Customer reviews for Sorel Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot

Sorel Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot

A quilted waxed canvas upper with leather overlays gives this boot unique style while waterproof construction, a leather shell and a faux fur lining ensure that feet stay warm, dry and comfortable in cold winter conditions.
Overall rating:
4.218 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(101 reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 101 reviews
5 Stars
62
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Star
10
86 out of 99(87%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Review 1 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love these boots....so far!

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Avon, CT
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
As far as style, these boots are absolutely adorable! I typically wear a 6 1/2 and ordered a 6 1/2. They seem to fit true to size, however with a thicker sick they are a little snug so you might want to go up a 1/2 size. I opted to keep my 6 1/2 because I don't usually wear very thick socks. I gave these boots a rating of 4 stars because it hasn't yet gotten very cold where I live (in New England). So, once the winter comes and I can test out the 'warmth factor' I will update my review. If they do keepy feet warm and dry I would give them a five star rating!
I would recommend this product.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

so so

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: libertyville, il
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Small
True to Size
Too Large
I ordered a 7 (I'm a 6 1/2) and they were too small. Then I ordered a 7.5 and they fit great but there is buckling in the lining above the toe in the left boot. It doesnt hurt but is bothersome. Dont want to take the time to send back because it's cold outside!!
I would recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So cute!

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Illinois
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
First of these are my 2nd pair of Sorels a friend told me about this brand and of coarse after seeing hers I had to have a pair then 1 wasn't enough so here I am with 2:) only reason I gave 4 stars out of 5 is because the only negative thing I can say about this boot is the fur isn't the best quality compared to my Joan of arctics anyway it sheds very easily and just not as nice but with that said I still love these boots and probably will wear them more then my Joan of arctics do to they are more of a everyday cold weather casual, fashionable boot the foot isn't to wide at all perfect actually! The description is true these are meant for light snow I wouldn't wear them in heavy snow. I was unsure on what size to order because my arctics I had to order a whole size smaller and they fit with room to spare I read some reviews and decided on to order my true size 7.5 and they are perfect definantly true to size. So overall yes Id recommend this boot fashionable/comfortable/nice boots!
I would recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great boots for Midwestern winters

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are really great boots. Sturdy, well-made, and very warm.
I definitely recommend using the fit guide. I did and ended up ordering a 1/2 size up; they fit perfectly. Haven't had a chance to trek through some snow in them yet, but I'm positive they'll hold up fine.
They are a little stiff and I'm still in the process of breaking them in. Nothing I didn't expect.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for me

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Buffalo, NY
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I read several reviews before purchasing this style boot, I was deciding between the tofino cate boot and the Joan of ark. I am so glad I decided on the cate even though I am sure either would be great! I live in an area where sometimes we suddenly get a foot or more of snow at once, even several feet sometimes! The boot is waterproof and durable yet comfortable! And I love the color choices! I work at a job that I sometimes am required to be outside for periods of time, and the rest of the time am inside in casual dress attire, and these boots still work perfectly for those snowy days! The fit for me is true to size, I always wear a 9.5 in sneakers and I feel that is my true size, occasionally I wear a different size in other style shoes(flip flops, high-heels etc), but ordering a 9.5 in the cate fits just as perfectly and comfortably as any sneakers I own so if you're unsure of sizing look at your own sneakers.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love love love

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got these the other day and I love them. Everything about them! I ordered an 8.5 and I wear an 8 and they are perfect. I want more!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Montreal
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought them for my daughter and she loves them
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love Them!

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am usually a size 6.5, but I went with the recommendations of the other reviewers and went up half a size and definitely the best decision. My feet are soooo warm, comfortable, and I receive plenty of compliments. Way better than Uggs.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byCindiestar634
Chicago, Il.
 
