Customer reviews for Sorel Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot

Sorel Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot

A quilted waxed canvas upper with leather overlays gives this boot unique style while waterproof construction, a leather shell and a faux fur lining ensure that feet stay warm, dry and comfortable in cold winter conditions.
Overall rating:
4.387 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(75 reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 75 reviews
5 Stars
48
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Star
3
67 out of 73(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Review 1 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

A good fit but they leak and aren't that warm

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: New York, NY, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My 2 stars are simply because they fit well- in fact they are a perfect fit for my size 6 feet and I always take a 6 therefore this boot is true to size. If I was reviewing simply on quality then I would give no stars as they aren't warm enough in freezing temperatures and they leak if you step in more than 2 inches of water. I live in NYC where water pools after rain up to 6 inches and the temps are below freezing frequently; this week we had rain and snow which formed icey puddles at every corner and this is when I discovered the leakage. I noticed that my toes went numb after 20 minutes of walking in Central Park the other week, therefore I am definitely returning this boot to the retailer after after having it less than one month. Saying this- I originally bought the Tivoli High Boot but returned it after 2 months as the stitching broke in the liner. That boot was simply too snug in the ankle (which other reviews state, despite being a true fit in the foot bed and calf) making it almost impossible to get on and off, hence why it broke. And I have skinny ankles. But that boot was way warmer, quite attractive and very comfortable. Sorel seem to make comfy boots but quality is not so good. I read on other reviews that this boot leaked and unfortunately, they are correct. Also the fur at the top is not at all attractive. One client of mine said the fur looks like a dead animal. It's all matted and cheap looking and your eye goes straight to it. If you live somewhere that is kinda cold but it doesn't snow you could probably get away with this boot I guess. I rushed in to buying this boot after my Tivolis broke and regret it. Shame but no way I will purchase anything from Sorel again.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Casual

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Queens, NY, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
This is the third pair of boots I purchased from Sorel. I purchased size 6 they are very comfortable and light weight. They go with pants, skirt, dress. I will recommend this store to all my friends.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Leaky

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
These boots were my first Sorel purchase. I bought them because everyone I asked recommended Sorel to me, and I quickly learned it was a top brand of footwear - better than North Face and Columbia, right up there with L.L. Bean.
These boots arrived during the Polar Vortex of 2013-14 (I live in Chicago) to replace a cheap pair of low-quality boots, and I was eager to wear them! Here are the pros of these boots: they are VERY warm (if there's no snow), comfortable, made of high-quality materials, and beautiful.
Here's the con: they are poorly constructed. Right off the bat I noticed that they leaked a tiny bit. But it was such a small amount, and I was so desperate for warm boots (remember, Polar Vortex!), that I decided to just keep them. BIG mistake. All winter long my feet were damp and uncomfortable. Not only that, but the leaking got worse as the season went on.
This year is only their second winter, and the leaking has gotten so bad that I've given up on them altogether. If your feet are wet in 10* weather, they WILL be cold, no matter how warm they are in dry weather. Even the smallest bit of snow manages to find its way in. How, I couldn't tell you, but it does. (Note to skeptics: This is not just a case of sweaty feet. I tested this multiple times by wrapping my feet in hole-less plastic bags then going about my day. My feet did sweat, yes, but the insides of the boots were STILL WET, even though my feet had not made contact with them all day, and even though I had been setting them by the furnace every night to dry out.) I'm now using plain old rain boots, and my feet are actually warmer than they were in these Tofino boots.
Do yourself a favor and don't buy these boots, no matter how tempted you may be. These are my second disappointing Sorel product. The other product is the Nakiska slippers. The lining started coming out in clumps within 30 days. For a brand so reputable, so marketed, and so pricey, I am extremely disappointed with it. One defective product is forgivable, but two totally unrelated products? Rest assured I will not be buying Sorel anymore.
I do not recommend this product.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: New York, NY, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Let me start off by stated the pros. this is a beautiful pair of boots, fits true to size and looks great with jeans or leggings. thats where it stops. After an extensive search of different websites and reading countless reviews i chose this pair over the uggs boots i originally wanted. I got these boots in November as a gift and couldnt wait to wear them. The first day it snowed i was ready, or thought i was. these boots first of all have no grip, i fell the first time i wore them on the sidewalk and kept sliding ever since. For a boot advertised as waterproof and warm , they are neither. the first time i wore them, i almost got frostbites walking 5 blocks, also when i took my shoes off my socks were wets at the toes. not believing my beloved pair of boots let me down,i wore them again same result.
I am so disappointed if i could give it a no star i would, i work at a school and we all influence each other with what we buy, many of my coworkers wanted to buy these boots i told them not to, i have never been so disappointed with a purchase. I would recommend you save your money or get another style
I do not recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great boots but cold toes!

