Customer reviews for Sorel Men’s Caribou™ Boot

Sorel Men’s Caribou™ Boot

Often imitated but never equaled, the original Sorel boot features a nubuck leather upper with waterproof construction, seam-sealing and a removable ThermoPlus™ felt inner boot for warmth, comfort and protection in cold and wet winter weather.
Overall rating:
4.284 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(303 reviews) 303
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 303 reviews
5 Stars
213
4 Stars
38
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
13
1 Star
31
250 out of 298(84%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Review 1 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Toasty Warm Boots

PostedSeptember 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: South Carolina
We had a pretty rough winter, even though we're in the South. These boots kept my "dogs" warm and dry. They are a little clunky, but they aren't "hiking" boots meant for 15 mi force marches. If you are sloggin around in wet and cold, or sitting in a stadium or a deer stand they are perfect!
These boots look great as well.
I highly recommend these boots.
top notch....
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Original and the Best!

PostedNovember 26, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Central Washington
My dad got a pair of these back a long time ago, and still wears them to this day. He got my pair about 5 years ago and they still fit the same way when I got them! Keep my foot warm for work and anything in the cold weather. I live in Washington State, where we get pretty cold winter's and people always complain they have cold feet. I tell them to go get a pair of these and they won't be cold no more. All I'm saying is this boot is the best!!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love them

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Fredonia NY
Best money I have spent in years. I had a pair of hand me down Sorels when I was younger that were at least 10 years old when I received them and would hunt in the winter woods all day and my feet would never get cold. At some point I joined the Marines and my parents probably gave them to good will. I bet those same boots are some where out there keeping someone else warm. 15 plus years have past and I am back in the Buffalo New York area. Seems like I am always cold so this year I Got some new caribous in black and they are so nice. I did read as many reviews as I could on various sites including this one about the sizing. I did not want them over-sized and clunky! I always wear a size 12, and ordered an 11 hoping that the reviews were right. One full size smaller than normal fits perfect! That is with a normal sock, if wearing thick wool socks, might be a little tight. Thank you Sorel
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Another failure betwee the sole and upper...

PostedDecember 28, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: N ID
Same as Grumpy.
The left boot "developed tears right at the interface between the thick bottom rubber and the thin upper rubber on both sides of the toe box flex point". These boots are roughly 5 years old and used sparingly...the bottom soles look NEW.
Going to see how Sorel's Customer Service responds. As I don't have the receipt nor recall where I bought them, I'm probably OoL.
TD
I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Have lasted 20 years (really!)

PostedDecember 31, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
My wife and I moved from California to Flagstaff, Arizona - where we get REAL snow during the winter (8 feet during an average winter). One of our first purchases was a pair of Sorel Caribou boots for each of us. We have worn these during daily winter walks with the dog, snow play, snow shoveling, and just plain around town during bad weather. We love them! 20 years later, we are finally ready for replacements. Given the outstanding experience with our first pairs, we are coming back to for more Caribous!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MY FAVORITE BOOT FOR 25 YEARS! THAT'S RIGHT 25 YRS

PostedJanuary 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
I am ot lying! I have had these boots for 25 years... These are the greatest, well built boots in the world... They are comfortable and lighter than most boots... Your feet will stay toasty all day in the snow... You can even drive with these boots on... I do replace the liners every 4-5 years and I have the original laces still on the boots... My 17 year old son just took these from me today and said "Dad, get another pair for yourself, I'm keeping these!"
I am buying another pair of the same boots for myself in the same exact size of 10.5"... Today... I do have 3 other pairs of high-end boots and they are too heavy and clunky to wear... If you do not buy these boots your a fool!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Customer Care

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Boston
This is the 3rd season wearing my boots. Noticed small tear in the rubber on side of right boot. Also, noticed that the sole and the boot was starting to seperated alittle bit at the bend of the foot. Went onto the Sorel website to see if there was any suggestions to repairing the boot. Perhaps some glue or apoxy. They asked for pictures, I sent pictures, and next thing you know, Sorel sent me a pair of brand new Caribous. Nice!.. Thats the way to keep loyal Customers. Hopefully this second pair will last 20-30 years as others have experienced.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byProdigalson
Hindu kush mountains
 
Please wait while more information about Prodigalson is loaded.
Additional information about Prodigalson could not be loaded.
I've been waiting for this day!!
onDecember 17, 2012
Growing up in the Rockies I had a pair of Sorel Pac's. After a long absence from the colder climes of the US I find myself in an environment where reliable cold weather apparel is a definite winter must. Once again I turned to Sorel, this time Caribou boots. I ordered my boots back in August (wanting to be prepared well ahead of time). I received them very promptly, even to an APO address! Since I got them in the mail I have been waiting for the weather to hit a point where my "normal" insulated boots didn't quite cut it. Today was that day! They are everything I remember Sorel's to be! I probably could have broken them out a few weeks ago and my feet would have been alot drier at the end of the day. They have excellent traction on the slippery stuff, fit great, very warm, are comfortable and I spend most of my day on my feet. I would buy Sorel again, just like my grandfather and dad did for as long as I can remember!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 8 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best winter boots hands down (or feet)

