Customer reviews for Sorel Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot

Sorel Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot

Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall rating:
4.496 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(230 reviews) 230
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 230 reviews
5 Stars
157
4 Stars
48
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
10
1 Star
4
208 out of 223(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Review 1 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best boot I've EVER OWNED

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Customer avatar
cMaxon
Location: Rochester, NY, USA
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
After 2 years of consistent use throughout the fall/winter/spring seasons, these boots are still warm, dry, and look fantastic! I want more colors, as I have camel colored and they are starting to appear slightly worn, rustic. When new, i could dress them up or down, country or city, prefect for my versatile wardrobe! Perfect for walking the dogs on long snowy hikes as well as city business lunches and holiday gatherings! BEST BOOT EVER, people ALWAYS ask me about them EVERY time I wear them out. :)
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Transitional boot

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Mandi
Location: Park City, utah
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are true to size for me. Im usually a 9.5 but got 9. There is plenty of room for x thick socks. These are classic and i can see wearing these with leggins and flannels or jeans and a sweater. I love them!! My first pair of sorels and im so glad i went with the tall ones. Im 5'10 and they are an inch from my knee and look proportional to my long legs. Happy warm stylish!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Glad I bought this boot

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Brightontrail16
Location: Brighton, MI
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I debated a whole year about buying these boots. I read the reviews and went back and forth. I'm glad I finally made the decision to purchase them. Yes, they are a little hard to get on at first, I put them on barefoot for the first couple of times and after that had no problem with socks. I ordered a half size up, thinking that I would want to wear thicker socks with these boots, but they are so warm and comfortable that so far thicker socks aren't needed. They are tall and that took a little getting used to. I've had lots of compliments on them and people ask what kind they are and where I got them, so of course I give Sorel a great recommendation. I love these boots and as much as I hate to admit it, I kind of hope the winter weather sticks around for a while so I can get my use out of them.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid Boot lasted 2 years

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
darlabeee
Location: Marlton, Evesham Township, NJ, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I would buy this boot all over again...very comfortable and extremely stylish (dress up or down). After two years of getting great use, the rubber has started to break down and crack/tear...i wore them to a NY Giants game this past Sunday and noticed the tears... sad but kept my feet warm
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I wish I wish

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
SchulerShoe
Location: Amherst, OH
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
This is THEE Cutest boot ever! I was very displeased with the making of the boot. I have shopped and shopped for a boot that was cute to the eye. This was the ONE for me. However the fitting of the boot was not. The size ran true for me even though people said to buy "up" a size. I am a 7-71/2 and I bought both and they fit ONCE I got my foot in there. I saw it was suggested to wrap a grocery bag around your foot to help with ease of getting boot on. Once I did that I was able to get the boot on. But I am not carrying around grocery bags to get this boot off and on. It was just made poorly in my opinion. I wasn't going to spend $200 + on a boot that wasn't easy to get off and on. I don't know if they will really stretch out or not. The look of the boot is the cutest around, however, it is not practical to wear and it's to expensive not to be practical. I am so bummed that this boot is only for small calfed people..
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this boot, runs small!

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Customer avatar
CBMT
Location: Bozeman, MT, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absolutely love this boot! They are really comfortable and really warm. I have pretty narrow feet and usually wear a size 7-7.5 in Sorel but needed an 8 in these. I live in Montana and during winter good socks are a must- so since they run a little small a half size up was too. I always worry if going up a size in a shoe is going to make my feet look awkwardly large, and that is definitely not the case with these. Because the leather covers half of the top of your foot, these boots make your feet look small.
I would recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Really uncomfortable

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Customer avatar
AliS
Location: Birch Bay, WA, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these a half size larger after reading the reviews that they run a little small. They fit great...but they are incredibly hard to get on and really uncomfortable. I have worn them only 3 times because my feet need a rest after wearing them. My feet and ankles are sore after wearing them for several days.
I am hoping that after time they will stretch and not hurt any longer because I really like them. I am recommending these boots because they are well constructed and seem very durable and I am hoping they will be comfortable sooner than later.
We live in the pacific northwest and it rains a lot. They are perfect for the rain and the little bit of snow we get in the winter.
Here's to hoping I'll be able to wear them more often soon!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing, perfect, fabulous

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Customer avatar
tessie171
Location: Provo, UT, USA
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
These boots are absolutely gorgeous. I did not have the sizing issue that many of the other reviews warned about. I ordered a 7.5 just in case, normally wear a 7, and they were a little spacious in the toe box. It won't be a problem as I will wear thicker socks most of the time with them. I do have larger calves and was a bit worried when I saw that there was no zipper, but I didn't have much of a problem getting them on the first time. I used a grocery bag like suggested earlier and it went on without any problem. It felt slightly tight around the top of my calf but after wearing around for a few minutes it loosened up and felt and looked great! It's been a warm fall here in Utah so I can't wait for it to snow so I can wear these! I am in love!!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just get em.