PostedFebruary 1, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Grand Rapids, mi
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I absolutely love these boots walking on campus in! But when Michigan weather comes around and I have to track through a bunch of snow, my toes get cold!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great boots for taller fashion-conscious folks

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Lawrence, KS, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I thought the Tofino Cate boots would be the answer to all my frozen toe problems from last winter until I bought them! I am not super short at 5'3" but I do have pretty short legs and big calves. These boots have a tall enough shaft to go up to nearly my knees and make me look even shorter and bulkier than I am. Also, I was concerned about what would happen to the faux fur lining when it would inevitably get wet.
I ended up getting the Winter Carnival boots instead because they are shorter and they are perfect for me!
As far as fit goes, these have a more narrow foot bed than the Winter Carnivals which is nice. I usually wear a 7.5 but ordered a 7 and they were perfect.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just What I Was Looking For!

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After a long and frustrating search for winter boots this year, I heard of Sorel and decided to give them a shot. I originally bought the Joan of Arctic boots, but had to return them because they were much too large. After another unsuccessful attempt with a different brand entirely, I brought my search back to Sorel and found the Tofino Cate boots. They are adorable, extremely comfortable, and they FIT! They are just roomy enough for me to wear thick socks, but the laces allow for thin socks too. They are perfect for the large amount of snow and ice in my town and help me walk around town without wiping out. I LOVE them!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Sorel Size

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: New York, NY
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm a true 9.5 M in major brands: The NorthFace, Coach, Clarks, Merrell, Nike, Michael Kors, etc.
I decided after reading several reviews, I would visit the Sorel store in NYC to try the boots on first hand. I tried on the Joan of Ark, the Tivoli, the Tofino, the Fancy tall, the slim shortie in suede and the short blanket bootie. In ALL boots I needed a size 10.
I loved the Joan of Ark color scheme, but these are a cumbersome/clunky fit - perfect for trudging through trails, maybe not so much for running up and down train and subway steps. I decided on the Tofino Cate boot - it's a slimmer fit, waterproof and warm. And super cute!
I walked around the store for about 10 minutes in them - initially the fit on the sole is a bit weird...it feels like the toe bed at the point of the knuckle comes up/elevated somewhat. Yet they were still comfortable. I bought them and wore them out of the store.
About 15 minutes into walking in them, it felt like my toes were touching the inside front edge. I panicked - are they too small?! When I got home, I stuffed rolled socks in the toe bed area and left them overnight. The next morning, I put them on with trepidation - I have to walk a mile total to the train to go to work. I'm happy to say that this mile seemed to do the trick - the boots soon stretched where needed and molded to my footbed. I wore them all day at work and still have them on. They are now very very comfortable and don't have that odd toe lift feeling anymore. I also received numerous compliments on them from co-workers.
I'm only giving this Review 4 stars, because Sorel really needs to work out their proper sizing. If I had ordered these without ever trying them on, I would have ordered my normal size and would of had to return them - which we all know is s pain in the butt.
If you can't go to a store and must order online - I strongly suggest you order up a half size.
Other than that - great boots!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love Them!

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am usually a size 6.5, but I went with the recommendations of the other reviewers and went up half a size and definitely the best decision. My feet are soooo warm, comfortable, and I receive plenty of compliments. Way better than Uggs.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byCindiestar634
Chicago, Il.
 
Please wait while more information about Cindiestar634 is loaded.
Additional information about Cindiestar634 could not be loaded.
Like them
onJanuary 14, 2015
I bought these boots out of a store in Chicago. They are very warm, but the fur sheds all over your clothes. After a while, I feel tired after walking around in them, they are slightly heavy. I wear a size 8, and have a high instep, so it's very difficult for me to find boots that I can slide my foot into. These were perfect. A little snug, but they are starting to loosen up. I have slipped a couple of times on the train, which really amazed me, and they make you a bit clumsy.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Montreal
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought them for my daughter and she loves them
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love love love

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got these the other day and I love them. Everything about them! I ordered an 8.5 and I wear an 8 and they are perfect. I want more!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for me

