Customer reviews for Sorel Men’s Caribou™ Boot

Sorel Men’s Caribou™ Boot

Often imitated but never equaled, the original Sorel boot features a nubuck leather upper with waterproof construction, seam-sealing and a removable ThermoPlus™ felt inner boot for warmth, comfort and protection in cold and wet winter weather.
Overall rating:
4.267 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(307 reviews) 307
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 307 reviews
5 Stars
215
4 Stars
38
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
13
1 Star
33
252 out of 302(83%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Review 1 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Caribou is a fine name.

PostedFebruary 5, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Swanton, Vermont
I love my boots - I spent November/December 2009 and most of January 2010 in New Orleans, so was a little worried when I arrived at the Burlington, Vermont airport. The first thing my ride said was, "Nice boots," and then we drove north (I live 8 miles from Canada border, 12 miles from New York border). They've been spectacular - I had to spend a lot of time in the snow and ice cleaning my car off for the first time in months, and they were superb. Since my parking lot is not salted, just plowed, I will be spending the next couple of months trekking through there on the ice in my boots. They were "right on time" and I could not be happier.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Toasty Warm Boots

PostedSeptember 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: South Carolina
We had a pretty rough winter, even though we're in the South. These boots kept my "dogs" warm and dry. They are a little clunky, but they aren't "hiking" boots meant for 15 mi force marches. If you are sloggin around in wet and cold, or sitting in a stadium or a deer stand they are perfect!
These boots look great as well.
I highly recommend these boots.
top notch....
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Dad

PostedNovember 10, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Michigan
My dad has been wearing his same pair of these Caribou boots for the past 24 years and still wears them to this day! We live in Michigan and we get a TON of snow. Your entire body can be cold, but when you wear these boots your feet will always stay warm! I defiantly recommend these boots to anyone looking for something that will last and wont lose their effectiveness.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Boot

PostedNovember 11, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Big Bear CA,
I live in Big Bear CA, and work in the cold for my Business, These boots work all day with me and are great for warmth, sure traction and durability! I was checking the site just to find new liners, mine ripped out the back. No complaints because I'm in them all day and they are years old. Keep making great winter boots I'll continue buying them
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

$90 investment

PostedNovember 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: bellingham, wa
Today I was walking through the woods in about 15 degree temperature and 6" of snow when I came to the realization that it was 20 years ago this month that I bought my Caribous. $90 over 20 years, no problems, no issues, only warm toes. If and when I do wear these out, I am buying another pair for sure!!! Thanks for keeping my feet warm and dry Sorel.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Original and the Best!

PostedNovember 26, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Central Washington
My dad got a pair of these back a long time ago, and still wears them to this day. He got my pair about 5 years ago and they still fit the same way when I got them! Keep my foot warm for work and anything in the cold weather. I live in Washington State, where we get pretty cold winter's and people always complain they have cold feet. I tell them to go get a pair of these and they won't be cold no more. All I'm saying is this boot is the best!!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love them

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Fredonia NY
Best money I have spent in years. I had a pair of hand me down Sorels when I was younger that were at least 10 years old when I received them and would hunt in the winter woods all day and my feet would never get cold. At some point I joined the Marines and my parents probably gave them to good will. I bet those same boots are some where out there keeping someone else warm. 15 plus years have past and I am back in the Buffalo New York area. Seems like I am always cold so this year I Got some new caribous in black and they are so nice. I did read as many reviews as I could on various sites including this one about the sizing. I did not want them over-sized and clunky! I always wear a size 12, and ordered an 11 hoping that the reviews were right. One full size smaller than normal fits perfect! That is with a normal sock, if wearing thick wool socks, might be a little tight. Thank you Sorel
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Caribou lasts 24 years

PostedDecember 15, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Minnesota
I'm on this site because I need my second set of replacement liners for my Caribou boots. I bought my boots 24 years ago in college in Colorado. I have shown no mercy on these, walking through fires and the deepest snow and coldest temps. I now live in Minnesota and have been in temps in Canada as low as -60 windchill/-30 actual temp on snowmobiles in February, which is about as cold as it can get ... no problem with these even with the holes in the liners (failed in the heel region). however, I am headed back to the extreme cold for sub-zero camping and want to be sure the liners are in optimal condition. You can also pull the liners out of the boots to use as slippers when indoors, like in a cold cabin. These are the only item I have left from college other than my degree.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Only lasted 2 seasons...

PostedDecember 18, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: MInnesota
During the 2nd season of use they developed tears right at the interface between the thick bottom rubber and the thin upper rubber on both sides of the toe box flex point. Now in my 4th season I have a total of four 2-3" gashes in my not so cheap boots. Not happy. I give it a 2 star rather then a 1 since everything else is perfect, but gashes equal wet feet and wet feet equal grumpy customer.
I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Another failure betwee the sole and upper...

PostedDecember 28, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: N ID
Same as Grumpy.
The left boot "developed tears right at the interface between the thick bottom rubber and the thin upper rubber on both sides of the toe box flex point". These boots are roughly 5 years old and used sparingly...the bottom soles look NEW.
Going to see how Sorel's Customer Service responds. As I don't have the receipt nor recall where I bought them, I'm probably OoL.
TD
I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Have lasted 20 years (really!)

