Customer reviews for Sorel Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot

Sorel Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot

Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall rating:
4.507 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(223 reviews) 223
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 223 reviews
5 Stars
153
4 Stars
47
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
9
1 Star
4
202 out of 216(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Review 1 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing, perfect, fabulous

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Customer avatar
tessie171
Location: Provo, UT, USA
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
These boots are absolutely gorgeous. I did not have the sizing issue that many of the other reviews warned about. I ordered a 7.5 just in case, normally wear a 7, and they were a little spacious in the toe box. It won't be a problem as I will wear thicker socks most of the time with them. I do have larger calves and was a bit worried when I saw that there was no zipper, but I didn't have much of a problem getting them on the first time. I used a grocery bag like suggested earlier and it went on without any problem. It felt slightly tight around the top of my calf but after wearing around for a few minutes it loosened up and felt and looked great! It's been a warm fall here in Utah so I can't wait for it to snow so I can wear these! I am in love!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just get em.

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Customer avatar
BootWatcherSarah
Location: Crested Butte, CO 81224, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I spent a year oogling over these boots, reading the reviews and trying to decided yay or neigh. I finally bought them when they came out in nutmeg this year. I bought them in my regular size.. although confession - in some brands I can go a half size smaller, but didn't do that here due to all the concerns about fit. I imagined I'd have to try the grocery bag strategy that one of the other reviewers mentioned, but as it turned out, no such misfortune. It took quite a yank the first time, but I was able to get them on and off, and have not had trouble since. I have a slightly high arch, so after a long day of wear (10+hrs), I will notice they are slightly uncomfortable in the arch, but other than that they are a perfect fit. The appearance probably goes without saying. They are beautiful, and I think the nutmeg pairs well with all browns, blacks, and greys you might have in your wardrobe.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

love these boots, but the rubber cracked

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Jess09
Location: Vail, CO
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I absolutely love these boots! I have 2 pairs of them. I wear these nearly everyday to and from work (I change into ski boots during work). They are warm, stylish, and offer good traction on snow and ice. I get complements on them almost everyday! However after one season of wear, my first pair cracked! Sadly not just one crack, but there are several cracks in the rubber part on both boots! I still wear them but only when I know there won't be any form of precipitation. I'm disappointed in the quality of these. I know sorel makes fantastic boots, as I have several pairs. I hope sorel will improve the quality of the rubber.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These boots have made quite the splash in NYC

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Customer avatar
PLMNYC
Location: New York, NY, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can't say enough about how much I love these boots!!! They are super comfortable (although I would order them a 1/2 size bigger) and look so great. I wore them constantly last winter during the endless snow storms we got here in NYC and I was stopped most days and asked where I got my boots. You're going to love them!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfort and style meets functionality

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Customer avatar
BootMama
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
First out of the gate is the issue of sizing. I found them to be quite true to size in terms of length. I have narrow feet and small/average calves and found no issues getting the boots on or off. The foot of the boot is roomy and comfortable. I would normally buy a 7 in boots and bought a 7 this time too. In terms of sizing distinction between this and the SOREL SLIMBOOT, my slimboot pair is a size 6 (obviously they ran large. I would never have thought to buy a 6). So use that comparison when deciding if you perhaps have the slimboot.
These Slimpack Boots are very comfortable, have arch support and they are very cute. I get many compliments on my sorels, no matter what pair I am wearing.
When deciding size, you have to take into account your foot WIDTH too. Those who can't get their foot in must have wide feet and therefore would need to size up. I wouldn't suggest sizing up if you have narrow feet.
Its fall here in MN and my feet get very very warm in these-sometimes too warm. I am certain they will stay nice and cozy for the winter months as well.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Different Sizing Than Other Boots