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Customer avatar
BootWatcherSarah
Location: Crested Butte, CO 81224, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I spent a year oogling over these boots, reading the reviews and trying to decided yay or neigh. I finally bought them when they came out in nutmeg this year. I bought them in my regular size.. although confession - in some brands I can go a half size smaller, but didn't do that here due to all the concerns about fit. I imagined I'd have to try the grocery bag strategy that one of the other reviewers mentioned, but as it turned out, no such misfortune. It took quite a yank the first time, but I was able to get them on and off, and have not had trouble since. I have a slightly high arch, so after a long day of wear (10+hrs), I will notice they are slightly uncomfortable in the arch, but other than that they are a perfect fit. The appearance probably goes without saying. They are beautiful, and I think the nutmeg pairs well with all browns, blacks, and greys you might have in your wardrobe.
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

love these boots, but the rubber cracked

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Jess09
Location: Vail, CO
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I absolutely love these boots! I have 2 pairs of them. I wear these nearly everyday to and from work (I change into ski boots during work). They are warm, stylish, and offer good traction on snow and ice. I get complements on them almost everyday! However after one season of wear, my first pair cracked! Sadly not just one crack, but there are several cracks in the rubber part on both boots! I still wear them but only when I know there won't be any form of precipitation. I'm disappointed in the quality of these. I know sorel makes fantastic boots, as I have several pairs. I hope sorel will improve the quality of the rubber.
I would recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These boots have made quite the splash in NYC

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Customer avatar
PLMNYC
Location: New York, NY, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can't say enough about how much I love these boots!!! They are super comfortable (although I would order them a 1/2 size bigger) and look so great. I wore them constantly last winter during the endless snow storms we got here in NYC and I was stopped most days and asked where I got my boots. You're going to love them!!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfort and style meets functionality

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Customer avatar
BootMama
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
First out of the gate is the issue of sizing. I found them to be quite true to size in terms of length. I have narrow feet and small/average calves and found no issues getting the boots on or off. The foot of the boot is roomy and comfortable. I would normally buy a 7 in boots and bought a 7 this time too. In terms of sizing distinction between this and the SOREL SLIMBOOT, my slimboot pair is a size 6 (obviously they ran large. I would never have thought to buy a 6). So use that comparison when deciding if you perhaps have the slimboot.
These Slimpack Boots are very comfortable, have arch support and they are very cute. I get many compliments on my sorels, no matter what pair I am wearing.
When deciding size, you have to take into account your foot WIDTH too. Those who can't get their foot in must have wide feet and therefore would need to size up. I wouldn't suggest sizing up if you have narrow feet.
Its fall here in MN and my feet get very very warm in these-sometimes too warm. I am certain they will stay nice and cozy for the winter months as well.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Different Sizing Than Other Boots

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Kelsey121
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been admiring these boots for some time and finally decided to splurge. I went to a store that sells Sorels (hard to find) to try on boots for sizing purposes. I tried on this year's Slimboot and the Joan of Arctic Wedge. About 75% of the time, I wear a 9.5. About 25% of the time, I wear a 10. Both boots I tried on wear very spacious in the 9.5. I even tried on and contemplated buying the 9 because of the wide toe-bed! Assuming all Sorel boots would have the same fit (afterall...they're all made by the same company with the same fit standards and the same fit model, right?), I purchased the 9.5. I was very disappointed and sad that they were too small! I had to yank them on and my toes touched the edge! I took every measure possible to ensure I wouldn't have to deal with returns (including driving 20 minutes away to find a Nordstrom's, 3 times because they didn't have ANY Sorel boots in stock the first 2 times). I'm really upset to have to pay shipping on this enormous box to HOPE the 10 will be big enough... But yes, they're cute boots.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unique!

