Customer reviews for Sorel Men's Conquest™ Boot

Sorel Men's Conquest™ Boot

Rugged and durable, this waterproof boot features seam-sealing, a built-in gaiter, a molded EVA comfort footbed, a multi-direction rubber lug sole and 400 grams of Thinsulate™ Ultra insulation to ensure that feet stay secure, warm, dry and protected during demanding activities in extremely cold winter weather.
Overall rating:
3.39 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(136 reviews) 135
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 136 reviews
5 Stars
68
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
15
1 Star
38
78 out of 134(58%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Review 1 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not that great of a boot

PostedOctober 26, 2009
Customer avatar
Location: Yellowknife
The tongue soaks up water and absolutely drenches your feet. The laces hold snow and it melts from the heat of your foot. The liner isn't removeable so drying them out is almost impossible. For day trips or walking around town these work ok.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

the conquest boot

PostedNovember 1, 2009
Customer avatar
Location: alberta,canada
nice light boot, but the top lacks padding if walking for long periods of time. This product shows how sorel has lower the standard but not the price. I am very disappointed with the functionality and disign of the product.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good warm boot

PostedNovember 17, 2009
Customer avatar
Location: chicago
A high quality boot that keeps my feet warm and dry. I can stay outside in the snow for hours w/o my feet feeling cold. This boot turned me on to Sorel which makes great products. They are bulky outside but the fit is accurate if not a bit large.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Falling apart

PostedNovember 27, 2009
Customer avatar
Location: State of Washington
Love the boot, keep the feet dry and warm in 20 degree weather and snow, not very water tight, when tempiture gets above the freezing temp. They are not made real tough, mine are falling apart at the seams, the leather from the rubber bottoms, both boots, wonder if they will replace them, purchased them last year this time?
I do not recommend this product.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Pair of Boots!

PostedDecember 12, 2009
Customer avatar
Location: Northern Utah
These boots turned me onto Sorel and I see no reason to go anywhere else! I had no plans to review them, as I've had them for over a year now, but was shocked at the neg reviews, so I decided to give some credit where it's due.
I'm a mail carrier in Northern Utah. These boots get a lot of time in the snow and slush, including in the 2 degree temp I woke up to this morning, and I couldn't be more confident with them. I've done everything but wade through ponds, and have never had a drop of water sneak through.
Pros: WARM, great in wet conditions. excellent ice traction.
Cons: Slight pain in the arch between my shin and foot. I won't blame Sorel, though, that's probably a sizing issue on my part.
I know many other people who use good boots, and often when a quality boot isn't working out for somebody, a lack of care is to blame. Buy a good Leather Protector like Obenauf's, and run over them before each season. I hate cliches, but if you take care of them, they'll take care of you.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor Seams

PostedDecember 21, 2009
Customer avatar
Location: VA
I received this product as a gift about a year ago. The boot fits really nice and kept my feet warm and dry even in deep snow conditions.
Recently, my wife got her car stuck in the snow and I had to push her out. The car eventually gave way and got free, however, my boots were split where the leather part meets the rubber. The seams are not sewn into the rubber part, but are more "glued" together.
Overall, I judge that these boots are very good for light use (i.e., walking to your mailbox), but don't expect them to hold up to anything more than that.
I do not recommend this product.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Good boot at first!

PostedDecember 22, 2009
Customer avatar
Location: Highlands, Scotland
The Conquest boots I bought are less than eight months old. When I first recieved the boots, they were great. I wore them for walking on the flat only, generally on tracks and pavements. During the Winter months the front of the boots become painfull, (not enough padding). The stitching went in two areas. The boot holds water more than a sponge, unfortunitly unlike a sponge you cannot ring the boots out. The boots stay wet and when wet will require a few days to dry out. The boots also expand when wearing them after a while and off course in the wet! There is no protection for the toes. The boots become very soft around the toes. Intially the boots look great and are good when new, but soon (too soon) after bought begin to deteriate, which is a shame as they do look good. Overall a boot for walking from shop to shop, (probably looking for a new set of boots).
I do not recommend this product.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pair of boots

PostedJanuary 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Benton Harbor, MI
I too am surprised to read of negative comments about Conquest boots. I bought a pair last December for snowmobiling and shoveling the drive and love them. They fit good and keep my feet warm and dry as I'm walking through or playing in knee high snow for many hours at a time. I bought my Conquests after having a new pair of Castle X Fusion boots for less than a month. I love how light and flexible they are while keeping my feet warm. I don't wear my boots daily but they have not given any troubles so far (i.e. no issues with stitching, etc.). I actually came to this website to buy the same pair of boots for a friend so he can join me for sledding fun! I think they're a great pair of boots!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Design Flaws

