Customer reviews for Sorel Men's Maverick™ Boot

Sorel Men's Maverick™ Boot

The supple leather upper on this hard-working utility boot is waterproof to keep feet dry during activities in wet conditions; inside, the removable felt inner liner and 25mm bonded felt frost plug ensure that you stay warm when the temperature drops.
Overall rating:
4.739 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
21 out of 22(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Maverick™ Boot
Review 1 for Men's Maverick™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Heavy Snow Boots

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
NYBK
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this in the middle of the miserable winter of 2014. It saved my feet walking through deep puddles on the streets of Brooklyn and Manhattan. Has a felt lining, a little heavy for normal wear but otherwise perfect for braving snowy roads and trails. Warning a little difficult to get into and out of.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Maverick™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

For the wide foot

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Monalee
Location: Cohasset, Ca
Footwear Attitude: Function over fashion
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband has a wide foot (3E) and this was the only Sorel boot that would fit him. He loves them.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Maverick™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful boot, runs v. large

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Manwithnicenewboots
Footwear Attitude: Function over fashion
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an excellent boot; keeps the feet warm and dry in the nastiest of conditions. I normally wear a 15 in shoes, really a 15 1/2; I ordered this boot in a 15 and it was much too large. Definitely consider going a size smaller than usual when ordering.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Maverick™ Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor Rubber

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
misky
Location: Green Bay, WI
Footwear Attitude: Function over fashion
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I had bought a pair just over a year ago. First pair the rubber separated on the side of the boot where my toes bend (wore them only 6 times). Now the rubber is starting to dry rot in the same spot. These boots are not even a year old and only worn for ice fishing and hunting.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SkiAZ
Flagstaff AZ
 
Please wait while more information about SkiAZ is loaded.
Additional information about SkiAZ could not be loaded.
Same Problem Here
Posted January 9, 2014
I had the same exact issue with my boots. After approximately 6 times wearing - same cracks in the same spot.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for Men's Maverick™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellant Boots

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
slick
Location: Bismarck, North Dakota
Footwear Attitude: Function over fashion
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently purchased these boots as replacements for Sorel pack boots I've worn at work for over 25 years.I worked in a surface mine in the harshest conditions,(wet,abrasive materials,extreme cold weather...-35 F without wind chill)No other brand of boot has stood up as well.I fully expect that these Mavericks will last me as along as I wear boots.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Maverick™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Boot

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tony1623
Location: Fire Island, NY
Footwear Attitude: Function over fashion
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This pair replaces my old pair that I had for 20 years. Those lasted a long time. Waiting for first big snow here in the east to use them. If anything like the last pair. I can't wait.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Maverick™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jimmy62
Location: West Monroe, Louisiana
Footwear Attitude: Function over fashion
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had owned a pair of Sorel boots years ago and actually wore the souls off them. They were the warmest boot I had ever owned. I don't have a local distributor any longer and ordered this pair off the website. I ordered my actual boot size and an extra pair of liners. They fit perfectly. They were suppose to be for my Christmas present but we had some 20 degree weather, which is uncommon here in the south. My wife let me have them early. I love 'em and don't plan to be without a pair again. Thanks for a great quality product that truly lives up to it's expectations.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Maverick™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Almost excited for inclimate weather

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
seanstermonster
Location: Kaysville, Utah
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love buying a product knowing that I've purchased something that is good quality. These boots are exceptional. From the materials to the craftsmanship, I am a big fan!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Maverick™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Decided to buy another pair!

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
meterman
Location: WNY
Footwear Attitude: Function over fashion
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had a pair very similar to these but they were slightly taller and had them many years until they finally wore out (15 years). I used them for all outdoor activities and in Western New York you have plenty of time for use. I tried several other brands that have only lasted 1 to 1 1/2 years before finally getting these again. From what I see it looks like I will be just as happy. (too bad not made in Canada:(
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
meterman
WNY
 
