a 7 in these. They are sturdy and will last me for years I'm sure! Get a pair ladies!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

best waterproofing worst blisters

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: canada
my experience is identical to that of wisconsin optimist: super cute super warm super water resistant. BUT after a few hours of wear, very deep and painful blisters on the back of the tendon of the ankle. the well of the rubber extends too far up the back of the ankle AND it curves inward toward the ankle. so there is a hard piece of rubber that grinds into the back of the ankle each step, regardless of how broken-in the leather is. i have seen many women in montreal wearing these, seemingly painlessly. i am not sure if there are some defective pairs, or if these women have a trick to alleviate this pressure - if anyone has a suggestion, i would like to know because these are completely unwearable and are about to spend their second season in my closet.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byaolson89
 
Please wait while more information about aolson89 is loaded.
Additional information about aolson89 could not be loaded.
onNovember 1, 2013
might be a little late but i had the same problem and fixed it by putting in a heel lift between the boot and the liner to raise the back of my foot up about a half inch and all the pain and rubbing stopped
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 17 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the boots

PostedDecember 15, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Indiana
I ordered the Joan of Arctic boots in the suede color...love the cute pink stitching
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

ouch

PostedDecember 15, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: nyc
i just purchased mine today and had the same experience as the person below. the back of my ankles are killing me! i am going to exchange them for a different pair asap. after just a couple of hours i was in so much pain. warm boots, but the design isn't great. i hope i have success with a different style of sorel because i really want my feet to stay warm this winter!
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great boots!

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Midwest
Got these boots for Xmas and I love them. I usually wear 7-1/2, so got the 7's and they fit great. Very warm and I like the style very much. If you're debating, go ahead and buy them. I don't think you'll regret it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Joan of Arctic™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't fit "just right", but no "all wrong" option

PostedDecember 29, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Saint Paul, MN
I received these boots for Christmas. They HURT on the back of the heal. Also, they slouch down and do not look at all like they do in the photos when worn. They should stay standing upright when worn, but sag down and look more like the Tivoli. Also, the laces are all over the place. Every single time I un-tie them and take them off, they practically un-lace themselves to the point where I might as well re-lace them everytime I put them on.
Warning- it wasn't until I wore them for a couple hours (outside) that I noticed how uncomfortable they were, Now I'm stuck with 2 large door stops that cost my mother $140. Don't buy,
I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 41 Next »