Customer reviews for Sorel Men's Conquest™ Boot

Sorel Men's Conquest™ Boot

Rugged and durable, this waterproof boot features seam-sealing, a built-in gaiter, a molded EVA comfort footbed, a multi-direction rubber lug sole and 400 grams of Thinsulate™ Ultra insulation to ensure that feet stay secure, warm, dry and protected during demanding activities in extremely cold winter weather.
Overall rating:
3.633 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(90 reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 90 reviews
5 Stars
52
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
9
1 Star
21
57 out of 89(64%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Review 1 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Upper Seperated from sole with litte use

PostedMarch 6, 2015
Customer avatar
Douglas
Location: Indiana, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
I bought these in February 2014 to have a pair of boots on hand for cold and snow. Took them out of the box this winter and on the second wear the upper separated from the sole on one of them from the instep all the way around the heel to the other instep. No warranty, so these boots have proved worthless.
I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fell apart at the seams

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Customer avatar
BklynJuls
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
First let me say that I absolutely LOVE Sorels! I just have an issue with one of my fave pairs, in the Conquest series. While traversing through NYC a typical commute, running up and down stairs, from platform to platform, I notice my boots were beginning to fall apart in the heel area near the molding and upper leather seams. I didn't think I was going to make it home without the sole completely tearing apart from the rest of the boot. I was mortified as I sat on the train trying to conceal my predicament and how I would tie bags around my boots should they completely come apart!
Anyway, it seems as though the rubber degraded in such a way that that tore apart from the upper seam. The rest of the boot, as you can see from the photos - soles, leather and fabric upper, and gaiters are in otherwise great condition, as I am quite meticulous in taking care of my footwear. I've only worn them during the worst of winter conditions, maybe 3 dozen times, as I feel these boots were made to endure such. I am heartbroken over this since these were one of three favorite pairs Sorels. Please reply if you have rectified the issue as I have read other reviews stating the same problem.
I am strongly considering replacing these for the same model BUT only if I don't have to worry about them falling apart whilst traipsing through the brutal streets of NYC.
Thank you in advance for your time and consideration in this matter.
With regards,
BklynJuls
I do not recommend this product.
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these boots

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Customer avatar
Kaya11
Location: Boston Massachusetts
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Very warm ,not too big or Galompy. I love these boots .just got them and they seem very well made. I wear them when we walk our dog through the snow.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Conquest

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Customer avatar
VeryAngry
Location: Illinois, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Do not buy this boot! Do not buy the special spray to make them last longer! Do yourself a favor and buy cheap boots and just replace them more often.
*Very Disappointed!*
I do not recommend this product.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is the worse!

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Customer avatar
MJ2302
Location: Dudley, MA, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Barely wore these boots and they literally fell apart on my feet. The whole rubber separated from the leather and the soles.
I do not recommend this product.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Seams are Weak or Poorly Placed

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer avatar
subarcticjoan
Location: Upper Peninsula of Michigan
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
i've now had to send back two pairs of these boots. within two months of receiving each pair, the stitched seam between the rubber lower and leather upper split. which bodes poorly for me, since i am outdoors and busy much of the winter in a northern climate and really require sturdy boots that keep snow and water out. these no longer do after that split. it seems the plastic lip that they stitch onto doesn't extend far enough or isn't thick enough.
i also had a lace holder (those little metal triangle rings) pop off one for no reason, and the lining along the back of the heel degrade incredibly fast, despite NEVER sliding my foot into the boots carelessly.
aside from those problems, these are beautiful boots that do keep my feet reasonably warm in extreme cold. i wouldn't call them -40 boots personally, though (even with wool socks). they are comfortable to wear and give good grip on rough terrain and ice.
i appreciate sorel's willingness to switch these boots out - and hope this time i can get ones with better seam placement that won't have the same issue.
I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

the boot that falls apart

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Customer avatar
googleit
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
boots were great for the first couple years until this last weekend. The rubber soles began cracking and shredding apart completely separating from the leather upper!
I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It's All Coming Apart at the Seams