Please wait while more information about Cindiestar634 is loaded.
Additional information about Cindiestar634 could not be loaded.
Like them
onJanuary 14, 2015
I bought these boots out of a store in Chicago. They are very warm, but the fur sheds all over your clothes. After a while, I feel tired after walking around in them, they are slightly heavy. I wear a size 8, and have a high instep, so it's very difficult for me to find boots that I can slide my foot into. These were perfect. A little snug, but they are starting to loosen up. I have slipped a couple of times on the train, which really amazed me, and they make you a bit clumsy.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Sorel Size

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: New York, NY
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm a true 9.5 M in major brands: The NorthFace, Coach, Clarks, Merrell, Nike, Michael Kors, etc.
I decided after reading several reviews, I would visit the Sorel store in NYC to try the boots on first hand. I tried on the Joan of Ark, the Tivoli, the Tofino, the Fancy tall, the slim shortie in suede and the short blanket bootie. In ALL boots I needed a size 10.
I loved the Joan of Ark color scheme, but these are a cumbersome/clunky fit - perfect for trudging through trails, maybe not so much for running up and down train and subway steps. I decided on the Tofino Cate boot - it's a slimmer fit, waterproof and warm. And super cute!
I walked around the store for about 10 minutes in them - initially the fit on the sole is a bit weird...it feels like the toe bed at the point of the knuckle comes up/elevated somewhat. Yet they were still comfortable. I bought them and wore them out of the store.
About 15 minutes into walking in them, it felt like my toes were touching the inside front edge. I panicked - are they too small?! When I got home, I stuffed rolled socks in the toe bed area and left them overnight. The next morning, I put them on with trepidation - I have to walk a mile total to the train to go to work. I'm happy to say that this mile seemed to do the trick - the boots soon stretched where needed and molded to my footbed. I wore them all day at work and still have them on. They are now very very comfortable and don't have that odd toe lift feeling anymore. I also received numerous compliments on them from co-workers.
I'm only giving this Review 4 stars, because Sorel really needs to work out their proper sizing. If I had ordered these without ever trying them on, I would have ordered my normal size and would of had to return them - which we all know is s pain in the butt.
If you can't go to a store and must order online - I strongly suggest you order up a half size.
Other than that - great boots!
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just What I Was Looking For!

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After a long and frustrating search for winter boots this year, I heard of Sorel and decided to give them a shot. I originally bought the Joan of Arctic boots, but had to return them because they were much too large. After another unsuccessful attempt with a different brand entirely, I brought my search back to Sorel and found the Tofino Cate boots. They are adorable, extremely comfortable, and they FIT! They are just roomy enough for me to wear thick socks, but the laces allow for thin socks too. They are perfect for the large amount of snow and ice in my town and help me walk around town without wiping out. I LOVE them!
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great boots for taller fashion-conscious folks

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Lawrence, KS, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I thought the Tofino Cate boots would be the answer to all my frozen toe problems from last winter until I bought them! I am not super short at 5'3" but I do have pretty short legs and big calves. These boots have a tall enough shaft to go up to nearly my knees and make me look even shorter and bulkier than I am. Also, I was concerned about what would happen to the faux fur lining when it would inevitably get wet.
I ended up getting the Winter Carnival boots instead because they are shorter and they are perfect for me!
As far as fit goes, these have a more narrow foot bed than the Winter Carnivals which is nice. I usually wear a 7.5 but ordered a 7 and they were perfect.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great boots but cold toes!

PostedFebruary 1, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Grand Rapids, mi
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I absolutely love these boots walking on campus in! But when Michigan weather comes around and I have to track through a bunch of snow, my toes get cold!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: New York, NY, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Let me start off by stated the pros. this is a beautiful pair of boots, fits true to size and looks great with jeans or leggings. thats where it stops. After an extensive search of different websites and reading countless reviews i chose this pair over the uggs boots i originally wanted. I got these boots in November as a gift and couldnt wait to wear them. The first day it snowed i was ready, or thought i was. these boots first of all have no grip, i fell the first time i wore them on the sidewalk and kept sliding ever since. For a boot advertised as waterproof and warm , they are neither. the first time i wore them, i almost got frostbites walking 5 blocks, also when i took my shoes off my socks were wets at the toes. not believing my beloved pair of boots let me down,i wore them again same result.
I am so disappointed if i could give it a no star i would, i work at a school and we all influence each other with what we buy, many of my coworkers wanted to buy these boots i told them not to, i have never been so disappointed with a purchase. I would recommend you save your money or get another style
I do not recommend this product.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Leaky

