Customer reviews for Sorel Women's Scotia™ Lace Boot

Sorel Women's Scotia™ Lace Boot

WOMEN'S SCOTIA™ LACE
Overall rating:
4.1 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
17 out of 20(85%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Scotia™ Lace Boot
Review 1 for Women's Scotia™ Lace Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

slips in the rain

PostedApril 27, 2014
Customer avatar
SAMWU28
Location: san jose, ca
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
extremely stylish shoe. great to look at.
too bad it slips in the rain.
i glided over wet patches while walking downhill and across lobbies in buildings all rainy day.
beautiful sole, unfortunately it has a weaker grip than an infant.
$175 down the drain.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Scotia™ Lace Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks great, runs large

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Customer avatar
rcrpdx
Location: portland or
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I solved the too large issue by putting insoles (you can pick up a pair at any drug store) and now they fit perfectly and the added cushioning make them extra comfy. Without the insoles, they felt uncomfortably huge.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Scotia™ Lace Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

1/2 size smaller is perfect!

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Soccergal10
Location: Somerville, MA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After reading previous reviews, I ordered a half size smaller and held my breath that it would fit well. I usually order a size 10 but got a 9.5, and it fits perfectly! Room for socks but definitely not too big. The look is awesome, and you can either wear them laced up or fold down the sides because the leather is very soft and flexible. Thin but not flimsy or cheap. Love em!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Scotia™ Lace Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice look and waterproof

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Cassie19
Location: Pullman, WA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have small feet so I had to take the smallest size they make, but with winter socks they fit perfectly! They are comfortable and walking in the rain is no problem
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Scotia™ Lace Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Odd Fit

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Cathy7
Location: Portland, OR
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Odd fit for me. Too long and too narrow. I will have to return. Also, the ankle area is quite large - as if they were sized for a man's leg.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Scotia™ Lace Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

stylish but cold

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Tigerlily
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This shoe is HOT! I love the look of it BUT:
- the heel is way too big, so I need to wear thicker or multiple socks
- they are not warm at all (if you stand in snow for a long period of time your feet will get cold)
I love this boot tho... - totally easy to manage (putting on/taking off) and they are comfortable besides the heel being large. They are so unique and I have yet to see anyone else wearing them!
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Scotia™ Lace Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Look Great - Feel Great!

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer avatar
BootsBootsBoots
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LOVE them. Look great...feel great!! The only thing I disagree with other reviews...is that I feel they ARE true to size. I wish I got my size...an 8.5 because this time of year I usually wear a thicker warmer sock. With the 8 I cannot do that; they would be too tight, and I only purchased the 8 b/c most reviews stated they were on the large size....and recommended purchasing a half size down. Regardless...they fit with a regular sock and I love them!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Scotia™ Lace Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Comfortable, Stylish, and Functional

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Katherine25
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love these boots! I finally gave in and decided to buy real boots this winter, and in the week I've had them, they have paid for themselves. They are incredibly comfortable and great for getting around during this snowy and icy Midwest winter (I walk outside a lot) and keep my feet mostly warm and dry. The boots aren't lined, so I wear wool socks with them and I haven't had any problems. They are also surprisingly stylish for being such a rugged boot. My only complaint is that structure of the shaft of the boot isn't as sturdy as I'd like it to be, so they slouch a bit, but overall you can tell the boots are really well made. I normally wear a size 10 or so, and I'm glad I read the other reviews because I sized down a half size to a 9.5 and they fit perfectly.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Scotia™ Lace Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Passed a Hike on the fist day

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Lhaug
Location: North Lake Tahoe CA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my new boots. I bought them with the knowledge that they fit much larger then regular sizes. So as a 9.5 womens usually I bought these in a 8.5 and they are wearing in beautifully.
So I tok them right away on a 5 mile hike and they did wonderfully. No blisters, andgreat traction in the icey mountains I live in. Super happy!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Scotia™ Lace Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LARGE but GREAT

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Skii603
Location: Los Angeles, California
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After reading other reviews, I ordered the Scotia a full size down - it fits PERFECTLY. I've worn them with lightweight wool socks in snow and ice and they've been great. They're extremely comfortable, cozy and I get lots of compliments on them. I will say they appeared a shade darker when they arrived than what I imagined from the picture, but I still love this boot, definite keepers
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Scotia™ Lace Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
SignorinaNavarra
Location: New York, NY
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these boots! I got to put them to the test this past week during the NYC snow storm and I have to say they did not disappoint! The darker areas of the shoes are waterproof, easy to clean, my feet stayed warm and I did not slip once! Side note: I always fall and my feet are constantly cold so I was in awe. My legs and ankles are skinny and they do go slightly large on me. I have to wear thicker socks because when I walk they slip off a bit. Thanks to the other reviewers, I ordered the smallest size. If they had a 5.5 I would have ordered those so order a size smaller for sure!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Scotia™ Lace Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great multi-purpose boots!