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Kelsey121
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been admiring these boots for some time and finally decided to splurge. I went to a store that sells Sorels (hard to find) to try on boots for sizing purposes. I tried on this year's Slimboot and the Joan of Arctic Wedge. About 75% of the time, I wear a 9.5. About 25% of the time, I wear a 10. Both boots I tried on wear very spacious in the 9.5. I even tried on and contemplated buying the 9 because of the wide toe-bed! Assuming all Sorel boots would have the same fit (afterall...they're all made by the same company with the same fit standards and the same fit model, right?), I purchased the 9.5. I was very disappointed and sad that they were too small! I had to yank them on and my toes touched the edge! I took every measure possible to ensure I wouldn't have to deal with returns (including driving 20 minutes away to find a Nordstrom's, 3 times because they didn't have ANY Sorel boots in stock the first 2 times). I'm really upset to have to pay shipping on this enormous box to HOPE the 10 will be big enough... But yes, they're cute boots.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unique!

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Customer avatar
KateBlaze
Location: New York
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
I love this boot! Definitely unique in style. Going from the reviews it seemed that I should order up 1/2 size from my regular size 7.5. The 8 was huge in every way. I returned and decided to trust other Sorel boots I have and go with the Euro sizing that I know I am - 38, which was size 7. Whew....perfect fit. I would call the customer service at Sorel and consult with them - they are real people - about their experience with sizing. Also print off the size chart they offer for more guidance. The boot also goes on over my rather full calfs over thick tights - no problem at all.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these boots

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
ResaT
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can't wait to wear these boots with some leggings or skinny jeans. They give you the greatest combination of protection, warmth, and style.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

hard to get on and off

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
stevipro
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love these boots. They look great and ft great. However, they are really hard to get on an off! It is frustrating. Why wouldn't they put an inside zipper on these boots?? If they had a zipper they would be great. I tiny...not even 100lbs and I have to sit down and pull hard to get these off and usually my socks come off with it. Just a bummer for after you have been out slushing around or a guest at someone's house.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Kris33
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered these and they were delivered to my door in 2 days! Was so excited to get them but when I tried them on I felt like one of Cinderella's ugly step sisters... too tight and too small! What? I followed the size chart. Luckily and thankfully I read "true" from Missouri's review and put plastic grocery bags on my feet first. Worked like a charm. Beautiful.
I would recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great boot but very mis-sized

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Customer avatar
TISL
Location: New York, NY, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I didn't read all 200-something reviews on the Slimpack but it's hard to believe my size 7 foot is different from anyone else's size 7 foot!
Last winter, I ordered the Joan of Arctic in a 6.5 after reading that the boot ran big. It was too small but I also thought it was way too clunky and too much boot for me, so it got returned. I decided to order the Slimpack next in a 7 because it had an urban style with it's leather shaft yet warm and winterproof. The 7 was still too small! Keep count: this is return #2. I spoke to customer service, and was told different styles were sized differently. Because it was the end of the winter, they ran out of sizes, so I had to wait until the summer when Slimpack was restocked.
Fast forward to summer 2014, I order Slimpack in 7.5. STILL too small. Really? I also needed someone to help pull them off me. Return #3. I couldn't believe I had to order a size 8 but I did. They came, and they were still too small. Do these sizes go up by centimeters?? I even tried them on with thin socks and I could see my big toe poking through the rubber front. I called customer service because I really needed guidance and counseling because I truly was tired of going to the post office. At this point, I was determined to own a pair of Slimpack boots. She suggested going to a size 9, especially if I was going to wear thick socks. I was worried they would swim on me around the calf. I did order the 9s, and they fit. Let's not forget Return #4, however. So the 9s stay. I can wear thick socks, I can remove the boots on my own, and they aren't over bulky in the calf area.
Overview: I will love my Slimpacks and use them well in NYC winters. However, I'm hesitant to make another Sorel purchase because I never ever want to return four pairs of footwear again.
I would recommend this product.
+21points
23of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Staple boot for winter

PostedMay 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Brewsky177
Location: Holden, MA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently moved to New England this past year from the South and did not have boots to weather the tough winters here. These boots have worked great during fall, winter, and spring (bought them in early November). My feet stay warm and dry in snow and rain, though I probably wouldn't use these to go hiking in deep snow. They are a little bit difficult to pull off since they are tight around the ankles, but I wear them around my office all day as well as walking in Boston for day trips and they do great. The gray goes with everything; I'd really like to try some of the other colors. I usually wear a 7.5 or 8, so I ordered the 8 to leave room for wearing thick wool socks, and this size was great for thick socks in winter or thinner socks when I'm wearing them more for rainy weather. I get compliments all the time from friend and acquaintances--so they are cute yet functional as well. Highly recommend these boots!
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wore them everyday!

