Customer reviews for Sorel Women's Cate the Great™ Boot

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SOREL.

Sorel Women's Cate the Great™ Boot

This elegantly tall waterproof leather upper provides extra protection in cold conditions while the removable recycled felt inner boot, faux fur snow cuff and rubber shell ensure that feet stay warm, dry and comfortable when the winter weather comes on strong.
Overall rating:
4.556 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(196 reviews) 194
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 196 reviews
5 Stars
139
4 Stars
41
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
10
1 Star
2
179 out of 191(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Review 1 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfectly Happy

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer avatar
AMc32
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I spent a lot of time looking for a pair of winter boots. I had already decided to go with another, less expensive, pair when I saw these. I ordered them immediately and they are worth their weight in gold. Of course, the year I order them the winter was exceptionally mild, so I only got to wear them a few times. They are of such high quality that I don't see myself needing new boots for a very long time though. I expect to get a lot of use out of them.
The times I did get to wear them, I was 100% happy with them. My feet stayed very warm and dry, despite freezing rain and slush puddles. They were wonderful in the snow and I didn't slip when it was icy.
I'm usually a size 7.5 so I ordered the 8. They are roomy but I wouldn't go as far as to say they are TOO big. I'm very comfortable in them.
A few things to keep in mind:
I was looking for snow boots. These are snow boots. They are very stylish, but they aren't the kind of boots you can wear to the club, know what I mean?
Several reviewers mentioned that the boots fit well over muscular calves. On the flip side, they feel a little loose on my skinny legs. It's not a terribly big deal, but I do tend to wear them with a ticker pair of jeans to take up some of the extra room.
I would recommend this product.
+25points
27of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Winter, Here I Come!!!!

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Laur
Location: northern NYS (soon)
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My fiancé and I are moving back to NYS after 4 years in VA. Our first winter in VA, I made him promise me that if we ever moved somewhere with "real" winters, he had to get me amazing winter boots because I get cold easily. Well we're moving in 2 weeks and he gave me these boots last night. I was expecting him to get me some solid, warm boots, but I never expected him to get ones that are so cute! For the first time in my life, I'm excited for winter (it's only August)!
As far as sizing goes, I wear either an 8-1/2 or a 9 depending on the shoe (8-1/2 for casual shoes depending on the brand, 9 for more technical hiking/backpacking boots). I got a 9 and am very happy with it, as the 8 would have been too short from heel to toe with thick socks.
To address the negative comments about the boot: these boots are for serious snow, slush, and cold. They are not cutesy little boots designed to be cute. These are designed to be warm and waterproof first, and fashionable second. Warmth and waterproofing requires some weight. Also, they are not technical enough (regarding foot support, or aggressively soled enough) to replace solid hiking/backpacking boots, but will be a dream to slip into before hitting up the pub after a day-long snowshoe.
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous boot!!!!

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Nomoresnow
Location: Toronto, canada
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing winter boot! Completely waterproof and warm! I love the height of the boot (I'm short and it comes to just below my knee). Since we have had so much snow this winter here in toronto I have worn them every day this winter. I also get complemented on a daily basis and asked where I got them! Best purchase I have made in years, (btw - I hate winter! - I prefer flip flops!)
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST BOOTS AND SO CUTE!

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Jen1986
Location: Windsor, Ont. CA
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I looked everywhere for these boots (didn't want to buy online because of size issues) and finally found these at Goods in Breckenridge Co. LOVE THAT STORE! GO and you'll find every style!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Listen to your co-workers

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Deeno
Location: Concord, MA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A gal I work with had a pair of Sorels last winter- and I thought they looked great. She said they were super warm, waterproof and that she was thrilled with them. I bought my pair this September and couldn't be happier with them. Super warm, waterproof - and every day I wear them, someone comments on how great they look. I bought pairs for both my mum and sister for Christmas - they were stoked.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent boot

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Trish24
Location: Bozeman, MT
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Overall, I'm incredibly pleased with my purchase. I was looking for a sturdy, but cute boot that could handle a Montana winter. These bad boys certainly fit the bill. We've been experiencing an arctic cold snap (hello -25!) and my feet and calves have stayed warm and toasty. Also, they're quite grippy on the bottom and I haven't slipped on the snow or ice so far. The bottoms are waterproof, so I'm not worried about when we get that wet snow in the spring. I do plan on waterproofing the shaft of the boot, though.
I have pretty muscular calves and I haven't had a problem wearing these with jeans or multiple layers of leggings and sock. I've received several compliments on them when I wear them because they're absolutely adorable. Again, I'm very happy with these boots and I anticipate that they'll last me a few more winters.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Boots Without the Fur

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
lobro
Location: co
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these thinking they would be a bit slimmer with less fur. I am not a fur kind of girl but from the pictures, the fur looked minimal.Turns out there was a lot more fur than I could handle. I have 8.5 feet on a small frame so the boots looked very big in proportion to my body. Call me crazy but I ended up cutting out the fur and I love how they look. The fur really adds bulk. They are warm and comfortable, just what I need for the winter months.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cate the Great Winner

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
cupcaketravelowski
Location: soon to be Chicago, IL
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I ordered my first pair of Sorels for this winter in Chicago (2013). I grew up there but have been living in Hawaii for over 2 years and have completely forgotten what cold is....I ordered these boots because they looked cute and super warm. After I ordered them, they showed up quickly (and I love the recycled box option!). I am between sizes 8.5-9 and ordered a 9 because a friend told me they tend to run a bit small. I tried them on without socks and there was room in the boot for thick socks--the space is a bit noticeable and they feel bulky, but that's just because they are heavy duty winter boots....it's a change from my normal flimsy flip-flops, but I'll accumulate to the big winter boots again! I am excited to wear them in the snow--I highly recommend these already!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything I hoped for!

