Customer reviews for Sorel Women’s Conquest™ Carly Short Boot

Sorel Women’s Conquest™ Carly Short Boot

Lightweight and cozy, this insulated boot features a full-grain leather and nylon upper, rubber shell and wrapped leather heel to ensure that feet stay dry, warm and protected during everyday adventures in winter conditions.
Overall rating:
4.162 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
31 out of 35(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Conquest™ Carly Short Boot
Review 1 for Women’s Conquest™ Carly Short Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cute, but not great quality for the money.

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Kristin88
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
User submitted photo
I love Sorels, and living in Michigan, I have a few pairs. I also work at an outdoor retailer, so I have experience with many of the styles. I have found that while Sorel has been working really hard to create stylish, functional waterproof footwear, it seems they have sacrificed some of their legendary quality for that style. My woes began with some Joan of Arctics about 4 years ago, with snaps failing and faux fur matting. With the Conquest Carly, the snaps on the strap going under the arch of the boot failed after a few wears causing the straps to flop around. Why not just put a permanent grommet? Then, after only a few wears, the "wood grain" began to peel off the heels revealing the white plastic underneath. I didn't expect the heel to be actual wood, but, for the price, I expected a much better replica. Also, the leather laces broke after not many ties. I also expected the buckles around the ankle to be metal, but are just metallic plastic. The boots are still holding up to water and the narrower width is feminine and fits well, though. So, I would recommend Sorel, but grab them on sale, or just go for the classic Caribou styles that are nearly bomb-proof.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women’s Conquest™ Carly Short Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cute Boot, Fits too Small

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer avatar
NorcalAM
Location: Norther California
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this boot, definitely order a half size up!! Had to return my size 7 and will wait till next your to order a 7.5.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women’s Conquest™ Carly Short Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the boot/laces are cheap

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Sucam16
Location: Maryland
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought these boots for my niece for Christmas. She recently moved to Chicago and needed a good winter snow boot. She loves the boot and says it fits true to size, and is very warm. However, the shoelace broke within 2 weeks. Unfortunately, Sorel does not sell any replacement laces. I read other reviews and saw this has happened with other people as well. Just make sure you have replacement laces on hand if you purchase this boot. Overall it's a great boot though!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women’s Conquest™ Carly Short Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I love these boots!

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Victoria90
Location: Michigan
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are my first pair of Sorel boots and I can say that I am more than happy with my purchase! I can't even count how many compliments I've gotten on them! They are very waterproof and look more fashionable than other practical winter boots that I've seen. The boot height is perfect for my 5'1'' petite size. The only negative thing to say about them is that they are a little stiff and are somewhat difficult to get your feet in and out of but once they are on they are roomie.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women’s Conquest™ Carly Short Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Women's Conquest Carly

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Sally511
Location: Chicago
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These boots are cute but run small. I would order 1/2 to 1 size larger. They slip in the back and the toes tend to push to the front. They are not the most comfortable for the money, but if you love them they are wearable. My daughter kept them as she loved the look.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women’s Conquest™ Carly Short Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

KNOW YOUR FOOT SIZE

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Rach28
Location: Boise, ID
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the first review I have ever written. I am hoping that my post may save someone the hassle of purchasing and returning and purchasing again. I read other reviews and some were stating these ran very small. I normally wear an 8.5 or 9 for items that run a bit small. After reading the reviews I bought a 9.5 because of how "SMALL" the reviews said they fit. Not true. $25 later I returned the boots. I am going to reorder in a size 9. They only run a bit small don't jump up a whole size.
The boots did feel and look amazing.
Good Luck!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women’s Conquest™ Carly Short Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Heel hurts

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
nanerbird
Location: Columbus, OH
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I read in several other reviews that the heel was painful, however, I went ahead and ordered them thinking they would be wearable. They are not wearable! The heel digs in to the back of your foot and it is too painful to walk. I so wish they would fix this because they are great looking and good quality.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women’s Conquest™ Carly Short Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall Impressed

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
SorelsinStamford
Location: Stamford, CT
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was extremely excited to get these boots in the mail because I had a hard time deciding between the Carly Short and the Conquest Carly. I'm only about 5'4 and thought the Conquest Carly might swallow my legs in addition to my trench down winter coat that I would be sporting them with. I love the height of these boots and the rugged, yet slight fashion they introduce to my winter wardrobe. I first sported them in the rain and today, finally, in the snow. Overall I feel really great about walking on snow and ice with them -- usually I tip toe around! I had to pair them with a Smartwool sock to get an accurate fit, as they ran just a tiny bit large. Better to have winter boots larger than smaller though. The only thing I disliked when I first opened them was the sloppiness of the rubber when it was applied to the sole. The rubber creeps up on the shoe (just above the heel) and is uneven near the logo patch.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women’s Conquest™ Carly Short Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my new snow boots!