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
These boots were my first Sorel purchase. I bought them because everyone I asked recommended Sorel to me, and I quickly learned it was a top brand of footwear - better than North Face and Columbia, right up there with L.L. Bean.
These boots arrived during the Polar Vortex of 2013-14 (I live in Chicago) to replace a cheap pair of low-quality boots, and I was eager to wear them! Here are the pros of these boots: they are VERY warm (if there's no snow), comfortable, made of high-quality materials, and beautiful.
Here's the con: they are poorly constructed. Right off the bat I noticed that they leaked a tiny bit. But it was such a small amount, and I was so desperate for warm boots (remember, Polar Vortex!), that I decided to just keep them. BIG mistake. All winter long my feet were damp and uncomfortable. Not only that, but the leaking got worse as the season went on.
This year is only their second winter, and the leaking has gotten so bad that I've given up on them altogether. If your feet are wet in 10* weather, they WILL be cold, no matter how warm they are in dry weather. Even the smallest bit of snow manages to find its way in. How, I couldn't tell you, but it does. (Note to skeptics: This is not just a case of sweaty feet. I tested this multiple times by wrapping my feet in hole-less plastic bags then going about my day. My feet did sweat, yes, but the insides of the boots were STILL WET, even though my feet had not made contact with them all day, and even though I had been setting them by the furnace every night to dry out.) I'm now using plain old rain boots, and my feet are actually warmer than they were in these Tofino boots.
Do yourself a favor and don't buy these boots, no matter how tempted you may be. These are my second disappointing Sorel product. The other product is the Nakiska slippers. The lining started coming out in clumps within 30 days. For a brand so reputable, so marketed, and so pricey, I am extremely disappointed with it. One defective product is forgivable, but two totally unrelated products? Rest assured I will not be buying Sorel anymore.
I do not recommend this product.
+37points
39of 41voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Casual

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Queens, NY, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
This is the third pair of boots I purchased from Sorel. I purchased size 6 they are very comfortable and light weight. They go with pants, skirt, dress. I will recommend this store to all my friends.
I would recommend this product.
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great boot

PostedDecember 19, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Minnesota
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Great for the cold weather, comfortable, good fit, makes a positive fashion statement
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love Them!!!

PostedDecember 29, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Highland Village, TX, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
I saw these boots in an ad on Facebook and really liked the look. I honestly had not heard of Sorel boots before, and have never worn anything like this style (we don't get much snow in Texas!). I put them on my Christmas wish list, and of course gave my husband a picture because I wanted these boots, not just "snow" boots. Obviously (since I am writing a review) he found them at a ski shop at the mall. He bought me a half size larger than I normally wear. They fit perfectly! I absolutely love the way they look and the way they feel on my feet, they are light weight and so warm. I have worn them with skinny jeans and regular jeans. I even wore them with my pj's Christmas morning! They are casual and sporty but the leather and fur give them a classy chic look too. They are made very well, and I am sure I will buy other Sorel boots now that I know about them. They were more expensive than what I would normally spend for casual wear, but I have learned that most of the time-you get what you pay for! These boots are not a "fad" that will only be worn this one winter, I think I will be wearing them for a few years.
I would recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

loved but seem small

PostedJanuary 6, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: westport, ct
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my daughters boots are as advertised, she loved them but they seem small. getting her a full size larger boot
I would recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Durable & beautiful

PostedDecember 11, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really love the look and the warmth in cold, snowy weather. They are a bit stiff, though, so it's a little awkward to drive in and even takes a little while to be able to walk in, but overall I'm happy with my purchase.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women’s Tofino™ Cate Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm and looks nice

PostedFebruary 10, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Cleveland, OH, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I ordered my first pair of these boots in 10/2013 for my daughter attending college in Cleveland. She needed them to walk on campus. They did a great job of keeping her feet warm. But I was disappointed to see that she only got two winters out of them. They cracked at the bend area on both boots up top. I noticed it last minute as she was returning to campus so I ordered her the same boot 12/2015. Had she been in town and we had time to shop, I might have looked at others styles/brands but at least I know they will fit and she likes the look of them.
I wore her old pair to walk our dogs and I am also not happy with how slippery they are when you walk on a little patch of ice. I would think they would have a little bit better of traction on ice. Lastly, my daughter normally wears a 7.5 and we had to go with an 8.5 for fitting. Her roommate wears the same size shoe and owned a pair of Sorel boots so we already knew we needed to go a size up.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 Next »