Customer reviews for Sorel Women's Cate the Great™ Boot

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SOREL.

Sorel Women's Cate the Great™ Boot

This elegantly tall waterproof leather upper provides extra protection in cold conditions while the removable recycled felt inner boot, faux fur snow cuff and rubber shell ensure that feet stay warm, dry and comfortable when the winter weather comes on strong.
Overall rating:
4.497 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(308 reviews) 306
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 308 reviews
5 Stars
208
4 Stars
72
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
17
1 Star
5
281 out of 302(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Review 1 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Winter, Here I Come!!!!

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: northern NYS (soon)
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My fiancé and I are moving back to NYS after 4 years in VA. Our first winter in VA, I made him promise me that if we ever moved somewhere with "real" winters, he had to get me amazing winter boots because I get cold easily. Well we're moving in 2 weeks and he gave me these boots last night. I was expecting him to get me some solid, warm boots, but I never expected him to get ones that are so cute! For the first time in my life, I'm excited for winter (it's only August)!
As far as sizing goes, I wear either an 8-1/2 or a 9 depending on the shoe (8-1/2 for casual shoes depending on the brand, 9 for more technical hiking/backpacking boots). I got a 9 and am very happy with it, as the 8 would have been too short from heel to toe with thick socks.
To address the negative comments about the boot: these boots are for serious snow, slush, and cold. They are not cutesy little boots designed to be cute. These are designed to be warm and waterproof first, and fashionable second. Warmth and waterproofing requires some weight. Also, they are not technical enough (regarding foot support, or aggressively soled enough) to replace solid hiking/backpacking boots, but will be a dream to slip into before hitting up the pub after a day-long snowshoe.
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfectly Happy

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I spent a lot of time looking for a pair of winter boots. I had already decided to go with another, less expensive, pair when I saw these. I ordered them immediately and they are worth their weight in gold. Of course, the year I order them the winter was exceptionally mild, so I only got to wear them a few times. They are of such high quality that I don't see myself needing new boots for a very long time though. I expect to get a lot of use out of them.
The times I did get to wear them, I was 100% happy with them. My feet stayed very warm and dry, despite freezing rain and slush puddles. They were wonderful in the snow and I didn't slip when it was icy.
I'm usually a size 7.5 so I ordered the 8. They are roomy but I wouldn't go as far as to say they are TOO big. I'm very comfortable in them.
A few things to keep in mind:
I was looking for snow boots. These are snow boots. They are very stylish, but they aren't the kind of boots you can wear to the club, know what I mean?
Several reviewers mentioned that the boots fit well over muscular calves. On the flip side, they feel a little loose on my skinny legs. It's not a terribly big deal, but I do tend to wear them with a ticker pair of jeans to take up some of the extra room.
I would recommend this product.
+25points
27of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The must have winter boot!

PostedOctober 25, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: California
What first caught my eye was how fashionable these winter boots are. After trying them on and testing them out, they're more than just a beautiful well made boot.. they are comfortable, warm and durable. I'm actually a size 4/4.5 and the size 5's were perfect, knowing I would be wearing thick winter socks with them. I can't wait to wear these this winter.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Boot in Fashion Style

PostedNovember 6, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: VIRGINIA-USA
This boot makes fashion sense and the contruction of the boot is exceptional!
I would recommend true to size fitting. I usually go up a size in boot wearing because I may want to change from a normal thin sock to maybe a thicker sock, and in this boot you van still do that with the true to size. There is no need to size up a 1/2 size. I have a long slim boot, narrow heel and a medium width, with my second toe being long than my first. People with their second toe are always questioning will the boot be long enough, and the answer is yes and with some play for a thicker sock.
This boot you do not need to wear thicker socks anyway for the boot is well constructed for warmth and the waterproof is just that. The other day I stepped out from my car into 8 inches of water and NO WATER entered the boot at all!
They are a fashionable boot. I wear them with leggings or jeans! A must have!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Boots!

PostedNovember 18, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
I wanted some boots to handle our Wisconsin winters, boots that were both functional and good looking. These boots are it. They have the expected liner and Sorel base, and the moccasin shaft looks better in person than it does in the picture. I am 43 years old, and this is my second pair of Sorel boots. My first pair is now 24 years old and still going strong. They will be spending time in the trunk of my car for emergencies, though, now that I have these. I can wear them with just about anything, and I expect to be wearing them still 24 years from now. You can't do better than Sorel.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Siberian Winter

PostedDecember 2, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Surgut, Russian Federation
I bought these boots to take with me while working in Siberia, Russia this year. I have more fashionable, cuter boots that I started wearing when I first arrived, but my feet froze. Since about my 4th day here, I've worn these boots and haven't had cold feet once. They are so warm and they look good with everything. I highly recommend these for all winter conditions. The bottom can be a little slippery and I may have to use yak traks but overall - you can't beat these! Not to mention all of the compliments that I get on them!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

two pieces of toast instead of feet

PostedDecember 5, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: nyc
tested these out last night--was only in the 30s,but very windy.my resistance to cold is pretty weak
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Large specifically at the front around the ankle.

PostedDecember 14, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: usa
They are shaped oddly. The foot bed fits perfectly but from the ankle up the boot is huge. I suppose my legs are on the small side which was ok because I could lace the shaft tight enough to fit BUT, right around my ankle at the front of my foot there was LOADS of room. even with double socks I couldn't lace it tight enough to stop my heel from popping up when I walked. It was odd because the boot was too big only in the front right around ankle area. I bought a size 8 and still tried a size 7 because I really wanted them to work but the 7 is too small.I regretfully sent them back.
Credit is due however when considering warmth and quality. These boots felt like they would be perfectly warm and look like they have high quality construction. they were exactly what I was looking for , it's too bad about the odd shape.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome winter boot

PostedDecember 15, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Michigan
Just received these boots as an early Christmas present for the Michigan winter, and I love them. They are true to size, and so warm. They stop at about mid-calf. I was shocked at the softness of the leather and the care given to their construction. If you like the look, I would highly recommend this boot.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cute, warm, awesome and worth every penny!