PostedJanuary 13, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Hailey, Idaho
Overall good boot once it's on your foot. The cinching gator chord would make more sense to be located in the rear of the boot. The clips that hold the ankle strap are easily lost or broken. The boot pull on tab is to small and should be a loop.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect boot for the cold and snow

PostedFebruary 26, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Oslo, Norway
This is my second season with the boots and they are wonderful. Sounds like the others haven't figured out that if water goes over the top the boot gets flooded. They are a bit clunky.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Needs work

PostedAugust 23, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: New York, New York
I have a pair of Sorel boots, I had them for about 6 years. They kept my feet warm and dry and extreme conditions, butgood boots they too came apart at the seams where the leather meets the rubber. Otherwise they are very good boots. I may go with another model.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Boot I have owned yet

PostedOctober 12, 2010
Customer avatar
I work on a very large ski mountain in VT, and am an "on snow" employee. The company issues name brand (expensive) mountaineering boots, although I much prefer to work in my Conquests, they are warmer, and more comfortable. They hold up to 14 hr days in subzero temps on all types of terrain. They also handle the boot dryer every night for about 4.5 months out of the year. As my paycheck depends on me being out in every type of weather imaginable, these are worth their weight in gold.
Thanks for the awesome boot.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byDoNOTBuySorels
San Jose, California
 
Please wait while more information about DoNOTBuySorels is loaded.
Additional information about DoNOTBuySorels could not be loaded.
These Boots Fell Apart After Minimum Use !! BEWARE
onDecember 6, 2013
F
Images for this Comment
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 13 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely amazing

PostedNovember 23, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Michigan
I have no idea where people are coming up with all of these negative comments. I work two jobs in the winter, one being my full time job as a diesel Technician where I have to keep Trucks running in low temps so they dont freeze, and be under cold trucks all day. Secondly I work snow removal sometimes up to 18 hours a night non stop shoveling, plowing, snow brooming and salting in sub zero weather. I go snowmobiling for over 8 hours at a time. These boots have been through it all. Have never let me down once. My feet are always dry and warm. Sorel for life.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not waterproof!

PostedDecember 29, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: NYC
The product page for this boot uses the word waterproof no less than five times. These boots are NOT waterproof. After a ten minute walk through slushy snow my feet were wet. These things are going to goodwill.
I do not recommend this product.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect long lasting boot

PostedJanuary 13, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Michigan
I have owned the conquest boot since 1999, They are an awesome boot. I work outside in Michigan, and work very well. I work about 9 hours in temperature's that would make most sick to there stomach and standing in snow up to your knees. When my feet get cold from just standing in one spot, all you have to do is just walk a few hundred feet then your back on track. If this boot is still made with the same quaility as they were back then I recommend this boot to anyone and everyone....
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disappointed

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Minnesota
I work on the rooftops of commercial buildings in Minnesota where I service heating, a/c and refrigeration units, so am no stranger to frigid weather. It was -25 the other night on the roof and my toes were freezing and wet. I would say these boots keep my feet and toes warm down to about 10 degrees, but my feet are always wet. I assume the wetness is the from the inability of these boots to wick away sweat. I just bought a pair of Red Wing 1444-4 with 400 gram of thinsulate and and they kept my feet warm and dry all day in subzero weather yesterday...and these Red Wings aren't even considered "winter" boots!
These boots are going in the garage sale pile for this spring...someone else can freeze thier feet.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

buy it

PostedJanuary 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: new jersey
I bought these about a month ago and the timing couldn't have been better. We've been having the snow storm du jur in the Norteast and so far they have performed as advertised: warm, rugged and waterproof. And it may be my imagination, but I think the interior is forming to my foot because I can slip in and out in a nanosecond. And they look good!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love the boot

PostedFebruary 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: spokane washington
i have had the conquest boot since 1994 and love them I live in the PNW and they are perfect i work in the oil fields and they are way better then bafins boots but cant wear them because they are not steel toe please make this boot in a steel toe or safty toe so you can have a hole new market of people because everyone that sees them wants them your loyal customer thankyou!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

At The Seams

PostedFebruary 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: US
I bought this boot and after 2 winters with them the feel apart at the seams! The leather and rubber connection was not worth $135.00 at all. These ar $50.00 boot at best.
I do not recommend this product.
+5points
10of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Conquest™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Cold Weather Boots Ever!!!!!!

PostedFebruary 18, 2011
Customer avatar
I owned a pair of conquest boots for over 10 yesrs. I worked on the snow at 2 ski resorts Sundy River Maine and Crested Butte Colorado. Ive been in more situations in cold weather than most. The Sorel Conquests have never let me down. The one time I had an issue with the boots, Sorel sent me a new pair..These are the ONLY boots I will ever use for cold weather work and play..
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next »