Customer reviews for Sorel Men's Conquest™ Boot

Sorel Men's Conquest™ Boot

Rugged and durable, this waterproof boot features seam-sealing, a built-in gaiter, a molded EVA comfort footbed, a multi-direction rubber lug sole and 400 grams of Thinsulate™ Ultra insulation to ensure that feet stay secure, warm, dry and protected during demanding activities in extremely cold winter weather.
Overall rating:
3.829 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(82 reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 82 reviews
5 Stars
51
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
8
1 Star
15
56 out of 81(69%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Review 1 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Rear of boot came apart

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
PaulB
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
User submitted photo
I had these boots for ~6-7 years, wore them when there is snow in tahoe on the weekends. The soles were still perfect, but the leather separated from the rubber in back where it was stitched. It looks like the rubber was a little thin at this point and ripped.
Much to my surprise, Sorel offered to replace the boots with ones of my choice, even though the 1 year warranty is up. I'll probably pick another model since the Conquest has had it's share of issues and received the lowest rating.
Too bad. Loved the boots. Very warm, comfortable and rugged.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent deep snow & very low temps

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
SJD10
Location: Vermont, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
I've owned a pair of Conquest boots for 5-6 yrs. They're used working on a mtn property in central Vermont, snowshoeing, and deer hunting from stands in near zero temps. They have never failed me. The slightly large size allows an extra thick pair of socks if needed, but has never caused chafing or boot movement even on steep sideways traverses. No hardware failures despite hard treatment, gaiter keeps out knee-deep snow & back tab holds snowshoes straps tightly. Never had a hint of water in the boots, but I oil them as needed. I wouldn't go dancing in them.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Met all my needs

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
SpinningWaldo
Location: Boise, Idaho, ID
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This boot is ridiculously warm! I play in the snow alot and decided to battle test these bad mothers to the max. Snowmobile camping, igloo constructing, and snowshoeing. These boots have the durability and warmth to get a 5 star on all of my tests. Great product!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mongolia. UB

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
daag
Location: Mongolia UB
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:Yes
  • Employee
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good boots. Like
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Conquest

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Customer avatar
bullnav
Location: Michigan, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned a pair of these for 14 years and they are an outstanding pair of boots. Over some pretty harsh Michigan winters, these boots have exceeded my expectations for a winter boot. Every time I think I want a new pair of boots, I just take a look at these ones and realize that they are everything I want is a winter boot. Warm, water resistant, good traction in snow. They are great. If they ever wear out, I will get another pair
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Conquest Boots

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
barndog
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
i had two pair of these boots and the same thing happened to both. the rubber rotted. just a little over a year. great boots though comfortable warm ,style is great but the rubber sucks. you would think they would have changed the rubber by now but its been almost five years for me and i bet they made the ones they have now the same way. i will buy another pair only if i know they fixed the rubber problem. i read other people have the same problem also. do i recommend this product. not right now until the rubber problem is fix.
I do not recommend this product.
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great looking, but poor construction

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
drumzz4u
Location: Boston, MA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I used the boots during the winter so my feet could stay dry. I have horses and I wanted a waterproof / water resistant boot that would keep my feet warm and dry in the mix of snow, mud and water that puddles in our pasture. After the first winter, they started to leak and eventually, the boot pulled apart at the rubber lining near the tread and the leather. These boots are all show and no go if you are wearing them a lot. I think the below freezing weather might have something to do with the boots staying together as the rubber eventually dries up and cracks even with proper treatment of mink oil and whatnot.
I do not recommend this product.
+25points
25of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Winter Boot

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Archie1066
Location: Northwest Corner, CT
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had these boots for 5 years. Much of my work is outside and have worn them virtually everyday throughout the winter for all these years, they are the best winter boots I've owned. I live in a cold place so I need a warm boot. They have the best traction of any boot I've found on the market. My feet stay warm on the coldest of days/nights.
Now after 5 years the rubber bottom is tearing from the leather upper where they are sewn together....they are still dry and warm. I am buying another pair.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byDirk
 
Please wait while more information about Dirk is loaded.
Additional information about Dirk could not be loaded.
A Conquest in need of Correction
onDecember 4, 2014
I have some of the original Conquest boots purchased at Sierra Trading Post.
Rubber soles separate from intermediate rubber upper, leading to moisture entering inside. Feet get cold.
Conquest concept is great, execution needs work if the older boots are any indication. Also, soles look rugged, but
wear down at an alarming rate.
Very comfortable walking winter boot.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Conquest Boot

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Tahooey
Location: New Jersey
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I used the boots only in the winter when it snowed, maybe 5 times a year. I was very surprised to see when the upper part of the boot started to crack and detach from the lower part. I sent an email and I am waiting for a reply. Hopefully I'll get a good result and they will replace them.
I will post again when I get an answer.
I do not recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bydrumzz4u
Boston, MA
 