PostedDecember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
JoeS8484
Location: Minnesota, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
After attempting to shoe-glue for the 3rd time a wide crack between the upper and lower sections of an older pair of boots manufactured by Columbia (which is now the parent company of Sorel) I was determined to invest in a good pair of boots from the well-known top brand Sorel. I thought the Conquest boots would provide my feet many years of warmth and comfort. Unfortunately they did neither. From the onset, both boots 'buckled' and pinched the top of my feet. I thought maybe they needed to be broken in, the laced adjusted or maybe some sort of leather treatment would help - nope.
After wearing them maybe 10-15 times, they began to crack at the seam where the upper leather meets the synthetic lower part of the boot - So I'm in the same situation less than a year later!
I bought a pair of used *15 year old* winter boots, made in LaCrosse, Wisconsin, USA, that will last another 15 years and won't have to worry about quality when I'm in the field.
Unfortunately, after much searching there is almost zero selection of non-imported winter hiking boots.
So I’m sending the Conquest's back, requesting replacement with a better quality boot made domestically - or a full refund. I will update this review upon further developments.
I do not recommend this product.
+16points
18of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Rear of boot came apart

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
PaulB
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
User submitted photo
I had these boots for ~6-7 years, wore them when there is snow in tahoe on the weekends. The soles were still perfect, but the leather separated from the rubber in back where it was stitched. It looks like the rubber was a little thin at this point and ripped.
Much to my surprise, Sorel offered to replace the boots with ones of my choice, even though the 1 year warranty is up. I'll probably pick another model since the Conquest has had it's share of issues and received the lowest rating.
Too bad. Loved the boots. Very warm, comfortable and rugged.
I do not recommend this product.
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent deep snow & very low temps

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
SJD10
Location: Vermont, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
I've owned a pair of Conquest boots for 5-6 yrs. They're used working on a mtn property in central Vermont, snowshoeing, and deer hunting from stands in near zero temps. They have never failed me. The slightly large size allows an extra thick pair of socks if needed, but has never caused chafing or boot movement even on steep sideways traverses. No hardware failures despite hard treatment, gaiter keeps out knee-deep snow & back tab holds snowshoes straps tightly. Never had a hint of water in the boots, but I oil them as needed. I wouldn't go dancing in them.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Met all my needs

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
SpinningWaldo
Location: Boise, Idaho, ID
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This boot is ridiculously warm! I play in the snow alot and decided to battle test these bad mothers to the max. Snowmobile camping, igloo constructing, and snowshoeing. These boots have the durability and warmth to get a 5 star on all of my tests. Great product!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mongolia. UB

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
daag
Location: Mongolia UB
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:Yes
  • Employee
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good boots. Like
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Conquest

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Customer avatar
bullnav
Location: Michigan, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned a pair of these for 14 years and they are an outstanding pair of boots. Over some pretty harsh Michigan winters, these boots have exceeded my expectations for a winter boot. Every time I think I want a new pair of boots, I just take a look at these ones and realize that they are everything I want is a winter boot. Warm, water resistant, good traction in snow. They are great. If they ever wear out, I will get another pair
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Conquest Boots

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
barndog
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
i had two pair of these boots and the same thing happened to both. the rubber rotted. just a little over a year. great boots though comfortable warm ,style is great but the rubber sucks. you would think they would have changed the rubber by now but its been almost five years for me and i bet they made the ones they have now the same way. i will buy another pair only if i know they fixed the rubber problem. i read other people have the same problem also. do i recommend this product. not right now until the rubber problem is fix.
I do not recommend this product.
+26points
26of 26voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great looking, but poor construction

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
drumzz4u
Location: Boston, MA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I used the boots during the winter so my feet could stay dry. I have horses and I wanted a waterproof / water resistant boot that would keep my feet warm and dry in the mix of snow, mud and water that puddles in our pasture. After the first winter, they started to leak and eventually, the boot pulled apart at the rubber lining near the tread and the leather. These boots are all show and no go if you are wearing them a lot. I think the below freezing weather might have something to do with the boots staying together as the rubber eventually dries up and cracks even with proper treatment of mink oil and whatnot.
I do not recommend this product.
+31points
31of 31voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Winter Boot

