Customer reviews for Sorel Women's Fernie™ Boot

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SOREL.

Sorel Women's Fernie™ Boot

Rich nubuck leather combines with a discreet rear stretch panel and super grippy crepe rubber outsole for a cozy winter boot that keeps feet comfortable and warm in a variety of conditions.
Overall rating:
4.242 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
30 out of 32(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Fernie™ Boot
Review 1 for Women's Fernie™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cofy, cozy but quality issues with back band.

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
SnowGirl
Location: Chicago, IL
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I LOVE this boot! Ordered my normal size and it fits perfectly with a pair of smart wool socks. Like other revws, the opening is a bit large however not an issue for me. We are having a colder than normal winter in Chicago and the Fernie keeps my toes toasty and dry. The tread is great in snow however without a true deep tread, a little slippy in slush. Did notice when first trying on the Fernie that the sole felt as if there was a bump under the toes. After wearing for a couple of hours I no longer noticed. This style offers both warmth and comfort for all day walking.
Only down side? Ive worn these boots for about 2 weeks and the multi color elastic band on the back is separating. Thankfully there is a year warranty so they can be repaired or replaced after our next 14'' of snow!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Fernie™ Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Surprised

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Jaxie33
Location: Happy Valley, PA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I'm really surprised with these boots - they are cute, fit true to size, and are comfortable.They have very little traction, so they're certainly not for hiking around in the snow, but they're warm and I thought they'd be perfect "dog walking" boots, as other have mentioned. However, the quality just isn't what I expect from Sorel! Within 2 weeks, the cute elastic banding at the back has completely split between the horizontal pattern lines. Those splits allow water, snow, etc. to get right into the boots. I can't believe how fast they've come apart - especially since they're literally used to walk the dog on a daily basis. Sadly, I can't recommend these boots.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Fernie™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality, warmth and style

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
boonutsmom
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these. Great for the severe cold we have been experiencing. Lots of compliments too.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Fernie™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
KRenee
Location: Tucson
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These boots run a little smaller than I would buy in shoes but I expected that in any lined boot. They are wonderful in comfort and design. I love these boots! I need a wide size and was concerned about ordering them but the fit is perfect! Did I mention I Love these boots? They are light weight but a great combination of style, comfort with warmth. LOVE these boots.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Fernie™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm, comfy boot !

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Sambones
Location: Berkshires, Ma.
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I already own the tan and black Fernie's and love them so when I saw curry on sale I jumped on ordering them ! ( ... and what a great price !.. imagine, ordering from the company site vs. Amazon or Zappos or other sites and getting a great deal )....I agree that this color Fernie runs a bit smaller than the other's but I just wear a lighter sock instead of my winter boot socks. The boot is light, very warm, sooo comfortable and I found that they were the boots I grabbed all last fall and winter before heading out of the house !
I've been wearing Sorel's for years and their quality holds up.. still.
Oh, .. to add, I like the stripes on the back and haven't had any problems with stretching out....the elastic makes them easy to get on and off.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Fernie™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fernie boots

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Customer avatar
PamieR
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love them! They are comfortable, warm and a cool adaptation of the "typical" sheepskin boot everyone wears. The multi-colored striped back panel is great! Really different. I have very thin calves and most short boots do not work. These are ok in that respect. The size is good, they run a little big. All in all a wonderful purchase.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Fernie™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Customer avatar
ivme
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Really nice boots & Comfy. They are a little wide, but so far so good.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Fernie™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Frumpy but Functional

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Panda
Location: Bellingham, WA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are not a sharp looking shoe. They are bit frumpy looking to me. But, I need a short boot that was pull on and they are high quality. It doesn't look like any water would get in. They seem to run wide. The ankle is wide too. I got the tan color and they are a nice color. I normally wear a 7.5 and ordered an 8. They fit well and there is room for thick socks.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Fernie™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm in love

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Gabs
Location: SLC, UT
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these boots. Just arrived and I have to wait until winter to wear them:( Unlike the other Sorel boots I tried on, these ones were true to size and I did not size up one size. I am a 10, and I bought a 10. They fit great!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Fernie™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great product