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer avatar
courtrenee
Location: New York, NY
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
These are super cute and have held up great in the most recent NYC snowstorm. I hike almost a mile to and from work and my feet have stayed warm and dry. I ordered a half size down but they are STILL a bit too big, even with thick socks.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Scotia™ Lace Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handsome Boots

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
kala1300
Location: Newport, RI
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am happy with these boots. They are really comfortable and look great. So far they have performed well in wet, slushy weather - my feet stay warm and dry. After reading reviews I went a 1/2 size down and they fit well if not a little roomy.
Careful when wearing inside - they can be really slippery on a slick floor!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Scotia™ Lace Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

comfortable and waterproof but size down

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Juno77
Location: San Francisco
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been searching for stylish winter boots for over a year. I wanted something that would hold up on my annual Christmas trips to the UK and Norway but were still stylish enough (and not lined) to wear during the winter in SF. And I needed them to be rugged enough for any winter hikes in the woods that the family likes to do. I'd tried on lots of shoes at Timberland but for one reason or another they weren't quite right. When I received a pass for the Mountain Hardwear Employee store which prompted me to check out Sorel I fell in love with these right away.
They didn't have this style in the store so I had to order online. Based on another reviewer who wore the same size as me (normally 40 or 9/9.5) I ordered both the size 9 and size 8.5.
I wasn't sure what to expect since I hadn't seen them in person so when they arrived I was super excited to see how great they looked. Just like the photo - very urban and rugged. The leather was super soft and comfortable.
The size 9 was comfortable width wise but very very long. Even when I wore my thickest Norwegian wool socks there was lots of room in the toes. And when I put on my normal socks they felt like clown shoes.
The size 8.5 fit lengthwise with my thickest socks but were a little tight width wise across the top of my feet. I decided to stick with this size and just wear them around the house to stretch them out. After about a week of wearing them with my thickest socks they had loosened up and now fit perfectly.
After breaking them in I took them with me to rainy UK and snowy Norway. I walked over 40 miles in a few weeks wearing just these boots and can attest that they hold up in the rain and through the snow. Though the tongue is not gusseted so don't be stepping through deep puddles or water will seep through the gap. The grip is also fine on snow and ice. I did notice that sometimes the heels would rub funny depending on how I laced it up. But that could be adjusted to make it go away. Super warm due to the thick soles. Sometimes my feet were the coziest part of me.
-1 star because of the breaking in and sizing issues but otherwise awesome
Note: Due to the Mountain Hardwear Employee discount I only paid half price.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Scotia™ Lace Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great boot so far

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
MoBeaux
Location: New Orleans, LA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I usually like to review footwear products after I've had them a while, but at least I can say that so far I have no major complaints about these boots. I will say that there is some weird extra space around the ankle, but it's not uncomfortable or cause for concern - just don't picture these boots as lacing close to your ankle like army boots or usual lace up boots. The fit is slightly looser. Otherwise, I think they look great with both jeans and leggings/tights and they have comfortable soles. I haven't tested out their waterproof-ability yet but I have no reason to doubt. I ordered half a size down from what I usually get and they are a good fit - I definitely wouldn't have gone down a full size like some people recommended or they would be too small.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Scotia™ Lace Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These boots are awesome!

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
fastskier3
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would make sure that you order one size down. I am a size 11 and I ordered a 10 and they fit spot on, perfectly. Great boot, and looks great.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Scotia™ Lace Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These run BIG but they're awesome.

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Customer avatar
UnicornVindaloo
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wear a 9-9.5 in US, always a 40 in Euro-sized shoes, but in these I heeded the other reviews and bought an 8.5 and they fit pretty perfectly. I probably coulda still taken a 9 and been OK with bigger socks, but they're still great. Super comfortable and I can wear them all day. Great for hiking the wet nature or city. My only complaint is I wish they could lace up tighter as I have skinny legs and ankles, but I have this complaint with a lot of boots so I don't really fault the shoe or Sorel.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Scotia™ Lace Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing boot, fits big.

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
EM30
Location: Redmond, OR
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absolutely love this boot. Looks great with jeans, leggings, and dresses. The color is just what I expected. I love that they are waterproof, perfect for rain and snow. They are comfortable enough to wear all day. The only con is that they run bigger than usual. I normally buy a 9.5, knowing that sorels run big I got a 9 (my normal size in sorel), and its still a little bigger than I would like. They fit ok with thick winter socks so I did not exchange.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Scotia™ Lace Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst fitting boot ever

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Emily18
Location: Ithaca, NY
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've never been so throughly disappointed with a boot. Since no Sorel retailer near me carried this boot, I tried on the Tivoli to get a feel for Sorel sizing, and determined I was a 7.5. However, just to be sure, I also used the size guide from the website, which told me I was an 8.5. I eventually ordered a 7.5, and when it arrived, it was absolutely enormous. I immediately returned it for the 7, which was also way too big. I wear a 7-7.5 for all my shoes, and I could've conceivably sized down to a 6.5 or 6 depending on what socks I was wearing. The ankle part of the boot is also extremely flimsy, creating a lot of awkward space right above the heel. If I could return these, I would in a heartbeat.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Scotia™ Lace Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A little big!!

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Eleanor28
Location: Tahoe City
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This boots are awesome, but a little too big. I didn't exchange them because it's kind a complicated presses, but I'm happy with them. Maybe it's the brand because I have also one pair of snow boots, and they are super big. I'm 8, and the next time I will get 7.5.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.