PostedDecember 31, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
My wife and I moved from California to Flagstaff, Arizona - where we get REAL snow during the winter (8 feet during an average winter). One of our first purchases was a pair of Sorel Caribou boots for each of us. We have worn these during daily winter walks with the dog, snow play, snow shoveling, and just plain around town during bad weather. We love them! 20 years later, we are finally ready for replacements. Given the outstanding experience with our first pairs, we are coming back to for more Caribous!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

5 years plus

PostedJanuary 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Calgary AB
I have worn these through Ontario winters and have worn the same pair here in Alberta for the last 2 years- these have survived heavy use for 5 years so far.
It can gets really cold in the Rockies (-30C and below) and these keep my feet nice and warm for hours. The tread is good for poor walking conditions as well. Although these look big and heavy, I can get away with wearing these while snowshoing and trudging up hills as well. I guess I could get away with wearing a lighter boot or shoe but these seem to handle the winter crud pretty well.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Liner insulation

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Minnesota
I've owned my Sorels since 1998 and have used them every winter and they have held up very well. Now that I'm a little older and need more insulation to keep my toes/feet from getting so cold, I need more insulation. Can you tell me what insualtion value the Caribou's had in 1998 and if there are liners available that carry a higer value to increase warmth. I spend several hours each day on the ice during the winters fishing and need some help in this area. Please respond with a favorable solution.
Thanks
I would recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Boots

PostedJanuary 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: massachuetts
My father has owned his pair of boots since 1972 and he loves them. He'll change the liner once in a while due to wear n tear, but he swears by Sorel's. I just bought a new pair of sorel's this and i love them. They keep my feet warm and dry. Every Sunday I watch the Patriots and stand by a fire, and being in New England this time of year it gets a little cold so i have to keep my feet happy
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MY FAVORITE BOOT FOR 25 YEARS! THAT'S RIGHT 25 YRS

PostedJanuary 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
I am ot lying! I have had these boots for 25 years... These are the greatest, well built boots in the world... They are comfortable and lighter than most boots... Your feet will stay toasty all day in the snow... You can even drive with these boots on... I do replace the liners every 4-5 years and I have the original laces still on the boots... My 17 year old son just took these from me today and said "Dad, get another pair for yourself, I'm keeping these!"
I am buying another pair of the same boots for myself in the same exact size of 10.5"... Today... I do have 3 other pairs of high-end boots and they are too heavy and clunky to wear... If you do not buy these boots your a fool!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Boots are tremendous

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Havertown Pa
My last pair lasted 30 years. Yes........30 years. How does this company make money? These boots are the best I've ever owned and they last forever. Great product!!! Worth every dime you spend.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best boots out there

PostedJanuary 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: No Andover Ma
I have had my Sorels for 26 years and the original laces. I am a landscape contractor and wear these constantly all winter long for daily use and snow removal. My wife asked me why I wear those clunky boots all the time and my response was because they are like wearing big fuzzy slippers. That is how comfy these boots are to me. I just ordered my first replacement liners because I realized the other day that there really wasn't anything left of them. I have bought these for my sons also who work for me and they love them.
Thank you Sorel for making such a GREAT product!!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Replacing my Caribous bought in 1975

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Indianapolis
I have to tell you that I have owned a pair of Carabous since 1976 bought in St. Paul. They still look like new and have served me well winter after winter. The only reason that I am replacing them with a new pair is because I feel guilty in how long these originals have lasted. I worry that any company making such a fine product will not be able to stay in business if replacements are only bought every 34 years or so.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Customer Care

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Boston
This is the 3rd season wearing my boots. Noticed small tear in the rubber on side of right boot. Also, noticed that the sole and the boot was starting to seperated alittle bit at the bend of the foot. Went onto the Sorel website to see if there was any suggestions to repairing the boot. Perhaps some glue or apoxy. They asked for pictures, I sent pictures, and next thing you know, Sorel sent me a pair of brand new Caribous. Nice!.. Thats the way to keep loyal Customers. Hopefully this second pair will last 20-30 years as others have experienced.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byProdigalson
Hindu kush mountains
 
Please wait while more information about Prodigalson is loaded.
Additional information about Prodigalson could not be loaded.
I've been waiting for this day!!
onDecember 17, 2012
Growing up in the Rockies I had a pair of Sorel Pac's. After a long absence from the colder climes of the US I find myself in an environment where reliable cold weather apparel is a definite winter must. Once again I turned to Sorel, this time Caribou boots. I ordered my boots back in August (wanting to be prepared well ahead of time). I received them very promptly, even to an APO address! Since I got them in the mail I have been waiting for the weather to hit a point where my "normal" insulated boots didn't quite cut it. Today was that day! They are everything I remember Sorel's to be! I probably could have broken them out a few weeks ago and my feet would have been alot drier at the end of the day. They have excellent traction on the slippery stuff, fit great, very warm, are comfortable and I spend most of my day on my feet. I would buy Sorel again, just like my grandfather and dad did for as long as I can remember!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 20 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lost in flood

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Edmond Oklahoma
The only reason I am replacing my boots is because they were lost in a flood that took everything from my house. I bought my boots back in 1995 and would not be replacing them if it weren't for the flood. Now that I'm a little bit older and re married I will be getting boots for all 5 kids and my wife and I. I guess there is no place in Oklahoma any more to get sorrels? The only bad thing about that is I would like to have everyone try them on for size first. SOREL is there any place in Oklahoma that sells your wonderful boots? By the way it's -28 this morning.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 Next »