Customer reviews for Sorel Men's Alpha Trac™ Buckle Boot

Sorel Men's Alpha Trac™ Buckle Boot

Ideal for staying warm, dry and protected during all kinds of high-velocity activities in extremely cold weather, this boot features a built-in gaiter, shatter-resistant buckle closure, warm 9mm Thermoplus Xtreme™ liner and an EVA midsole that reduces weight while enabling a closer foot fit for improved performance.
Overall rating:
4.762 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
20 out of 21(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Alpha Trac™ Buckle Boot
Review 1 for Men's Alpha Trac™ Buckle Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The boot Fits the bill.

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer avatar
otbars
Location: Dana Point, California
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought these boots to be worn around our cabin in Sundance Utah and have been very pleased with the design and the function of the boot. I love the buckle closures rather than ties.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Alpha Trac™ Buckle Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best extreme boots

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer avatar
CrazyChris
Location: So.CO.
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Went snowmobiling the day after I received Alpha Trac Buckle Boot at 11,000 feet for 4 hours feet never near to being cold.These are the best extreme cold weather boots I've ever owned...
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Alpha Trac™ Buckle Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hard core snow boots!

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Greich
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
These are the most well-made boots I have ever owned. I expect to be wearing them for years to come! My only concern is that they might be "overkill" for Maryland weather. ;)
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Alpha Trac™ Buckle Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

workable

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Jasonteaparty
Location: Savanna, IL
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I can't speak to durability because I've only had for a couple weeks. The shoe size was true to size but a much bulkier boot than I had expected. They're tight putting on and off in the ankle area and when on they're stiff somewhat like a ski boot. There is a well engineered loop in the inner liner that helps pull them on. The stiffness is a bit of a good thing in that it helps me balance 240lbs. Certainly not good for a floor heater in a car blowing on the rubber; I bring extra shoes for the long trips to go ice fish. These have kept my feet warmer than anything I've owned. My northface chillcats were nice but these take the cake. I installed a drscholl's rubber full foot insert. After moving snow a few times with a single stage snow blower and ice fishing; they were more boot than I expected but glad I made the purchase. The buckles work fine. My size 13us are 14 1/2" from the floor to the top of the boot. I can get more done outside because I'm warmer and can walk around in the snow without worry that snow is going to get in the top of the boot.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Alpha Trac™ Buckle Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for snowmobiling

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Skidoo239
Location: Greenville,NY
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the removable inserts. Makes it easy to dry out for the next ride.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Alpha Trac™ Buckle Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sorel Alpha Tracs

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Alaskan
Location: Eagle River, Ak
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these boots about 3 years ago for riding snowmachines here in Alaska. All my friends wear the super expensive snowmachine specific boots but these boots are just as good, if not better than all of them. They are also a great looking and very functional boot.
The boots are nice and snug but not too tight and the liner is super warm and comfortable on my feet. Have been in open creeks several times with these boots on and my feet stayed dry every time. I also love the buckles, no laces to worry about getting iced up or breaking. The stiff support of these boots is perfect for snowmachining.
I love these boots so much I bought my wife a pair.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Alpha Trac™ Buckle Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm, amazing, comfortable. PERFECT!

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Halve
Location: Bellevue, WA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought these for my growing son, so we bought them a size larger. He loves them (and I think my husband is envious.) These are a bit warm for moderate wet weather, and we look forward to playing in the snow.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Alpha Trac™ Buckle Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceptional

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Craig12345
Location: Traverse City, Michigan
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased them about 4 years ago. I must say these are the best boots I have owned. Warm, dry and very comfortable. They appear big but relatively light and very well made. The tread has kept up well. Plenty of tread left. I do not drag my feet and if you do well, plan on wearing out the tread. Not one defect. All stiching has held up well. I use them for work and home in the Nothern Lower Michigan envirement. Many compliments from people. I bet I have 4,000 hours of use on them. They look great for the miles on em. I will buy another pair in a year or so just in case Sorel for some reason or another discontinues them. If they do, I would have to say that would be a huge manangement error.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Alpha Trac™ Buckle Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Recent Boot Order

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Bull47
Location: NY
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product!! high quality!! I tried on 10 different manufactures with no success. Then remembered the reason I was replacing my orginal Sorel snowmobile boots that were purchased in 1986, and I should look at what Sorel has to offfer. Bought them online without trying them on they showed up within 4 days and fit perfect with features that others did not offer at a great price for a quality boot...still have my orginal pair of Sorels and use the for everyday winter activity!!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Alpha Trac™ Buckle Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Late in the season

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Customer avatar
outdrlvr
Location: Michigan
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ordered these boots late in the season. They are very tight to get into, but, after they are on they fet great. They are stiff, and this is noted on a prior review, but it also states that they loosen up very quickly. I will know much more during the next winter season.
I am looking forward to being able to keep my feet warm and dry during many hours in the woods.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Alpha Trac™ Buckle Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Markb
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these boots because I needed a new pair and got a really good deal on them. Fit a bit big but managable, I usually wear heavier socks anyway while snowmobiling. Anyway these boots are great, very warm. Feet don't cold at all, a couple days were warmer than usual and my feet were starting to sweat, not good when the temp drops later but that didn't happen. Definitely recommend these boots for anyone going out in the cold and snow.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Alpha Trac™ Buckle Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These are Epic!

