Customer reviews for Sorel Women’s Joan of Arctic™ Premium Boot

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SOREL.

Sorel Women’s Joan of Arctic™ Premium Boot

Women’s Joan of Arctic™ Premium Boot
Overall rating:
4.155 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 58 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
5
1 Star
1
43 out of 53(81%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Joan of Arctic™ Premium Boot
Review 1 for Women’s Joan of Arctic™ Premium Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Practical and stylish

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, Il
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered all new Sorel boots this year for the family. Our 15yo has a new pair of Joan of Arctic boots also. At 15yo style is important so we found a pair that she can wear to school which is practical because she walks 2 blocks away to school and also they look fantastic. She loves them. I purchased the this pair of Joan of Arctic w the leather upper. I can wear them to walk the Labradors and also to dinner on a snowy saturday night. They are very comfortable and I love them also. I ordered my husband the Caribou Wool. He had a really hard time at first getting them on. The interior boot was very tight, after a few goes, he was able to loosen that up and he loves his boots also. We walk our Labradors several times a day and have found these to be perfect for that task. He is not so into style, but thats okay, we took care of that for him and they are gorgeous. Now if I could just get some Sorel boots for my dogs, then we would be good to go.
I would recommend this product.
+12points
16of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women’s Joan of Arctic™ Premium Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Joan of Arctic PRemium Boot

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Ham Lake, MN
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The boots look great, but I'm not sure yet if I'm going to keep the boots. One of the boots cuts into the back of my leg and I don't have confidence that I will be able to wear that out of them in the near future. I need the boots for a Christmas gift and then I may return them and get the more "masculine" looking boots that I know will work better.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women’s Joan of Arctic™ Premium Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what she wanted

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Washington State
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"They are wonderful" were her wards describing the boots, delivered within timelines promised.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women’s Joan of Arctic™ Premium Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm and look great!

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago IL
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
The boots are very durable, waterproof and look great! They took a bit to work in while walking but are tue to size and are comfortable now. We have had plenty of snow and cold to put these boots to the test and they passed
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women’s Joan of Arctic™ Premium Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Inflexible and clompy

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The full leather makes the JOA premium look luxe, and the combination of style plus practicality is what originally caught my eye. Unfortunately, whilst the length was fine (I'm a size 10), they're a wide fit. My feet moved sideways and heels lifted up with each step, meaning I'd have to 'work' to keep stable whilst walking. Also, because the ankle and shaft are full leather, the leather bunches up and 'bites' into the front and back of the ankle when flexing and extending the ankle. I'm going to return these via post tomorrow and order a size 10 tofino with the fabric upper. I tried these on yesterday, and the tofino is a much sleeker fit, and the fabric upper increases their flexibility considerably.
I do not recommend this product.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women’s Joan of Arctic™ Premium Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect cold-weather boots!

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Wisconsin
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ran off the size chart on the Sorel website. I used those measurements and the fit was perfect. I might have ordered a half size too large if I did not follow those measurements. I have a high arch and the first few times I put them on, I had to really tug on the back. Open the laces way up if this happens to you. The felt lining breaks in and it is now easier to put them on. They are very comfortable, and I feel ready for our bitter Wisconsin cold.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women’s Joan of Arctic™ Premium Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I FOUND THE SOLUTION!!

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Boston, MA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Originally these boots cut right into my Achille's tendon and it was tremendously painful and I could not wear them. Due to the snowstorm, these boots were my only option. I duct taped around an unwrapped maxi pad (Kotex Balance) to make the pad waterproof, and it made a nice, square cushion. It fits *perfectly* in the heel if you place it the long-way up in between the shoe and the liner. The "cushion" did not move in over 3 hours of walking and I felt no pain, even with my pre-existing cut from the previous wear. Before my ingenious idea (if I do say so myself) I would not have recommended them. Now I could not be happier with my purchase. They also have a luxurious, timeless look and I have received many compliments.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women’s Joan of Arctic™ Premium Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Long Shaft not suitable for all

