Customer reviews for Sorel Men's Intrepid Explorer™ -100 Boot

Sorel Men's Intrepid Explorer™ -100 Boot

Inspired by the Yukon Quest dog sled race, this beefy boot provides unbeatable warmth and protection during active adventures in extreme conditions thanks to seam-sealing, waterproof construction, a built-in gaiter with barrel lock closure and super thick removable ThermoPlus™ felt liner.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(7 reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 7 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
5 out of 7(71%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Intrepid Explorer™ -100 Boot
Review 1 for Men's Intrepid Explorer™ -100 Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Don't have rubber sole on liner.

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Northwoods
Location: Northern Minnesota
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I just got these boots in the mail, so I can't comment on the quality of this version of this boot. I just want to let everyone know that one of the Greatest parts of the older version of this boot was that the liner had a rubber sole , so it could be worn alone during the parts of the day when weather was warm, or driving, etc... used to be able to just pull off the outer boot and keep going. I bought another set of this boot just because of how much I enjoy having the option of that lightweight, warm, inner boot, but this new version DOES NOT have the rubber sole on the liner. I think that Sorel made a Huge mistake by changing that liner. The liner was almost like a Lobbins boot, and was just so handy and I thought was a great design. Like I said, I think Sorel made a mistake with this design change, and so everyone knows, this boot does NOT have the great rubber soled liner. If you are ok without having that cool liner boot , then they may still be a good boot. I will have to weigh out the option of sending them back now, or not.... I was hoping for the design of the boot to be basically the same as it was a couple years ago, when it had the orange trim, etc... I got this new boot in April, 2013.
I do not recommend this product.
+17points
21of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byNorthwoods
Northern Minnesota
 
Please wait while more information about Northwoods is loaded.
Additional information about Northwoods could not be loaded.
REVIEW UPDATE Jan 2014
onJanuary 11, 2014
My review here only talks about how good this boot USED to be, so now I will up date it with how this new model actually is. I have still only used it for @ 5 full days so far, 4 of those days were at -25F. This boot performed as it expected. It kept me very warm, they are pretty light, the liners come out easily to dry, the fit is right on , meaning that I normally wear a 12, and I also wear a 12 in these. They ARE Good boots. I just stood basically still , standing around on ice at -25F and Windy , for 2 days and they worked well. I'm still just sad and upset that the liner does not have the rubber bottom like the older model from just a couple years ago, did. Those boots were almost the perfect boot, because the liner worked great as a light weight boot to use when I came off the ice and jumped in the truck , etc... The older model was AWESOME! But these are GOOD. Very warm and I they fit my feet great, etc..
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Men's Intrepid Explorer™ -100 Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad rubber and glue

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
PolarBearB4HughOnIrt
Location: Western Maine Mountains
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Let the pictures do the talking. Moderate use. Ice fishing from -40f to 20f. Hunting and snowshoeing.
I do not recommend this product.
+17points
23of 29voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Intrepid Explorer™ -100 Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm & Comfortable Boot

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Customer avatar
JC1956
Location: Portland, OR
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Wore this in the Arctic while hunting the Aurora. Stood in below freezing conditions for up to 10 hours at a time and stayed warm with a pair of wool socks. Great traction and flexibility in sole.
Occasions: Active
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Intrepid Explorer™ -100 Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great feel although these RUN BIG

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Customer avatar
FlyinHiGuy
Location: Stillwater, MN
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Careful when ordering as these run large. I am a normal 11 or an 11.5 in most footwear brands and I ordered an 11 and my toes have an extra 1" of space
Occasions: Active
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Intrepid Explorer™ -100 Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A True Cold-Weather Boot!

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Customer avatar
RSL1967
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
I have one of the earlier versions (very cool color scheme with black and orange), but it is pretty much the same.
This boot is amazing! I have used them for snowshoeing in sub-zero temperatures, and my feet remained warm and comfortable. Seriously, I was expecting that the extremely low temperature rating would mean only that my feet would not be uncomfortably cold, but instead they delivered as advertised. Not only were my feet not even slightly cold, they were actually warm. I have trekked in the snow for hours and my feet stayed warm the entire time.
The built-in gaters are an excellent design feature, as they keep the snow out when you accidentally sink in deep snow!
They are truly waterproof, as my feet have always remained dry despite being in the snow for hours.
The base is large, which adds stability to your step. The boot looks large and has drawn comments like "moon boots', Frankenstein boots", etc., but those criticisms are overcome by the praise you receive after your feet remain warm after hours in the cold.
The fit is not snug the way I prefer my backpacking boots, but they are not too loose either. I generally use a liner sock and thick wool socks anyway, and they fit fine.
They are a little pricey, but comfort in extreme conditions naturally carries a premium. Plus, they are half the cost of other extreme, alpine boots.
Overall, I have had no complaints. The boots are fantastic!
Occasions: Active, Highly Versatile
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Intrepid Explorer™ -100 Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Pleased

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Customer avatar
JPM4
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
As always, Sorel has a great product and very quick hassle free delivery.
Thanks
Occasions: Active
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Intrepid Explorer™ -100 Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for ice fishing

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Customer avatar
harpman
Location: durand wisconsin
I've had sorels over the years but they don't compare to the intrepid I got last year for ice fishing. I was out last winter in 20to30 below with the wind blowing hard everything was cold except my feet. great boot...
I would recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.