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Sledding4Life
Location: Central Mass
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these to use when snowmobiling and these are the perfect boot for that! They have a stiff outer shell that provides support similar to like a snowboard boot so be warned the are not great for walking long distances as they are stiff even though they break in a good amount after a while.
Just used them today in the fresh 2+ feet of powder we got dumped on. I was in snow up to my knees several times and even stepped into a small brook by accident a couple times and not one flake of snow or drop of water got to my feet. I wear them with wicking material type socks and my feet never get cold or hot they stay just the perfect temperature!
I had to return my size 13 for size 14. The 13 fit my wide foot great but was a little too tight in the calf area. This is not the boots fault I definitely have large calves just noting that so you are aware.
Also you may find the boots are hard to get on and off until you learn a few tricks. The inner liner has a handle at the top back you can stick your hand through. Grab this and pull when your putting on the boot and your will slide right in. If you look on the outside by the heel there is rubber that juts outs about a 1/4". Step on this with your other foot as your trying to take them off and your foot will slide right out. Little practice doing this and getting them on and off will be no problem trust me!
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Alpha Trac™ Buckle Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sorel quality

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer avatar
jimmyjax45
Location: Lancaster,Wi
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought the alpha trac buckle boot for snowmobiling and they are an excellent boot for that.Online description was right on.They are well worth the $ . My dad has a pair of sorels that he got in the 70's and still pulls them out sometimes and wears snowmobiling.Only problem here in Wisconsin is not enough snow again this year!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Alpha Trac™ Buckle Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Design Flaws

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Snowrider
Location: Boise, ID
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Construction and materials are excellent, warmth and waterproofing is top notch but this boot has a couple major design flaws. The gator is a great idea but should be 6 to 8 inches longer in order to be effective. The bukles are alright although I would prefer a BOA lace system but the buckle strap pull tabs should be loops instead of small tabs that are difficult to grab and pull. The boot is quite comfortable and lightweight but due to the issues above I can't get a good solid fit which causes that heel slip which nobody likes.
I do not recommend this product.
-5points
3of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Alpha Trac™ Buckle Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

" THANK-YOU SOREL"

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Kents1
Location: Island Park, Idaho 83429
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was in an unfortunate snowmobile accident and suffered two broken legs (one compound) both tibia and fibula had numerous fractures as well as a shattered ankle.
I want to convey my sincere thanks and gratitude for the Sorel Thermo Plus boots I was wearing that night. I honestly believe these boots saved my legs from further damage or loss.
I send my sincerest thanks and gratitude to your company and those who engineer and manufacture your boots!!
I would recommend this product.
+9points
16of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Alpha Trac™ Buckle Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great snowmobile boot

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Customer avatar
MoBeans
Location: Washington State
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use this boot for snowmobiling and it's GREAT for that purpose. It seems built for that purpose. The liner is very warm, clearly warmer than a standard Sorel Caribou boot. It's a more technical boot, in that it's firmer, allowing one to maneuver more aggressively without the boot sagging or drooping like a Caribou would. The sole has great traction, and the buckles allow one to really snug it down. I like the cinch tight gasket at the top of the boot: no snow gets into the boot, even when wading/powering through deep snow. The reinforcement over the front of the boot also really protects one's shin when it slams into the sled now and then. This boot could be used for many snow uses, but it seems built for snowmobiling.
Only gripe is that on my early model one of the plastic tags at the end of the buckle strap popped off. Functionally it doesn't matter. All of my friends now ride in this boot.
I would recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Alpha Trac™ Buckle Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

alpha tracks

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Customer avatar
frank
Location: newark nj
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
Small
True to Size
Too Large
warmest boots ive ever owned look great and fit perfect.
the price didn't thrill me but the product does
Occasions: Work
I would recommend this product.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Alpha Trac™ Buckle Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men's Alpha Trac Buckle

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Customer avatar
pjc3
Location: Steamboat Springs, Co
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
I have been looking for some good winter boots that could stand up to anything and I have finally found them. My winters consist of deep snow in Steamboat or very cold temperatures in Yellowstone. These boots are amazing. I love that the boots have buckles instead of laces so you can adjust them and take them off even if you have gloves on. The construction is second to none; I will have these boots for a very long time. They are extremely warm, but also seem to breathe well enough when it isn't super cold out. I also appreciate the built in gator that cinches at the top of the boot to keep snow out. One of my favorite features is the liner inside the boot that will come out when you are back indoors. it has a little bit of traction on the bottom so you wont slip and is a nice way to transition from being outside for long periods of time. These boots are very comfortable and indestructible. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a warm winter boot.
Occasions: Active, Casual
I would recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Alpha Trac™ Buckle Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Boots

PostedNovember 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Happybootguy
Location: Iowa
Super comfortable, best boots I've bought in years. Make them in Camo and I will never need to shop for new hunting boots again.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Alpha Trac™ Buckle Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Toasty warm...

PostedNovember 14, 2010
Customer avatar
Gonzo612
Location: Minneapolis
No matter how much, how wet or how cold the winters get here in MN I know my feet will be toasty warm with these boots.
My quest now is to find clothing to keep the rest of my body as warm as these keep my feet.
I would recommend this product.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next »