Please wait while more information about drumzz4u is loaded.
Additional information about drumzz4u could not be loaded.
Great looking, but poor construction
onFebruary 15, 2014
I used the boots during the winter so my feet could stay dry. I have horses and I wanted a waterproof / water resistant boot that would keep my feet warm and dry in the mix of snow, mud and water that puddles in our pasture. After the first winter, they started to leak and eventually, the boot pulled apart at the rubber lining near the tread and the leather. These boots are all show and no go if you are wearing them a lot. I think the below freezing weather might have something to do with the boots staying together as the rubber eventually dries up and cracks even with proper treatment of mink oil and whatnot. These are more like $70 boots at best.
Images for this Comment
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Falling apart after just a few years of very light use

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Mansize
Location: Elkhart, IN
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
As you have likely read in all of the other reviews about this product disintegrating, I have had the exact same experience. I bought these a few years ago and have only worn them 20 to 25 times (the soles and leather uppers are still in nearly new conditions. The issue in the rubber that secures the soles to the leather uppers, it cracked from front to back.
I was thrilled when I first bought he boot to have the "Sorel" quality, now I am amazed it how shoddy the materials are in their products. I have owned several pair of boots in my life some of which I am still using after more than 20 years.
At the end of the day I will make my decision on this company based on how they deal with me about this flaw in their product line.
I do not recommend this product.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byTahooey
New Jersey
 
Please wait while more information about Tahooey is loaded.
Additional information about Tahooey could not be loaded.
Conquest
onFebruary 6, 2014
I had the same problem with my Conquest Boot. Only worn when it snowed so very little use. I sent an email to Sorel and I am waiting for an answer.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 11 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Boots fell apart

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Alan57
Location: Lititz, PA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I had my Sorel Conquest boots a long time 12 years, but did not use them much. They otherwise look like new, but the rubber attached to the leather broke from age. This is not what I expected from a Sorel boot. Sorel says that they only support a one year warranty. Obviously I expected them to last longer. The rubber sole is good, but the rubber connecting the sole to the leather is cracking and losing chunks. These boots were not stored in harsh conditions. My wife's boots purchased at the same time look good and we expect that they will last for many more years.
I do not recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poorly Constructed Boot

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Jeff6364
Location: Greenwood, Indiana
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had these boots for several years with very light use; I only have worn them to shovel snow, probably 20 times. The upper brown part has entirely separated at teh seam from the lower black rubber piece, which allows the insulation to come out. Generally the boots are ruined. I have a pair of cheap Bass snow boots that I wear to work all day exclusively when it snows that I bought in the spring after I bought the Sorrel boots (they were are a clearance sale. The Bass boots were worn for exactly the same number of days, for a lot longer time each day, and still look in almost new condition. The $20 Bass boot (what I paid) is a lot better boot than the $120 Sorel boot, by far!
I do not recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Rubber Toe Cup Disintegration Problem

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer avatar
RGreenstein
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've been an avid SOREL customer for a great many years, having owned several pairs of the Caribou boot. The same goes for other members of my family and friends. I had never had any problems with a SOREL product -- until recently.
Several seasons ago, I "upgraded" to the Conquest boots. They are now disintegrating! Mere fingertip pressure reveals deep cracks in the rubber toe cup area extending down through to the clean while liner! These Conquest boots have been worn very little and stored clean indoors. They still look brand new and are free of any trauma.
The defective Conquest boots are now on their way to SOREL for evaluation. As this problem is also similarly depicted in several other reviews, I expect SOREL to respect their customers and replace the inherently defective product. With minimal use there is simply no reason for this sort of a defect.
As soon as SOREL replaces the product, I'll be eager to promptly supplement this review with a positive recommendation and provide a glowing FIVE STAR rating hailing SOREL's Customer Service decision to stand behind the quality of their product! Should SOREL fail to do so, this review shall stand on it's own.
SOREL Customer Service has advised that it may take 6-8 weeks due to the busy winter season. Stay tuned for updates....
I do not recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byRGreenstein
Woodland Hills, CA
 
