Customer reviews for Sorel Men’s Caribou™ Boot

Sorel Men’s Caribou™ Boot

Often imitated but never equaled, the original Sorel boot features a nubuck leather upper with waterproof construction, seam-sealing and a removable ThermoPlus™ felt inner boot for warmth, comfort and protection in cold and wet winter weather.
Overall rating:
4.568 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(183 reviews) 183
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 183 reviews
5 Stars
142
4 Stars
27
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
4
1 Star
10
165 out of 179(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Review 1 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Out of Box review only.....

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Wanttofish
Location: Ny, Ny
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
I ordered these boots by recommendation. Shipping was exactly on time, almost to the minute. Boots look great. I wear a size 12 in just about everything (dress shoe, sneakers, etc). These boots fit slightly larger which is fine with me. It leaves me room for a heavier pair of socks or an insole insert. Boots are a bit heavier than I'm used to but if it keeps my feet dry, thats fine. Now, all I have to do is wait for some snow to try them out.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
USALTC
Location: Fairbanks, AK, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect, perfect, love them
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent purchase

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
gilbilly
Location: Rollinsville, CO 80474, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
after years of using leather hiking boots in the winter such as vasque sundowners and EMS gore tex boots i decided to purchase the caribou last fall and i could not be happier! We had a pretty cold and snowy winter here in the mountains of colorado and these boots got put to the test and passed with flying colors! For starters they are WARM and my feet were never cold in any conditions even at -20 which we had on several mornings this past winter. my feet stayed dry in all but the deepest snows and the boots are thus far showing no signs of wear at all despite fairly regular use last year. I used these boots for walking the dogs, shoveling snow and limited hiking and snowshoeing and was never disappointed. the tread shows no signs of wear, nor do the leather uppers and rubber lowers. they did run a bit big for me and with a thin sock feel too large but with heavier wool socks fit just fine. they are heavy and not sell suited for serious athletic activities but thats not what i bought them for. couldnt be happier with my purchase! highly recommended!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed!

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Mptschida
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Have always had high regards for Sorel boots...until now. I started out loving these boots, but after only a year and a half the rubber has begun cracking at the flex points. Certainly not the same boots I grew up with that seemed to last a lifetime!
I do not recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Posted byVermonter
CENTRAL VERMONT
 
Please wait while more information about Vermonter is loaded.
Additional information about Vermonter could not be loaded.
Two Pairs Failed!
onMay 27, 2014
I purchased a pair of Caribou boots in Fall 2010. After one Vermont winter the rubber uppers started to crack and leak at the flex points around the outside "little toe" area.
I concluded this was must be a fluke as I always thought Sorell was high quality so I bought another pair in 2013. I started wearing them in Nov 2013 and by Feb 2014 cracks started to appear in the same area.
So now I have two pairs of Caribous. One completely useless in rain or snow, the other well on the way to a similar fate!
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byMartijn
 
Please wait while more information about Martijn is loaded.
Additional information about Martijn could not be loaded.
Caribou: Rubber is cracking open within 18 months!
onMarch 28, 2014
Very disapointed with the fact my Sorel Caribou boots are now no longer waterproof!
Within only 18 months after purchase the rubber is cracking open...
And if you'd count up the number of days I've actually worn the boots they'd probably not add up to a maximum of more than 40, as I live in the Netherlands with medium winters.
There must have been something wrong during manufacturing as I was told to expect the boots to last me "a lifetime".
How does customer service deal with my problem?
I've worn the boots with great joy, but if this issue is not resolved I am afraid they will be the last pair I'll ever buy.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 5 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sorel boots are high quality

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
TAS123
Location: Hayti, South Dakota
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these as a replacement for my 20+ year old Sorel boots that finally wore out. There are not very many things of that quality and durablity. The new boots are the same quality, and I expect that they will last 20= years also!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men’s Caribou™ Boot

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer avatar
zman
Location: toledo 'Oh
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable, and warm, a little bit heavy/bulky but can live with as long as they keep me warm and dry (and they do)
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great boots

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
NGM5321
Location: Boston, MA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These boots are comfortable, warm and dry. I've always had Sorel winter boots and have yet to be disappointed.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You want these boots for the very cold.