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Buffalo, NY
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I read several reviews before purchasing this style boot, I was deciding between the tofino cate boot and the Joan of ark. I am so glad I decided on the cate even though I am sure either would be great! I live in an area where sometimes we suddenly get a foot or more of snow at once, even several feet sometimes! The boot is waterproof and durable yet comfortable! And I love the color choices! I work at a job that I sometimes am required to be outside for periods of time, and the rest of the time am inside in casual dress attire, and these boots still work perfectly for those snowy days! The fit for me is true to size, I always wear a 9.5 in sneakers and I feel that is my true size, occasionally I wear a different size in other style shoes(flip flops, high-heels etc), but ordering a 9.5 in the cate fits just as perfectly and comfortably as any sneakers I own so if you're unsure of sizing look at your own sneakers.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great boots for Midwestern winters

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are really great boots. Sturdy, well-made, and very warm.
I definitely recommend using the fit guide. I did and ended up ordering a 1/2 size up; they fit perfectly. Haven't had a chance to trek through some snow in them yet, but I'm positive they'll hold up fine.
They are a little stiff and I'm still in the process of breaking them in. Nothing I didn't expect.
I would recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So cute!

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Illinois
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
First of these are my 2nd pair of Sorels a friend told me about this brand and of coarse after seeing hers I had to have a pair then 1 wasn't enough so here I am with 2:) only reason I gave 4 stars out of 5 is because the only negative thing I can say about this boot is the fur isn't the best quality compared to my Joan of arctics anyway it sheds very easily and just not as nice but with that said I still love these boots and probably will wear them more then my Joan of arctics do to they are more of a everyday cold weather casual, fashionable boot the foot isn't to wide at all perfect actually! The description is true these are meant for light snow I wouldn't wear them in heavy snow. I was unsure on what size to order because my arctics I had to order a whole size smaller and they fit with room to spare I read some reviews and decided on to order my true size 7.5 and they are perfect definantly true to size. So overall yes Id recommend this boot fashionable/comfortable/nice boots!
I would recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

so so

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: libertyville, il
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Small
True to Size
Too Large
I ordered a 7 (I'm a 6 1/2) and they were too small. Then I ordered a 7.5 and they fit great but there is buckling in the lining above the toe in the left boot. It doesnt hurt but is bothersome. Dont want to take the time to send back because it's cold outside!!
I would recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love these boots....so far!

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Avon, CT
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
As far as style, these boots are absolutely adorable! I typically wear a 6 1/2 and ordered a 6 1/2. They seem to fit true to size, however with a thicker sick they are a little snug so you might want to go up a 1/2 size. I opted to keep my 6 1/2 because I don't usually wear very thick socks. I gave these boots a rating of 4 stars because it hasn't yet gotten very cold where I live (in New England). So, once the winter comes and I can test out the 'warmth factor' I will update my review. If they do keepy feet warm and dry I would give them a five star rating!
I would recommend this product.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Style and Function

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: New Jersey
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was torn between the Joan of Arctic Premium Boot and this boot. I will start by saying that I have a narrow foot. That being said, the Joan of Arctic was just way to wide. They were also stiff. The quality was great but for my narrow foot, my feet moved around too much and were uncomfortable. I think the Joan of Arctic would work much better on a medium width foot. I decided to keep the Tofino. I was afraid that I was giving up function by choosing this model. Boy was I pleasantly surprised. I just went through days here in New Jersey of 18 inches of snow ( I shoveled and played with my kids), and they held up very well. The boots fit perfectly, my feet were comfortable, warm and dry. What more could I ask for. I highly recommend these boots. As recommended, I sized a half size down from my normal shoe size!!
I would recommend this product.
+29points
29of 29voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfectly warm & stylish!

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Pearland, Texas
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these boots for my trip to Park City. I researched the reviews for warm and dry and these boots fit the bill! The boots are stylish and comfortable!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these boots

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Illinois
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
These boots are great! They are true to size, very warm and comfortable. Perfect for this weather we are having this year.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm and Dry

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these boots just in time for a few major storms on the east coast. They have been amazing as I slosh through city streets. My feet are warm and dry the whole time.
As this is my first pair of Sorels I was a bit thrown off at first with the heaviness of them. They are truly snowshoes and I had been accustom to wearing rain boots. However, I quickly adjusted and have gotten used to the weight. If you drive, however, they are pretty thick and can pinch on your ankle as you press and release on the pedal.
I ordered a size 6, which is my typical shoe size. There is a bit of room in the shoe but not enough to go down a size. It is definitely enough room to wear a thick sock comfortably though.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 Next »