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Peacearchgirl
Location: Bellingham, WA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product!!! I have these boots in the tall version in a size 9 and they are a little small, but if I take the insoles out they are fine; I bought these boots in a size 10 and they are a little too big, but with an additional insole they are fine. I wish they would make a 9 1/2 as that is what I usually wear, but I like the boots enough that it is worth the sacrifice. If you are a true 9 or 10 they will fit perfect.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Fernie™ Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Boot

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Akir
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The boots are light weight and the fit is good. I just expected them to be a bit warmer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Fernie™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great comfortable and handsome boots

PostedApril 9, 2013
Customer avatar
LindaJ
Location: Oslo, Norway
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I live in Norway and since this model is only sold in the US it was some logistics to get them. But I finally did get them and loved them instantly. I'm a size 7 but I experienced other Sorel boots to be a little tight, and 7,5 was not available for this model, so I went for a size 8. They fit good but are slightly big on me. A thicker sock makes them fit real good on the foot though. I also put an extra sole in and that did the trick when I use thin socks. I would prefer if they had a slightly thighter fit around the ankle. The only thing I'm worried about is the strech band at the heel, doesn't look too durable unfortunately.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Fernie™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ordered a size too big and they are too big...duh

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Customer avatar
caligirl
Location: Redding, CA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I saw these shoes at a local store on sale, but they only had a size 6. I wear a size 7, so I went online and found them even cheaper directly from Sorel. I read all the reviews and ordered a size bigger, since so may reviews advised the boots ran small and they needed to return them for a size larger. I just got the boots and they are too big! My mistake for reading all the reviews. These boots are so cute and I am disappointed that I will have to return them and wait to wear them...I was so excited. I'm thinking these boots are probably true to size. I ordered the light colored ones.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Fernie™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Boots Ever

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer avatar
NatureLover
Location: Albuqeruque, NM
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for the perfect slip on boot all winter! I finally came across the Fernie Boot, saw it online without even trying it, just to see if it would work. So glad I went for it. I put it on right away and have been wearing them none stop since!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Fernie™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fernie Boot

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Farmergirl
Location: Central New York State
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall, I've been very pleased with my new Fernie boots. They are SO comfortable that I sometimes forget that I've got them on my feet! I ordered mine a half-size larger than I usually wear, and they're a good fit. I love the style, although the elastic panel at the heel makes putting them on a little awkward. Pull tabs would help.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Fernie™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cute and comfortable!

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Customer avatar
wildheart
Location: Eugene, OR
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really like these boots. I bought the black and the dove. They go with so many things and were comfortable right away. I had a problem with the black boot because it had a defect and customer service took care of it promptly. I would order from Sorel again.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Fernie™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love Fernie boots, but Curry size nine ran small

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer avatar
csf6272
Location: Newport, OR
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fell in love with these boots this winter and have acquired one in each color, but when I received the Curry color (which was beautiful) in size nine they were way too small. The black and brown ones in the same size fit perfectly. I have returned them for a larger size, am not sure if it was a flaw in just the pair I received or if for some reason all of the Curry colored ones run small.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Fernie™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE'EM

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer avatar
SELLERS
Location: SALT LAKE CITY
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit, Great Color "Curry/WILD DOVE" Comfy and easy on/off! Love My New Boots!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Fernie™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

run small

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Customer avatar
mhannah61
Location: nyc
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the boot. Very comfortable. I had exchange for a larger size. Order up a 1/2 or full size. I ordered other boots which I had to go smaller but not these. Great looking.
There is a very thin vertical stripe on the back of the boot which I did not see in the picture. It is not that apparent on the boot but there.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Fernie™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love this boot!

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Customer avatar
LolaBean
Location: International Falls, MN
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very pleased with these boots. They are comfortable, they look good, and they are quite durable. In fact, I am thinking of buying another pair in the other color. The only negative is, I am a pretty standard size 10 and they did run a little small. I just have to make sure I don't wear thick socks. Thick socks are not necessary though because these boots keep your feet pretty warm in cold climates. Anyway, I would advise ordering a half size bigger.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next »