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Fyffe
Location: Lexington, Ky
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had been researching these boots for a long time and finally they went on sale in the color I wanted and in my size so of course I pounced on the opportunity to own them! I paid $6 extra for faster shipping and I received them two days later, I was so excited! Usually I'm a 6 1/2 but I bought 7s, they may fit slightly large but I would be worried the 6s would be too small so I'm happy with my choice. I've gone hiking and done a lot of traveling in these boots since I got them and I have absolutely no complaints. They are everything I hoped they would be. They have never once hurt my feet, I didn't even have to break them in. They keep me sooo warm! I can finally enjoy the cold weather! I highly recommend these boots to everyone! They are fashionable and functional. I plan to own them for the rest of my life!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm, cute, and good traction!

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
SkiMT
Location: Bozeman, MT
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Today was my first wearing these! It rained (33F), it snowed(32F), and it was insanely slippery (19F). Walking around campus I stayed warm, and I didn't wipe out, plus I got a few compliments on them! Don't know how they'll do when it gets really cold, but I'm guessing they'll keep me comfy and toasty!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Slightly Large, But Worth Every Penny

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Nordlyn13
Location: Corvallis, OR
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really excellent boots. My feet will be warm, dry, and cute for years. The boots fit large, and even after sizing down the heel and ankle fit pretty loosely, something I had to get used to after more snug-fitting shoes. Overall, they're great. I don't regret a cent.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful and warm!

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Hills23
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been eyeing these for awhile and finally purchased them. I couldn't be happier! They feel great, very sturdy and warm. I am an 8.5 in most shoes and based on the previous reviews I assumed that I would probably need a 9, which was incorrect. I ended up returning the 9's in favor of 8's which fit perfectly with big socks too.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Serious winter boots!

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
tifjoyral
Location: Minneapolis
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
I live in Minnesota, and I bought these to wear on my walks to work this winter. We have not gotten a lot of snow or ice yet, but I think these are going to keep me very warm and dry. They are well-made, and so far they have done well in rain and slush. I am not necessarily looking forward to a long, cold winter ahead, but I do look forward to having tall, warm boots to wear! I wear a solid size 9, and these are a bit big, but great with thick socks (which is what I will be wearing with them anyway).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE BEST

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Kelly1978
Location: Atlanta
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are the best slippers I have ever worn...wait, they're not slippers? They're BOOTS?! No way! They ROOOCCCCCKKKKKK!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So ready to tackle the snow!!!

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
modern7
Location: Hood River, OR
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had ordered this particular pair because I live in a seasonal area where snow will be upon us shortly and I will need them to walk into town and live in for the winter. They are roomy for thick socks and cozy with additional styling of the removable faux fur at the top. The leather is well constructed and this will be a winter boot to last me for years to come. I highly recommend this product. Also, I wear a 9 in Sorels and normally a 8 in most other boots. Note: These are are wide in the foot and designed to be roomy enough for you to wear thick socks.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new favorite winter boots!!

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
GoatLady
Location: Dewey, AZ
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
I've always heard Sorel was a great brand of boot, I have one pair of Sorel women's camo hunting boots for snow/ water/mud on our 4,000 acre ranch and they are great...but I needed a winter, water proof boot that I could wear anywhere, not just on the ranch!
I searched on Sorel's website and found "Cate The Great" boots which happened to be on sale so I oredered 2 pair, one for me and one for my daughter for Christmas!
I was afraid I might be ordering too small when I ordered my normal size, based on the reviews of others about sizing, but they fit great!
Can't wait for the snow/cold/water to wear them in!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Durable, stylish winter boots!

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Danizorz
Location: Portland, OR
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I adore my new Cate the Great boots. They are very warm, pretty stylish (I think they're cute and get lots of compliments on them), and totally weatherproof! I highly recommend these boots to any of you who will be out stomping around in the elements.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't Go Wrong With These Fabulous Snow Boots

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Susan11
Location: Naperville, IL
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I received my Cate The Great boots in Biscotti, and I love them! I cycle in the fall and winter and these boots do the job in keeping my feet warm and cozy. These boots are of great quality, and you just simply cannot go wrong for the price. Also, I found the sizing true to size.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cool boot. Runs big.

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Anad17
Location: Newark, DE
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
I'm normally a 8.5 - 9 in boots. I returned the 9 and the 8 fits perfect!!! I could actually pull the 9 off my foot while laced up, it was that big. These are the coolest snow boots I've owned. I'm waiting for snow now. Love these boots!!! PS I take a 9 in the slim pack riding tall boot for comparison. Another awesome boot by Sorel.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!!!

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Michelley
Location: Tahoe, CA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
They are great. Ok, they are huge and not super lady like, I wouldnt wear them out to a classy party, but they are just what you want them for - amazing in the snow. SO warm, so comfortable. It seems like NOTHING can hurt or touch or freeze my feet when I have them on. Like I could go hiking in the North Pole and be fine. Im usually a size 10 in flats or heels, sometimes Im a 9,5 but I ordered a 9 this time and they fit perfect. DEFINITELY order a size smaller.
Also, I think they fit pretty much any leg, because the upper part is wide and big and you can adjust it to your leg by tightening it.
Overall, amazing purchase. Been wanting these boots forever and so excited to wear them this winter and never have cold or wet feet.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 Next »