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These boots are fraught with quality and style. I like them but I don't love them. They are warm and stylish and I know they will last a long time; my husbands are over twenty years old. I three objections:
1) I’m 5’4” and the Shaft is too long making it very difficult to get on my legs. In addition to the foot size, it would be nice if there was a long or short size in the shaft for short women; this would simply be a shorter shaft similar to the women's caribou. But the Joan of Arctic would be so much more stylish.
2) After wearing both and walking on ice and ice/snow mix, the tread on the Joan of Arctic doesn't seem to perform as well as my husband’s older Caribou tread.
3) Perhaps I just need to wear them in, but I think the heavily curved shape of the sole is odd. I like the feel of my husband’s Caribou when walking.
I don't think my concerns are worth returning the boot because my husband recalled his being a snug fit for a very long time. It would seem logical that Sorel performed extensive research and development but they need to do more with more women. If I were to recommend the Joan of Arctic Premium boot, it would be too, tall skinny women only. I wish Sorel had a more stylish Womens Caribou boot -- that is the one I would buy after using the Joan of Arctic Premium.
I do not recommend this product.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byerly
Snoqualmie Pass, WA
 
Please wait while more information about erly is loaded.
Additional information about erly could not be loaded.
Not made in Canada anymore...
onJanuary 14, 2014
I think it may be tough finding a pair of new Sorels that can hold up to your husband's Caribous. In recent years, Sorel was purchased by Columbia, and manufacturing of the boots shifted from Canada to China. From what my friends have told me, they aren't what they used to be. You may be better off finding an old used pair with the Made in Canada stamp and replacing the liner and laces. Kamik makes a similar boot, and they are still made in Canada.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Women’s Joan of Arctic™ Premium Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Style is wonderful

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just ordered a pair of the Joan of Arc. They are warm and have good traction. I walk a long distance to work each day and I have no support or slippage issues. Also I love the red stitching. My college age daughter visited and wanted to take them home with her. I normally take an 8-8.5 but ordered an 9. THey are perfect with a good pair of ski / wool socks.
Teresa McFadden
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women’s Joan of Arctic™ Premium Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Boot Purchase

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Boston, MA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I searched and searched for the perfect winter boot. I chose the Joan of Arctic...and all of the non-premium versions seem to be sold out from everywhere. So, I decided to pay the extra $$ and just buy these. Inside the of the foot portion of the boot is a little large than "true to size" however will be perfect with a thick pair of socks. The inner lining feels a tad tight the first time the boots go on, however after wearing them around the house for an hour, I can feel them breaking in. The tag on the boot says they are for up to -25 degrees F. They are very sturdy and a bit bulky. However, for a waterproof boot that is leather and lined - I'll take a bit bulky. Bring on the next storm!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women’s Joan of Arctic™ Premium Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A true cold weather boot with STYLE

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Madison, WI
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wanted a stylish boot that was also warm. I'm so glad I bought the premium since the leather upper will last for years to come. They are stiff out of the box in the ankle/lower calf but be patient and you will break them in after a few wears. The stout color is fantastic, with cranberry red and dark brown leather and black fur and black waterproof foot. So versatile for a wardrobe. I am a size 8 but always go up a half size for boots. The 8.5 were great. A tad wide for a regular width foot, but not bothersome. Wider in the heel but again, it doesn't bother me. I have 17 inch calves and these work since they have a wide tongue and I can lace them with no problem. Fantastic for cold WI weather.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women’s Joan of Arctic™ Premium Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great boot, but oversized

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Boise, ID
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I look forward to wearing these boots once the right size arrives. I normally wear a size 8.5 (U.S.), 39 (EU), but the 8.5 in this boot was too big, so I returned it. Am now awaiting the size 8 with much anticipation. I would have given this item five stars if it were not for the sizing issue. The quality of the boot seems impeccable, and the style is great given the serious functionality of the boot.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women’s Joan of Arctic™ Premium Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but one little thing....

