Customer reviews for Sorel Men’s Caribou™ Boot

Sorel Men’s Caribou™ Boot

Often imitated but never equaled, the original Sorel boot features a nubuck leather upper with waterproof construction, seam-sealing and a removable ThermoPlus™ felt inner boot for warmth, comfort and protection in cold and wet winter weather.
Overall rating:
4.515 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(196 reviews) 196
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 196 reviews
5 Stars
149
4 Stars
29
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
4
1 Star
13
174 out of 191(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Review 1 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great boot, liner annoying.

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
megand73123
Location: eagan, mn
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything about this boot is great- perfect for MN winters. Only complaint is that the liner comes out every time he takes them off. Going it will get better with time.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pectfect!

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Susansopinion
Location: Glen Cove, NY, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
I purchased these boots for my husband. We own a second home upstate NY where we have a small farm. On week ends my husband tends to the live stock. He wore one pair of socks and his feet dry and warm. He loves them. He actually was surprised, I wasn't because I purchased a pair for myself last year. They do run large so purchase one size smaller.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Caribou Boot

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Customonewood
Location: North Branch, MN
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
I purchased this boot for warmth. I Live in Minnesota where temps drop below zero often. This boot does not keep my feet warm for very long, this is a well made boot but...... When walking on the snow it feels like the bottom of the boot is not thick enough, you can feel everything you step on. I Did wear the boots otherwise I would return them.
Get a boot with a way thicker bottom and heal. I'm Still looking for a good warm pair of boots.
Thank you.
I would recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not your dad's Sorel Caribou boots

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Skoda
Location: Glen Gardner, NJ 08826, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Up until this past week I really enjoyed the look and feel of my Sorel boots. This was to be the 4th winter wearing them here in NJ, so usage has been light. Needless to say, they are not going to see winter #4 because the sole detached from the rubber upper on the left boot. So my otherwise near mint condition boots are useless. I had lived in Ottawa, ON in the late 90's and had a pair that I left for a friend living there when I moved back south... wouldn't you know it, he is still wears them to this day.
Obviously I can't return 4 year old boots but they should last much more than 4 years. Is there any way to get these repaired? From what I see online they are good for the garbage. What a shame.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Disappointed

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Customer avatar
SteveO
Location: Craftsbury, VT, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought a pair of these on multiple recommendations. I was very happy with them at first but after only two months I started getting cracks above the sole/below the rubber upper. I took them back to the store I purchased them from and got a replacement pair. That new pair lasted only three months before I got a HUGE split in the rubber. I took those back too and will not buy another pair again.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Last winter boot you'll need

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Nip740
Location: Minneapolis,MN
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I work outside all day in this coldest MN winter and these are hands down the warmest and most comfortable boots I have ever worn. I got a size bigger only cause I climb and do a lot during work. It's not clunky and did I mention very stylish? Last boot I'll need
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect snow boot period

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Customer avatar
snowtrucker
Location: Washington, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect snow boot period!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sorels are classic winter wear for a good reason--

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Customer avatar
geo7
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Still the best Winter boots out there after all these years. I live in Mn--cold winter is the norm-- 20-, 40- I have been wearing Sorels for 40 years-- the new model Sorels are as good as the older ones, and those I wore for decades--Very grateful this co. came back with their boots.
Can't go wrong with them. I buy a size larger than my shoe-- room for two pair of socks- one light, one heavy wool-- warm as can be on the coldest days.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

College Student Approved

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Customer avatar
SorelOle
Location: Northfield, MN, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I attend a school that was ranked the 4th coldest campus in the nation, and these boots do a great job at keeping my feet warm! The only issue that I've come across so far is that they are slightly large, I wear a size 12, but I could have ordered a size 11.5. The slightly larger size might be nice for thick socks and/or shoe inserts, so it might not be so bad after all!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm, Dry, and also Fashionable

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
VASORELMAN
Location: Virginia, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the Buff set circa 1990 and used them for work and pleasure. My set has the Vibram sole and made in Canada. The soles are moderately worn and the rubber base material is beginning to crack in a few areas. I also purchased two extra sets of liners (a must) to permit everyday usage. The liners take longer to dry out than just the unlined boot. I still use them today, but I have had to place some rubberized sealant at the tiny cracks to maintain the waterproof capability.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sorel Caribou

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Yukon
Location: Madison, WI, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
I have owned Sorel Caribou's for over 30 years. They are comfortable and warm. The problem is in the longevity.
My first pair lasted 14 years. My second pair lasted 14 years. 4 years ago I bought my 3rd pair. Lasted 2 years before the rubber started splitting. I bought my 4th pair during the winter of 2012 (Thought I would give it one more shot). They are now starting to split in the rubber also. Two years after purchase. I give up. No more Sorel Caribou's for me. Quality of materials or quality control has failed me.
I do not recommend this product.
+21points
23of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sorel