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Buffalo, New York, USA
I purchased my Caribou's back in 1981, I just took them off my feet... again, after having spent hours in the cold. When I bought these, the salesperson told me they were "the rage" in Aspen, well, I don't really care about Aspen, I live in Buffalo New York, where it's essential to have warm winter boots. I believe I've replaced the laces once or twice, but other than that they have been unbelievably durable. They are warm, dry and durable beyond anything I believe I've ever owned. I've no doubt it's the best money I have ever spent. You won't want to run a marathon in these, but for comfort and durability in the winter, you can beat them.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Comfortable !!!

PostedApril 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
I bought these for a recent trip to Aspen. There is no better feeling to take your heavy ski boots off after a long day of skiing and put on these Sorel boots. Super comfortable and really well made.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sorel boots

PostedApril 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: michigan
I bought these for my boyfriend and he loves them, they are very comfortable and warm, here in Michigan when we walk are dogs.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best boots i ve ever owned

PostedApril 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: kenton , ohio
i bought my first pair in 1988 in ontario canada while working there on a tire fire , i have put this same pair of boots to the test every winter since and nothing i have ever took them through can seem to wear them down < still comfortable and warm , have a little dry rott going on after 23 years but who cares its time to pay my respects to sorel and buy a new pair anyway , anyone who makes a product that holds up this well and over two decades deserves there props and some well deserved repeat buiness
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Snow Wheelin

PostedMay 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Sacramento, Ca
My buddy and I were planning on taking our off-road trucks to play in the snow. he recommended I get some Sorel's. I had talked with one of your customer service representatives and he was very helpful. I ordered the Carabou's in black. They arrived in time for my trip and fit excellent. They are number wise, a smaller size due to my friend telling me they run big, so I took the chance in ordering a smaller size. I was able to drive my 87 Toyota 4runner with ease and the 12 hours we were in and out of the hip deep show, my feet never got wet or cold. I love your boots, and will never have to have cold, wet feet again. Thank you for a great product, at a very reasonable price , awesome promt shipping and excellent customer service.. I will definitly buy a pair for my wife and recommend them to anyone who is looking for boots..
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great boot

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: raymore, mo
got my boots fast---fit great----
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great boots

PostedNovember 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Caribou, Maine
These boots are great. They fit better then the L.L. Bean boots.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Need more snow!

PostedNovember 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Denver, CO
Throughout my childhood I always owned a pair of Sorels until I loaned them to my brother and never got them back. Perhaps my memory is a little "iffy" on this, but I believe these are better constructed than the Sorels I had in the 70's and 80's. They are just as comfortable, just as warm as I recall, but they feel more durable to me. I'm in Denver and have been too busy to find myself in the mountains to really get more use out of them. The snow we had right after I received them was a good barometer of how warm they are. I am sure I'll have these for years to come.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally Got New Caribous!

PostedNovember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Carson City, NV
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Customer Service Was superb. The product is fantastic. just like my old friends, purchased in 1984. New color and as wonderful as the old guys. I'm keeping the old guys for really nasty days in the mud and slush.
the fit is great and I am a happy customer.
THANKS!
Occasions: Active, Work, Casual
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

amazing, but huge

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: mountain
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Large
True to Size
Too Large
bought a pair last winter and they are fantabulouse...
HOWEVER:
Once they broke in (few light hikes, chores etc) they became absolutely without a doubt WAY WAY to big and loose. I wear a size 10 in EVERY other shoe brand, had to buy size 8 in the Caribou (Euro sz 41, which is what i wear) and they still became floppy-big after a few winter jaunts.
Great product just beware of fit issues....
Occasions: Active, Highly Versatile, Casual
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great boot for the snow and cold

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Denver, CO
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
I bought these boots for walking my dogs around the park on cold snowy days and they have not disappointed me. I wore them while walking my dogs through foot deep snow in sub-zero temperatures and my feet stayed warm and dry.
Occasions: Active
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best for the Snow!

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Portland
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
These are the best for the snow. Never worry about feet being too cold or getting wet. These are the first boots my wife has owned that she comments keep her feet warm in the snow.
Occasions: Active, Highly Versatile, Casual
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Caribou™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good through retirement...

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: ice cold Minnesota
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Strictly speaking, I bought these for my husband so I don't really know how they feel, but he loves them. He says they're probably not good if you were intending to walk 10 miles, but for hunting, fishing and working outdoors in a MN winter they're excellent. His feet stay warmer than they ever have in any boot he's ever owned and that includes combat issued cold-weather Army boots! We know Sorels well being Minnesotans and these are probably going to last until our now 4 yr old son has graduated college or longer. When you buy Sorel you know it's a long-term investment and worth every dime. Great buy!
Occasions: Work, Highly Versatile, Other, Casual
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 Next »