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great boots. Only issue is the snaps that go around the fur never stay snapped.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women’s Joan of Arctic™ Premium Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I love these boots

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Michigan
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These boots are very warm, we've recently experienced temps of 30+ below 0 and they did a good job keeping my feet warm while I was outside. They are pretty stiff leather upper material, but break in fairly easily, I used mink oil rub to help soften and waterproof them and will do that occasionally to restore the brilliant maroon leather color. I definitely recommend this boot and am glad I made the switch from Columbia to Sorrel!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women’s Joan of Arctic™ Premium Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Run big

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Boston, MA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Very nice boot/look. Size runs big though. I'm usually an 8 1/2, went down to an 8, but they are still big and a 7 1/2 would probably fit much better.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women’s Joan of Arctic™ Premium Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Big

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Boston, MA
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been searching for a great winter boot and everything has been sold out. I thought these would fit the bill, but they were really big. In both american and european shoes i wear an 8.5 or 9, so thought a 9 would be ok - they were gigantic even with a thick sock and just not that flattering on (I am 5'10" and thin frame). The quality is fantastic so am going to try another style and hopefully they will work out.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women’s Joan of Arctic™ Premium Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

uncomfortable bend in the back of the calf

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: delaware
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I wear an 8.5 in shoes and usually get a 9 in boots. Bought the 9 but it was so roomy that my heel kept slipping up in the boot, and since I wanted to wear them hiking, it would not do. The materials are great and they look really cool, but the reason I will not be ordering a half or full size down is that when I walk, the leather along the back calf of the boot folded in on my calves with every step. It pinched enough to hurt and would have really bothered me if I had to walk around in these. My calves are about 16.5 and I am 5'4" so maybe that was part of the problem, but it is probably more likely the tough, inflexible leather, since the boots definitely open up to accomodate my calves. I would like to buy another pair but I think I'm going to wait out this insanely cold season out and maybe next time try shorter sorels or a synthetic upper that will be more flexible with the movement of my leg. It was.sort of like walking in a cast. If I had a false leg, maybe I wouldn't notice, but then I wouldn't need warm boots, I suppose. I won't be buying from the sorel site again because the boots are so heavy and I have to pay return shipping which will probably be twenty dollars. Otherwise I would have exchanged them, but who knows how the next ones would fit and it's not worth it to keep paying when you don't know the quality before you purchase.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women’s Joan of Arctic™ Premium Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Lacoste, France
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed warm, dry, hiking boots for a trip in France and they're the only shoes I brought. They've worked wonderfully even on very cold and rainy days. Good quality, comfort, and they fit great because I got half a size smaller than I normally wear after seeing everyone's comments about them being too large.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women’s Joan of Arctic™ Premium Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

JOAN OF ARCTIC BOOTS - BEWARE

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
These boots are of the highest quality and my wife and I have noticed a lot of women wearing them up here in Chicago. She really wanted a good pair of waterproof boots and these seemed to meet her requirements. Got the boots, she tried them on and wore them around in the apartment building for a day, and by the end of the day her legs were badly aching. She is a cancer patient and also broke her leg last year, so she doesn't have the best stamina and strength right now. So she decided that the boots were just way to heavy for someone like her. Otherwise, the boots are of the highest quality and something I would recommend for cold snowy climates.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women’s Joan of Arctic™ Premium Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Passed the Polar Vortex weather event in Minnesota 2014

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: St. Anthony, MN
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my Joan of Arctic Premium boots. They run true to size, I know because I listened to the reviews that said they ran big, had to return my first pair. They are warm, keep me dry and were tested in the most recent Polar Vortex in Minnesota. Passed the test! I love my Sorels, last pair of Sorels lasted me 25 years.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next »