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer avatar
WilmaDilma
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love these boots! Not only are they functional (warm, comfortable, great in snow, slush or rain), but they look great too. (Lots of compliments!) I don't normally spend this much on boots, but they were worth every penny. I ordered my normal shoe size and they were snug as I put them on the first few weeks, but stretched out and slide on more easily now. I wore wool socks most of the time for extra warmth. If you don't plan to wear thick socks, they may feel a bit big after they stretch out around the ankle which allows more movement in the foot bed. My only complaint is that the external stitching near my instep (where the brown leather is sewn to the gray), became looped on both boots and looks unfinished. I was going to send a picture to the company to see what they would do or take it to a shoe repair store near me but didn't want to have to send them back or leave them for repair because I didn't want to be without them even for a day, so the loops remain. Maybe in May I'll be able to part with them long enough to have them repaired. :)
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fab Boots

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer avatar
true
Location: Missouri
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Okay, I read all the reviews and the size IS a true fit. If you are like me and have a high arch they are a little snug to get into. Now, a piece of advice...if you put a plastic grocery bag on your foot (I know odd) with the toe open your foot will slip right in (then you can rip it out). It really works!! Love them and so do all my friends...and strangers when I wear them.
I would recommend this product.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

MY size 11-1/2 - 12'z are too long

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Lilhaus
Location: Lincolnville,Maine
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Small
True to Size
Too Large
I really like the look of these boots but, heres the thing, I have big/long feet & I couldn't get them down the shaft of the boot into the footbed. I am SO bummed. I really liked the looks of these boots!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE them!

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Jedmonds
Location: Chicago
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I didn't think it was possible to love snow boots this much! I had no idea what I was missing out on. I ordered my usual size and they fit a little snug but definitely not too small.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Prepare to get stopped in these boots!

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Belee
Location: Eden, UT
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What can I say... love, love, love these boots! Every time I wear them someone stops me to rave about the boots and ask what brand they are. They are so comfortable, you can wear them all day! I own them in two colors. Do not hesitate, buy them and make your feet and the fashionista in you happy!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

fashionable

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer avatar
MissSara654
Location: Mishawaka, IN
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I wear skirts and needed a taller "winter" boot that would look stylish with skirts and be functionable in the Indiana winters! This has been one of the worst winters and I've regretted every step outside in my UGG boots. These keep my feet dry and warm enough. However I would wear thicker wool socks if I would be out longer. I get compliments everywhere and love them. They are a little tough to get off but nothing any other boot wouldnt be like. They were shipped super fast. I would recommend these and the only reason I didnt give a great 5 star rating is bc I believe the toe part and shaft could be more insulated for the cost. Just my opinion though :)
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Rain Boots

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Customer avatar
IzzyBHuang
Location: Colorado Springs, Co.
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would have given this five stars but these boots don't do well on ice. I had bought them for the sole purpose of using them in Colorado (snow & ice). And while it does keep you feet warm in the snow there is no traction to walk on ice. So if you live in a cold rainy state, these are the boots for you! I think they are more true to size than what most people have reviewed them for. I was afraid it was going to be too small so I ordered a half size up but there was no need for it, even with thick wool socks. But I kept them, they were just too cute to return.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Slimpack Riding™ Tall Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

workout

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer avatar
BootHunting
Location: New Jersey
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The boots were really nice but it was hard to take off. I have large calves. Putting them on was not so bad but taking them off took a little more effort. I can't imagine what it would be like if I actually wore them out and then had to take them off. The boots were nice but not for me. I ordered half a size larger based on the reviews. If it had a zipper halfway down, I think I would have kept them.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 Next »