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
RedLodge1
Location: Red Lodge MT
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These boots laugh at the cold.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Toasty

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
kseg
Location: Michigan
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boots fit slightly large but not enough to send back. Very warm and comfortable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

boot purchase

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer avatar
woolwiner
Location: California
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ordered from a live person, very polite. sent confirmation . able to track the boots every day. Received them in 6 days. they had said 7-10. Fantastic service.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Total Quality

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
phineas
Location: northeast
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these boots in 1980, I've been using them ever since. 34 years. The laces are about to give out and 20 years ago my dog chewed one of the snow frills part way off (thankfully he missed the leather), but they're still as warm and dry as they were when i bought them all those years ago. They have the original wool felt inserts too. I can't think of a product that's stood the test of time better than these Sorels. They get my highest recommendation.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best money I've spent in a while. Truly the gift that keeps on giving.

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
SeaJaye
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Living where I do, & being without a pair of good boots was not working for me. Being that I am from warmer climates, these Caribou's are the first snow/Ice/slush, overall cold climate boots I have ever owned. I tried on the Caribou's first, then went and tried about 5 or 6 other brands (competitors), and I only have the Sorel's because at least for me the Sorel's beat out the rest. However, the first pair I bought ended up being too big. Because of the sleeve, they felt fine at first. After about a 2 weeks, the boots began to split at the sides of the toes on both boots. So, back to the store I went. Turns out, I needed a size smaller. Which is a size smaller than I've worn since I was 14. The correct size for me made quite a difference. Comfortable before, now they are even more comfortable, even after two winters! No cracking whatsoever. And they have so far kept my feet both warm & dry in a variety of conditions & temperatures. I purposely waited to write a review. Had to actually use them a while first to be able to give my informed and honest opinion. Best money I've spent in years! Thank you to those @ Sorel for a Quality Product.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good traction and warmth

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
jack7
Location: chicago
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this boot has good traction and warmth. had to cut the liner due to difficulty getting boot off as my instep made it difficult to get out of the inner liner, if the band was perhaps elastic might not have needed to do this. but with the cut can easily get the boot both on and off.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New Caribou's

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
vonoil
Location: Zeigler, Il
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recived my caribou's just in time for snow and cold, have worn them eveyday. They keep my feet very warm and the best cold weather boots I have owned to date.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sorel Boots

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Harlee
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband purchased a pair of Sorel booths for me, similar to the Men's Caribou Boot. I was so pleased with them. They are the most comfortable boots I have ever worn! When I saw that my grown son needed a new pair of boots, I purchased the Caribou Boots for him. He protested at first that he didn't need boots, but now that he has them, he loves them. They are true to size, comfortable, warm and easy to slip on. Great purchase.
Sold on Sorel's
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

no more freezing toes

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Klaus39
Location: Staten Island NY
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Walking daily (and nightly) for hours in severe East coast winter weather with my Karelian Bear Dog I almost froze my toes several times. Got my boots 4 days ago. Sheer bliss!!!
Toasty warm feet no matter how long I walk. Quality of the boots outstanding. Ordered one size bigger than my regular size (12) which was for me the right choice.
It pays to buy the best!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sub zero boot

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Yuker
Location: Wisconsin
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had a pair of sorel boots growing up in Minnesota. Lots of great memories in the snow with sorel boots. Bought a pair of caribou boots this year. Best boot for sub zero weather. Spent 3 days out in sub zero weather last weekend riding snowmobile, sledding, building snow fort and hanging out in the snow. Never once a cold toe. Great boots.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Mikemike
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had seen coworkers with the boot and decided to give them a try. While I've only worn them twice. Once during a snow storm, they kept my feet nice and warm. We're expecting more snow this weekend so I'll be able to give them a more thorough workout.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very warm and comfortable

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Baxter12
Location: Rangeley, Maine
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the warmest boot by far. Wearing them for snow shoeing,
standing on the ice scoring pond hockey and chasing the snowblower,
my feet stay warm in the coldest temperatures.
The only fault is when taking them off, the liner comes out with your
foot and your sock stays in the liner.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Snow Boots

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
TomL
Location: Lancaster, PA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased the boots recently and used them during TWO recent snow storms. Very happy with the boots.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 Next »