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Customer avatar
KateBlaze
Location: New York
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
I love this boot! Definitely unique in style. Going from the reviews it seemed that I should order up 1/2 size from my regular size 7.5. The 8 was huge in every way. I returned and decided to trust other Sorel boots I have and go with the Euro sizing that I know I am - 38, which was size 7. Whew....perfect fit. I would call the customer service at Sorel and consult with them - they are real people - about their experience with sizing. Also print off the size chart they offer for more guidance. The boot also goes on over my rather full calfs over thick tights - no problem at all.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these boots

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
ResaT
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can't wait to wear these boots with some leggings or skinny jeans. They give you the greatest combination of protection, warmth, and style.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

hard to get on and off

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
stevipro
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love these boots. They look great and ft great. However, they are really hard to get on an off! It is frustrating. Why wouldn't they put an inside zipper on these boots?? If they had a zipper they would be great. I tiny...not even 100lbs and I have to sit down and pull hard to get these off and usually my socks come off with it. Just a bummer for after you have been out slushing around or a guest at someone's house.
I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Kris33
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered these and they were delivered to my door in 2 days! Was so excited to get them but when I tried them on I felt like one of Cinderella's ugly step sisters... too tight and too small! What? I followed the size chart. Luckily and thankfully I read "true" from Missouri's review and put plastic grocery bags on my feet first. Worked like a charm. Beautiful.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great boot but very mis-sized

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Customer avatar
TISL
Location: New York, NY, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I didn't read all 200-something reviews on the Slimpack but it's hard to believe my size 7 foot is different from anyone else's size 7 foot!
Last winter, I ordered the Joan of Arctic in a 6.5 after reading that the boot ran big. It was too small but I also thought it was way too clunky and too much boot for me, so it got returned. I decided to order the Slimpack next in a 7 because it had an urban style with it's leather shaft yet warm and winterproof. The 7 was still too small! Keep count: this is return #2. I spoke to customer service, and was told different styles were sized differently. Because it was the end of the winter, they ran out of sizes, so I had to wait until the summer when Slimpack was restocked.
Fast forward to summer 2014, I order Slimpack in 7.5. STILL too small. Really? I also needed someone to help pull them off me. Return #3. I couldn't believe I had to order a size 8 but I did. They came, and they were still too small. Do these sizes go up by centimeters?? I even tried them on with thin socks and I could see my big toe poking through the rubber front. I called customer service because I really needed guidance and counseling because I truly was tired of going to the post office. At this point, I was determined to own a pair of Slimpack boots. She suggested going to a size 9, especially if I was going to wear thick socks. I was worried they would swim on me around the calf. I did order the 9s, and they fit. Let's not forget Return #4, however. So the 9s stay. I can wear thick socks, I can remove the boots on my own, and they aren't over bulky in the calf area.
Overview: I will love my Slimpacks and use them well in NYC winters. However, I'm hesitant to make another Sorel purchase because I never ever want to return four pairs of footwear again.
I would recommend this product.
+25points
28of 31voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Staple boot for winter

PostedMay 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Brewsky177
Location: Holden, MA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently moved to New England this past year from the South and did not have boots to weather the tough winters here. These boots have worked great during fall, winter, and spring (bought them in early November). My feet stay warm and dry in snow and rain, though I probably wouldn't use these to go hiking in deep snow. They are a little bit difficult to pull off since they are tight around the ankles, but I wear them around my office all day as well as walking in Boston for day trips and they do great. The gray goes with everything; I'd really like to try some of the other colors. I usually wear a 7.5 or 8, so I ordered the 8 to leave room for wearing thick wool socks, and this size was great for thick socks in winter or thinner socks when I'm wearing them more for rainy weather. I get compliments all the time from friend and acquaintances--so they are cute yet functional as well. Highly recommend these boots!
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wore them everyday!

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer avatar
WilmaDilma
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love these boots! Not only are they functional (warm, comfortable, great in snow, slush or rain), but they look great too. (Lots of compliments!) I don't normally spend this much on boots, but they were worth every penny. I ordered my normal shoe size and they were snug as I put them on the first few weeks, but stretched out and slide on more easily now. I wore wool socks most of the time for extra warmth. If you don't plan to wear thick socks, they may feel a bit big after they stretch out around the ankle which allows more movement in the foot bed. My only complaint is that the external stitching near my instep (where the brown leather is sewn to the gray), became looped on both boots and looks unfinished. I was going to send a picture to the company to see what they would do or take it to a shoe repair store near me but didn't want to have to send them back or leave them for repair because I didn't want to be without them even for a day, so the loops remain. Maybe in May I'll be able to part with them long enough to have them repaired. :)
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 Next »