PostedDecember 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Bedford County, PA
I don't normally dig the pants in boots look, but these boots make it easy and they go with just about everything! The reviewer who said there is room in the ankle is right, but I also have thin ankles and slim feet (like... height wise). I am a true size 7 and bought a size 7 and they feel about 1/2 size large when I wear summer socks- but I recommend wearing thicker socks anyhow to wick away any moisture from walking (wet=cold).
I have had these about two weeks and it has been under 30*F the whole time. When putting the boots on cold, they are bit difficult to warm up when I am sitting around, but as soon as I start walking, it's a quick fix. At room temperature, they are cozy and stay that way. I use them to walk my dog in the cold, dark lonely hours of the morning and my feet feel like they are still in bed. Also, they are great in the wind, and haven’t slipped on the minimal ice we
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NOT rated to -25

PostedDecember 26, 2010
Customer avatar
I wore these in Norway in 10 degrees F with heavy wool socks and my feet froze. In under 30 minutes I could feel the cold seeping up through the rubber sole. My Uggs are warmer.
They'll be fine for a snowy NYC winter, nicely waterproof but definitely could not handle temperatures much below freezing. Cute and comfy but they don't serve their purpose. I'd return them if I could.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love these boots

PostedDecember 28, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: richmond, va
they are so comfortable and toasty warm (i live in a mild climate). i normally wear a 6 1/2 or 7, but i own these in a size 6. i have quite muscular calves, so finding a pair of boots that fit can be a challenge. these work perfectly!
like other ladies have said -- there's a lot of extra room in the ankle.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cate The Great

PostedJanuary 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Finger Lakes NY
I LOOOOVE these boots! They just arrived, and immediately I put them on without socks to stomp around in the house. Heavenly. Plenty of room for socks, and as Customer Service told us via phone, they run a bit large so order down (I am a 91/2 but the 9 fits perfectly.) And they look GOOD with a skirt!
I appreciate the reference and style aspect that relates to the Native American Cree winter moccasin. I've loved pictures of those since I was little. Thanks for making them exist!
Great boots!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A Question for my fellow Sorel Supporters

PostedJanuary 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Calgary
First of all I have to say, I love the look of my 'Cate the Great Sorel's' and nothing has kept my feet warmer in the Rockies this winter.
I bought my boots three weeks ago and as I was getting ready to head out on New Year's Eve and tying up my boots, one of the top loops that you put the laces through broke. Given this feeds all the way through to the bottom of the boot, I couldn't just miss the top loop and tie them one loop lower.
I need to return them for a new pair but worried about whether this problem will happen again? My goal was to buy a boot that would be fashionable and sturdy enough to last me a few years.
Should I get another pair of 'Cate the Great' boots or go for something with a metal loop for the tie?
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stay warm AND hip with these boots!

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
i walked into REI over the weekend and immediately fell in love with these boots. other women were trying them on, as well. i had never worn pants tucked into boots before ( i am not very tall nor super slim) but these boots are so comfortable and fashionable and flattering, even for a winter boot, that i love the new look! i also wore them with tights and a black wool skirt to a party, and i received many compliments! i live in Salt Lake City, and we have had slushy, snowy weather, and these boots make it easy to negotiate the weather and look good doing it! highly recommend.
they do feel large in the foot, but i agree with other reviews, just wear a thicker sock.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Adorable boots!

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Bought them in Europe and the euro sizing was a bit off. Usually I wear a 38, but the 38.5 just barely fits. Supposedly this corresponds with US size 7. Since they only carry whole sizes, I would recommend going up a half size when in doubt. The boots are comfortable, although I will probably get an insole for added arch support. Be sure to take the felt lining out to dry after every couple of wears if your feet happen to get sweaty. Gross...I know, but if you're looking for a review then you need all the nitty gritty. I've gotten tons of complements and wear these all the time. Perfect for walking to school in the snow and I don't have to bring an extra pair of shoes to change into when I get to the office!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good boot, wears quickly

PostedJanuary 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Breckenridge, CO
I bought this boot to go snowshoeing with my dog and do other winter activities where I knew the snow would be high. I love the height of this boot for the use but I was disspointed with the wear of this boot. After only a month, the color faded to a cream color and the eyelets wore so thin that one broke. I sent them back and am still awaiting my new pair. I do love the look, feel, and warmth; just needs a bit more "hardwear"added to make it a durable winter tromping boot... afterall, who would want a boot this high unless they knew they were going to be in deep snow!?
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome boots

PostedJanuary 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Edgartown, MA
I was so excited when these boots arrived, they were perfect right out of the box! Warm, with lots of room for wool socks, they are warm, waterproof/snowproof and stylish all at the same time! I usually wear a size 61/2, I ordered the size 6 and they are just right.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sizing

PostedJanuary 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Bend, Oregon
I normally wear a size 8 but since size 8 is sold out every where and some of the reviews said these run big I decided to try the 7. It fits me just fine. Almost short at the toe end, but I can still wear my ski socks and am comfortable. They are so cute too. Can't wait to get up to the mountain.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Cate the Great™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

These boots are great

PostedJanuary 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: NY
I love the boots. They are warm, stylish and definitely serve their purpose. They were great in all the snow that we received in NY. I did not give them 5 stars because they were initially a little uncomfortable around my tiny ankles as the boot is bulky.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 Next »