Please wait while more information about meterman is loaded.
Additional information about meterman could not be loaded.
1 year update VERY DISAPPOINTED NOW
Posted January 18, 2014
These are not the boots I had before. The quality of the leather uppers started to break up and allow moisture through so I coated them twice with Sno-Seal it helped but the leather on one boot is smooth and the other is really rough and looks like it will continue to disintegrate over time. The rubber on both boots is now checked and split at the bend points and allows the ball of your feet to get wet. I went from very happy when I received these boots to very disappointed in under 1 years time. I understand that everything gets cheaper over time but a well respected and reputable name like Sorel should remember that they stand for quality. I feel the original company would be very disappointed if they saw the lack of quality materials used to make their products.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for Men's Maverick™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
zfam
Location: Brookfield, Ma.
Footwear Attitude: Function over fashion
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
don't no what to say but the boots are awesome very warm true to size when reviews said they ran big. and light weight for there size also like the height they are great for deep snow
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Maverick™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good so far

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
yahtz
Location: MN
Footwear Attitude: Function over fashion
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just got these boots a couple weeks ago and have been wearing them everyday. I work outside all winter long and enjoy the outdoors as well. Boots seem to be constructed very well. My feet have stayed dry and warm so far. Ice fishing my feet have gotten cold a few times, but this is only after 4- 5 hrs of no movement. Would recommend to others so far.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Maverick™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, as Expected

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
RMoore
Location: Vermont
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These boots are a great fit and are immediately comfortable. They look like they will last a long time, and as other reviewers wrote, the separate liner piece is very nice.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Maverick™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the money

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
keeley21
Location: Mpls MN
Footwear Attitude: Function over fashion
Employee: No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
I think the name has changed but I've had these boots for close to 20 years. Hunting, ice fishing, shoveling the driveway, you name it I've used these in the winters. The taller height as opposed to the Caribou is a bonus when hiking or for keeping snow out. The Caribou is easier to slide on and off.
They've kept my feet warm in serious winter conditions in ND and MN. After about 15 years I was getting cold feet ice fishing and fixed that with adding insoles. Now that I'm hitting 20 years I'm finally going to break down and get replacement liners. The rest of the boot does not look like it will need replacement anytime soon. For maintenance I use Snow Seal to waterproof the leather once a season and more if need be.
Despite all the new styles and ways companies make boots if you need warm feet just do what our dad's did. Buy Sorels.
Occasions: Active, Other, Casual
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Maverick™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great boot, runs large

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Roosevelt
Location: Midwest USA
Footwear Attitude: Function over fashion
Employee: No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
I've tromped over hilly woods, thru the briars, deep in mud and in the creek bottom for 10 days now in my new Mavericks. Great boots, great traction. They definitely run large, but that's good for me. I tested a variety of insoles to provide additional support and to fill in the extra space. Best insoles are full-length leather-topped and INSIDE the wool liner. Pants tuck great between wool and leather, but then pull right out when I return to civilization. I can wade without leaks, but will need to treat the leather often. Sorel should reduce the circumference around ankle a little ... they are a bit too loose on my fat legs, and hard to backfill if you like light socks. Sorel should also modify the lacing pattern (one more quicklace at top, one fewer holes at bottom) to make them quicker to put on. I anticipate getting old in these boots wandering our wintry forest and planting in early spring.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Maverick™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Boots, Great Choice for Fieldwork, Casual and Recreation - Go a Size Smaller