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Archie1066
Location: Northwest Corner, CT
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had these boots for 5 years. Much of my work is outside and have worn them virtually everyday throughout the winter for all these years, they are the best winter boots I've owned. I live in a cold place so I need a warm boot. They have the best traction of any boot I've found on the market. My feet stay warm on the coldest of days/nights.
Now after 5 years the rubber bottom is tearing from the leather upper where they are sewn together....they are still dry and warm. I am buying another pair.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byDirk
 
Please wait while more information about Dirk is loaded.
Additional information about Dirk could not be loaded.
A Conquest in need of Correction
onDecember 4, 2014
I have some of the original Conquest boots purchased at Sierra Trading Post.
Rubber soles separate from intermediate rubber upper, leading to moisture entering inside. Feet get cold.
Conquest concept is great, execution needs work if the older boots are any indication. Also, soles look rugged, but
wear down at an alarming rate.
Very comfortable walking winter boot.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 17 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Conquest Boot

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Tahooey
Location: New Jersey
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I used the boots only in the winter when it snowed, maybe 5 times a year. I was very surprised to see when the upper part of the boot started to crack and detach from the lower part. I sent an email and I am waiting for a reply. Hopefully I'll get a good result and they will replace them.
I will post again when I get an answer.
I do not recommend this product.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bydrumzz4u
Boston, MA
 
Please wait while more information about drumzz4u is loaded.
Additional information about drumzz4u could not be loaded.
Great looking, but poor construction
onFebruary 15, 2014
I used the boots during the winter so my feet could stay dry. I have horses and I wanted a waterproof / water resistant boot that would keep my feet warm and dry in the mix of snow, mud and water that puddles in our pasture. After the first winter, they started to leak and eventually, the boot pulled apart at the rubber lining near the tread and the leather. These boots are all show and no go if you are wearing them a lot. I think the below freezing weather might have something to do with the boots staying together as the rubber eventually dries up and cracks even with proper treatment of mink oil and whatnot. These are more like $70 boots at best.
Images for this Comment
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Falling apart after just a few years of very light use

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Mansize
Location: Elkhart, IN
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
As you have likely read in all of the other reviews about this product disintegrating, I have had the exact same experience. I bought these a few years ago and have only worn them 20 to 25 times (the soles and leather uppers are still in nearly new conditions. The issue in the rubber that secures the soles to the leather uppers, it cracked from front to back.
I was thrilled when I first bought he boot to have the "Sorel" quality, now I am amazed it how shoddy the materials are in their products. I have owned several pair of boots in my life some of which I am still using after more than 20 years.
At the end of the day I will make my decision on this company based on how they deal with me about this flaw in their product line.
I do not recommend this product.
+14points
16of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byTahooey
New Jersey
 
Please wait while more information about Tahooey is loaded.
Additional information about Tahooey could not be loaded.
Conquest
onFebruary 6, 2014
I had the same problem with my Conquest Boot. Only worn when it snowed so very little use. I sent an email to Sorel and I am waiting for an answer.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 19 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Boots fell apart

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Alan57
Location: Lititz, PA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I had my Sorel Conquest boots a long time 12 years, but did not use them much. They otherwise look like new, but the rubber attached to the leather broke from age. This is not what I expected from a Sorel boot. Sorel says that they only support a one year warranty. Obviously I expected them to last longer. The rubber sole is good, but the rubber connecting the sole to the leather is cracking and losing chunks. These boots were not stored in harsh conditions. My wife's boots purchased at the same time look good and we expect that they will last for many more years.
I do not recommend this product.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poorly Constructed Boot

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Jeff6364
Location: Greenwood, Indiana
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had these boots for several years with very light use; I only have worn them to shovel snow, probably 20 times. The upper brown part has entirely separated at teh seam from the lower black rubber piece, which allows the insulation to come out. Generally the boots are ruined. I have a pair of cheap Bass snow boots that I wear to work all day exclusively when it snows that I bought in the spring after I bought the Sorrel boots (they were are a clearance sale. The Bass boots were worn for exactly the same number of days, for a lot longer time each day, and still look in almost new condition. The $20 Bass boot (what I paid) is a lot better boot than the $120 Sorel boot, by far!
I do not recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 Next »