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
NikkiW
Location: Lehi, Ut
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I Love my new snow boots they are cute and and functional. I wear them almost everyday to work and they are comfortable. I normally wear a 7.5 but a 7 fit perfect.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women’s Conquest™ Carly Short Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for Snow

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
CWRyan
Location: Madison, WI
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I liked the look of these boots and they fit just fine (I ordered a 1/2 size small per reviews), but the seam of the leather and the rubber hit right at the top of the heel in an uncomfortable way. These boots did not feel well insulated. Being a Wisconsin resident, these did not seem like an appropriate choice for traipsing around in the snow. Great for looks, but not for comfort and practicality. I would attempt to order an option that looks more lined, but it's not worth the risk to have to pay the return shipping on another pair of boots.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women’s Conquest™ Carly Short Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

what sweet boots!

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Laurabean
Location: Philadelphia, Pa
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I LOVED this boot from the moment I spotted it. It combines style and function into a boot that's easy to walk in (I live in a city) and keeps my toes warm and feet happy. I will add that I enhanced the footbed, something that I felt needed improvement for comfort, arch support and warmth. I added Superfeet merino wool inserts and they fit perfectly and help keep my toes super warm and provide the arch support I need. I found that they ran true to size and had plenty of room for the addition of the insert and a thin to mid weight sock. The only small downside is I noticed in the heel area where the leather meets the rubber the seam isn't completely flat. Some people may have chafing issues depending on how the boot sits on their heel. My addition of the insole greatly improved this minor fit issue. I get compliments every time I wear them.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women’s Conquest™ Carly Short Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cute, but not very durable

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
JessHams
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
I really liked the way these fit. If anything they're slightly roomy, but I was fine with it because I had room for thick socks. They look very nice and kept my feet nice and dry. I've only had them a couple of weeks, but after the first week one of the elastics built into the top of the shoe broke, which was very disappointing. I liked the fact that you could cinch the top of the boot so water didn't get in, but now that isn't possible for one of my shoes. Upsetting.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women’s Conquest™ Carly Short Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stylish Boots

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Customer avatar
MNnice616
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great stylish boots for Minnesota's snowy winters! Was looking for boots with traction for snow and ice, waterproof, and also stylish to wear dressed up or down and these boots definitely fit the bill. They do run a little small if you are planning on wearing thick socks, I would order a half size up. Overall, beautiful boots that will be nice for the snowy winters!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women’s Conquest™ Carly Short Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

WAY TOO SMALL

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
VTabs2
Location: Burlington, VT
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Couldn't even get my foot into the boot. Which is weird because I hear Sorel's run big. It's too bad because they look cool. I don't even think a half size bigger would work though, probably a whole size bigger. And since it's not free returns I'm not going to order a different size.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women’s Conquest™ Carly Short Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outdoor Lady

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Customer avatar
BeckBick
Location: Lawrence, KS
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These shoes are awesome. I don't even need to be writing this review because of the thousand good review's it already has. I suppose one more won't hurt. I got these boots really, really quickly. In less time than it takes to get most clothes. When I got them, I instantly wished for a cooler day. I had a work thing to do at 5:00 in the am and it was 40 degrees outside, with a pair of socks my feet were kept pretty warm, AND dry. I love these shoes already and I can't wait to run around in the snow and walk up the icy hills on my campus with them.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women’s Conquest™ Carly Short Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Ashley88
Location: New York, NY
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought these boots recently for a hiking trip to Iceland. These are my first hiking boots that I have owned and was a little hesitant to purchase them because they were a little expensive, however I would 100% recommend them to all buyers. They kept my feet very warm, provided my ankles with stability and were cute and fashionable. They aren't 100% waterproof- but granted I was stepping in considerably deep puddles many days in a row and they probably weren't meant to be used in that way. I would highly recommend this product and will definitely be purchasing Sorel boots in the future.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women’s Conquest™ Carly Short Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great function and style!

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Customer avatar
redness
Location: Oregon
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this boot. Great quality. Very functional. My only issue with it was that my regular size 8 was a bit small.
I returned the boot, and plan to buy the taller version of this boot when it is released this Fall (right now it is sold out). I may order it in a 1/2 size larger in the event it runs a little small like this Carly.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women’s Conquest™ Carly Short Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

so real

PostedApril 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Darkie29
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love every aspect of it
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women’s Conquest™ Carly Short Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love these boots

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Nat08
Location: Oregon
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
They look just like the picture! The only thing I noticed is that you want to wear socks that go higher then the boot, because the top of the boot feels scratchy on bare legs.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women’s Conquest™ Carly Short Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

our 6th pair of SOREL this season !

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer avatar
pamela
Location: Miami Fl
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We keep coming back ! The products are great, the customer service is
exceptional. There are actual people who take your call , they offer advice and guidance, in a polite professional way.
I found Sorel thru a pair of ski boots and have since purchased 3 pair for my husband, and 2 more for my daughters.
Thank you Sorel
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bySuzieQ
Calgary, AB
 
Please wait while more information about SuzieQ is loaded.
Additional information about SuzieQ could not be loaded.
onApril 16, 2013
Yes, I have to agree (I forgot to mention this in my review), the customer service when you call is AMAZING!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
1 2 Next »