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
BandAid
Location: Pullman, WA
Footwear Attitude: Function over fashion
Employee: No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Initially selected these boots based on their consistently high reviews, even among other Sorel models. Not a brand loyalist; rather, a gear junkie obsessed with performance of personal and professional gear. These are my favorite winter boots by a long shot.
I live in eastern Washington/northern Idaho, and teach at university, work in archaeological field survey, and recreate outdoors extensively, so my boots find themselves everywhere between the classroom and remote sections of mountain wilderness routinely.
I first purchased the same size I normally wear (10), and they were very large, even with two sets of aftermarket soles in the insulated bootie. Exchanged for one full size smaller, and the fit is great with enough room for thick hunting socks, and a very comfortable fit with medium weight merino wool socks.
These boots seem to be a bit better-fitted (after sizing down) than the Caribous (which also require sizing down). After having Caribous, the Mavericks are, in my opinion, considerably better fit for longterm wear in and out of the house, town, work or the woods. While still easy to get in and out of, they fit and perform more like a good work or outdoor boot than the Caribou. Additionally, they look very sharp, and with pant cuffs are not tucked in, are great for casual office/classroom work wear.
An additional advantage to the Maverick is the way in which the liner and top of leather upper of the boot accomodate tucking in pants in high snow or brush. With other boots, one has to tuck their pants into the liner, but the Maverick is designed to allow you to tuck pants and laces in between the liner and the upper, which is considerably more comfortable in terms of circulation and insulation. The Maverick upper is high enough that you will rarely, if ever, need to wear gaiters if using for fieldwork or recreation.
As the Maverick has a more sophisticated, yet simple and fast lacing system, one can get a tighter or looser fit as desired - whether you're just throwing them on to head to the mailbox, walk the dog or head out to the field, you can quickly don and doff the boots with minimal effort and great stability. The lacing system is also ideal for a range of body types and calf builds - even my very large calves are comfortable in the high uppers due to the wide tongue of the boot and versatile lacing system, still allowing plenty of room to either tuck-in or pull down pant cuffs.
The soles of the boots are fantastic for traction in snow, but their best feature is how easy it is to kick snow off as one heads in the door. The lugs offer ideal traction, yet do not trap snow on the sole. A couple of kicks on the step or taps straight down, and even wet snow is off the boot - no tracking snow in, no pools of ice cold water in the house, and no need to take the boots off at the threshold.
All in all, these boots are great. I have had numerous pairs of boots of the years, and will continue to use certain pairs for technical applications or particularly rough terrain, but the Mavericks are my go-to boots now for the winter, even if there is no snow, the insulation and comfort of the boots make them preferable footwear for everything from the grocery store to hunting or cold weather fieldwork. No negative remarks, whatsoever, only wish that I hadn't waited so long to try them out.
Best of luck in making your selection. Again, I strongly concur with others' suggestions to go down one size when ordering, especially if you can't try them on in advance.
Occasions: Active, Work, Highly Versatile, Other, Going Out, Casual
I would recommend this product.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Maverick™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

PostedFebruary 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
MoFaruqe
Location: Toronto, Canada
This is my first winter boot and I love it. It's very comfy, stylish, warm, feel like could wear them all day long, despite the high upper easy to put on and take off - one can't ask for more. The size may run a bit large - I got a size smaller than my usual after reading many reviews and it fits perfectly.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Maverick™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW These are the perfect boot

PostedJanuary 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
hemiguy
Location: New Haven Ct
I have been a union pipefitter for 20 yrs and i work outdoors every winter. I bought these boots about 7yrs ago. They are the perfect boot for my work they arent to heavy to walk around in all day. the soles have a great lug pattern that cleans it self out as you walk for great traction. It would be a shame if these boots ever got discontinued. the liners are holding up strong. even when standing around on ice cold concrete or ice cold steel i have ner had a problem with them making my feet cold.
Thank You sorel for making a great winter boot
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Maverick™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome

PostedJanuary 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I have had the same pair of Sorels for 25 years. It is this style but had a different name in the 1980's...great boot!!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Maverick™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

7 seasons so far

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hyde
Location: Upper Peninsula MI
These boots are holding up great. I use them for deer hunting and ice fishing mostly. The weight of these boots is just right for walking. They keep your feet plenty warm as long as your active. In real cold below zero conditions I use footwarmers for ultimate comfort.
This past hunting season I accidently ruined the innerboots by overheating them on the woodstove. The openings shrank terribly, I could put them on but they were really tight so I cut them with a knife to loosen them up. I found innerboots for the glacier boot on sale and ordered a pair. They are about a quarter inch taller than the leather but thats ok they are thicker and rated for a lower temp than the maverick liners and they fit great !
These boots have a lot of life in them and last a long time. Quality thick leather too. Good traction soles.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Maverick™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good stuff

PostedDecember 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rolly
Location: Boise Idaho
I have had my boots for almost 18 years and I need too get another pair just like them and no others. They are great.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12Next »