Please wait while more information about RGreenstein is loaded.
Additional information about RGreenstein could not be loaded.
Outstanding SOREL Customer Service!!
onJanuary 29, 2014
Sorel's Customer Service is Terrific! Only seven (7) days after my defective Conquest boots arrived at SOREL via UPS, yesterday I received an e-mail advising that the Warranty had been honored!
I phoned and spoke with one of SOREL's excellent Customer Service Representatives: Dave. He was very straightforward and forthcoming. They are aware of the rubber fabrication problem and it has been resolved! They are honoring the Warranty - even though the product was older than the traditional warranty period! Replacement inventory is, unfortunately, no longer available in my prefered size nor color this season. SOREL offered to replace the unit when new production arrives, or, substitute a different model at no cost as I may prefer!
I was reassured that the faulty fabrication problem has been remedied and is no longer an issue with this year's production run nor the forthcoming production.
Additionally, as SOREL was acquired several years ago by Columbia Sportswear, I inquired with Dave about my Columbia Titanium Interchange Fleece Jacket which has suffered a broken main Zipper pull. Dave encouraged me to send in my Columbia Titanium Fleece Jacket for Zipper repair evaluation under the Limited Lifetime Warranty.
I hail SOREL (Columbia) for their handling of this matter, and can enthusiastically recommend SOREL and Columbia products! I look forward to receiving the replacement Conquest boots under warranty once they're back in stock.... I also remain optimistic that my Columbia Titanium Interchange Fleece Jacket will be handled with similarly prompt and effective Customer Service.
Dave also facilitated all the above by providing a follow-up e-mail to my conversation with links to all the above.
I'm delighted to remain an avid SOREL and Columbia customer!!
 
Products related to my comment
 
+4points
4of 4voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Zero Durability - Cracking Rubber & Leaking

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
PJF141
Location: Michigan
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Had these boots for a few years and with very light use and good care, the rubber has cracked and the boots leak.
Thought Sorel was a quality brand and did not mind the extra cost but these boots are now garbage. I have an old pair of no name KMart $15 boots that have out lasted these Sorels.
At this point I would not recommend Sorel products.
I do not recommend this product.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dissapointed

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
BlakeP
Location: New Hampshire
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I purchased my first pair of Sorels (Mens Conquest). I have to say they have not held up. My last pair of boots were with me for 12 years and I wore out the soles. After being tired of having wet feet, I went to the store, these boots caight my eye and had visions of warm happy feet.
I have worn these boots about 25 times only when it snows or while doing snow removal. We have had three storms storms this year and my feel have been cold and damp. I can't understand this?
Well yesterday we just got dumped on again and the temps are sub zero my feet are freezing. I looked down and I can see water water dripping out where the sole attaches to the boot not the leather..
I have bragged about this boot now I am embarrassed and really can't afford to dish out another $180.00 for another pair of boots right now. I really thought they would last much longer. I called customer service and the nice woman told me they were flexible but would not garantee anything. Now if I send them back out of waranty I'm still without. I thought i would just go buy some type of sllicone product to temporarily fix the Boot. Hopefully they will hold up throuhght the rest of the winter. We are inb the begging of Jan?
They fit perfect by the way and are the most comfortable shoes/ boots I own.
I do not recommend this product.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

College son loves these!

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
3boysMom
Location: Washington
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ordered these as a gift for my college son...and he loves them! Sorel is an excellent brand that lasts so knew it would be worth the money if he was happy and he is!
I would recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sizing...

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Ronzoni
Location: San Francisco, CA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality is there...after all...they are Sorel's.
They run smaller than the rest of the lines sizing...everyone always says they leave room for thick socks in their sizing, but these don't have that extra room like the other models I tried in an 11.5
Additionally, I order them in Black and got a pair in some kind of Grey...?
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cracking at Stichting

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Trent
Location: Maine
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
These boots have seen very light use over the past two winters. They were always stored in a closet between seasons and only used on days when it was either snowing or the snow had not been cleaned up from a previous storm
The Conquest boot has not held up well. The metal cleat near at the center of the laces near the toe has torn out. That I could have lived with but this year the boots began to crack and separate where the leather meets the rubber (See Pictures). AS you can see from they tread they have very little wear. Based on some of the other reviews this seems like a common problem with this boot. Once they start to crack snow becomes lodged in behind the rubber and it is only a matter of time before your feet are soaking wet and cold.
I would not recommend this boot.
I do not recommend this product.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Winter Boot

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Sonora2010
Location: Sonora, California
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a pair of Badgers in the early 80's. They have been to Canada and Europe and countless trips to Lake Tahoe. I still have them and they are in great shape.
I didn't need another pair of boots but the design of the Conquest with the gator and the fishing I'm doing convinced me to buy them.
Only wish is that I ordered a smaller size. Great boot, for those of you who are going to order I recommend that you order a 1/2 size smaller than your normal size.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rugged Comfortable and Warm

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
r1johnston
Location: Middleburg, VA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for the warmest boots that would be worn in harsh environments - not because I was going to the coldest corners of the arctic, but because I wanted a great boot that could easily hold up on a cold, wet, muddy, snowy horse farm in the Mid-Atlantic. The treadwear is great, very deep and secure in deep mud or snow. The boots are stiff but provide great ankle support. The boot is too bulky for riding but perfect for all day work on the ground. I will likely never use these boots in the climate they were designed for, but it is good to know they are more than capable of handling it.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 Next »