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
theriver
Location: mn
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My family loves their sorel boots. I've had good boots from fleet farm for construction but my caribou boots are very warm and extremely comfortable. I do snow shoveling and out reaches for several hours in the mn cold and never had a problem yet with cold feet. PTL for these boots.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Toasty

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Cljohnso
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
This boot replaces a pair I have had for over 40 years. They are very warm and keep the feet dry. There is no slipping and sliding with the tread. My only problem is I have a wide foot. I normally wear a size 10 but had to go to 12 just to get my foot in and it is still quite snug. I suspect this will cause the liner to wear out prematurely. Nonetheless, you can not beat Sorel for warmth.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Out of Box review only.....

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Wanttofish
Location: Ny, Ny
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
I ordered these boots by recommendation. Shipping was exactly on time, almost to the minute. Boots look great. I wear a size 12 in just about everything (dress shoe, sneakers, etc). These boots fit slightly larger which is fine with me. It leaves me room for a heavier pair of socks or an insole insert. Boots are a bit heavier than I'm used to but if it keeps my feet dry, thats fine. Now, all I have to do is wait for some snow to try them out.
I would recommend this product.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
USALTC
Location: Fairbanks, AK, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect, perfect, love them
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent purchase

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
gilbilly
Location: Rollinsville, CO 80474, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
after years of using leather hiking boots in the winter such as vasque sundowners and EMS gore tex boots i decided to purchase the caribou last fall and i could not be happier! We had a pretty cold and snowy winter here in the mountains of colorado and these boots got put to the test and passed with flying colors! For starters they are WARM and my feet were never cold in any conditions even at -20 which we had on several mornings this past winter. my feet stayed dry in all but the deepest snows and the boots are thus far showing no signs of wear at all despite fairly regular use last year. I used these boots for walking the dogs, shoveling snow and limited hiking and snowshoeing and was never disappointed. the tread shows no signs of wear, nor do the leather uppers and rubber lowers. they did run a bit big for me and with a thin sock feel too large but with heavier wool socks fit just fine. they are heavy and not sell suited for serious athletic activities but thats not what i bought them for. couldnt be happier with my purchase! highly recommended!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed!

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Mptschida
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Have always had high regards for Sorel boots...until now. I started out loving these boots, but after only a year and a half the rubber has begun cracking at the flex points. Certainly not the same boots I grew up with that seemed to last a lifetime!
I do not recommend this product.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Posted byVermonter
CENTRAL VERMONT
 
Please wait while more information about Vermonter is loaded.
Additional information about Vermonter could not be loaded.
Two Pairs Failed!
onMay 27, 2014
I purchased a pair of Caribou boots in Fall 2010. After one Vermont winter the rubber uppers started to crack and leak at the flex points around the outside "little toe" area.
I concluded this was must be a fluke as I always thought Sorell was high quality so I bought another pair in 2013. I started wearing them in Nov 2013 and by Feb 2014 cracks started to appear in the same area.
So now I have two pairs of Caribous. One completely useless in rain or snow, the other well on the way to a similar fate!
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byMartijn
 
Please wait while more information about Martijn is loaded.
Additional information about Martijn could not be loaded.
Caribou: Rubber is cracking open within 18 months!
onMarch 28, 2014
Very disapointed with the fact my Sorel Caribou boots are now no longer waterproof!
Within only 18 months after purchase the rubber is cracking open...
And if you'd count up the number of days I've actually worn the boots they'd probably not add up to a maximum of more than 40, as I live in the Netherlands with medium winters.
There must have been something wrong during manufacturing as I was told to expect the boots to last me "a lifetime".
How does customer service deal with my problem?
I've worn the boots with great joy, but if this issue is not resolved I am afraid they will be the last pair I'll ever buy.
+3points
3of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 18 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sorel boots are high quality

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
TAS123
Location: Hayti, South Dakota
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these as a replacement for my 20+ year old Sorel boots that finally wore out. There are not very many things of that quality and durablity. The new boots are the same quality, and I expect that they will last 20= years also!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men’s Caribou™ Boot

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer avatar
zman
Location: toledo 'Oh
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable, and warm, a little bit heavy/bulky but can live with as long as they keep me warm and dry (and they do)
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great boots

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
NGM5321
Location: Boston, MA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These boots are comfortable, warm and dry. I've always had Sorel winter boots and have yet to be disappointed.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 Next »