Customer reviews for Sorel Men's Caribou® Wool Boot

Sorel Men's Caribou® Wool Boot

This version of the classic Caribou has the same waterproof construction, full-grain leather upper and iconic silhouette you know and love, but comes with a wool inner boot instead of felt to keep feet warm, dry and cozy during activities in winter weather.
Overall rating:
4.384 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(125 reviews) 125
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 125 reviews
5 Stars
84
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
6
1 Star
6
107 out of 121(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Review 1 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just got my boots

PostedOctober 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Sterling, VA
I just got my boots and they fit great. Very confortable. I got them early this year because last winter I couldn't find the tabacco color in my size. But I'm glad I waited. I'm giving it 5 stars now on looks fit and confort. I have high hopes for this boot this winter and I will write back when I put them through some snow shoveling and out door work.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The warmest boot on the planet

PostedOctober 21, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Branford, CT, USA
I have two pairs of Sorels, one for mild and one for severe conditions. I got this pair after photographing ski racers up at Jay Peak, near the Canadian border, on a day when there was ice on the inside of the windshield. These are the warmest boots on the planet, in my opinion. The only downside is that they are two wide and thick to safely drive a vehicle with. For that, I have my lighter duty pair. They also last forever, though you may need to replace the liner once every five years or so.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Snowmaking, all night long..

PostedNovember 1, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: High up in the Colorado Rockies
I have a pair of these that I used for snow making at a resort in the Colorado Rockies last year on the midnight to noon shift, where warm and comfortable boots are a big deal. I wear Men's 10.5 shoe size so I got size 11. Even though I went big my feet do not slide around and I can wear thick socks. The big difference compared to other boots is how these fit. My foot is not being squeezed so my circulation is good and my feet stay warm. When skiing, I can't wait to get back in these.
Traction is good in snow, but I wear YakTraks for ice. Gators are a great idea if you are in deep snow.
For this season I am replacing my 4yr old liners and also adding the Sorel Intrepid Explorer -100 degree boots to my arsenal, mainly for the built-in gators.
If you want a great boot with classic looks that is comfortable from day one, not needing to be broken in, this is it.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Longevity

PostedDecember 14, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Burt, NY
My boots are circa 1983, Commanders, and they are just about like these, without the wool collar. They have simulated ruff at top of liner, which I finally replaced back in 2004. I bought these boots to go snowmobiling in northern Maine, where temps were minus 20 to 30 F. I have worn these boots elsewhere since in temps to minus 45 F and my feet have never been cold. The only reason I need to replace them now is the fact that I never kept leather conditioned, so they have become very stiff, especially where the leather has formed creases, and that will actually cut the liner eventually. I remedied first liner with duct tape, may have to do again. But if you want warm, dry boots that will last and last, look no further. Santa , I need a new pair of Sorels........
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thought I was the only one!

PostedFebruary 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Fairfield, Texas
I bought my sorel caribou boots in Colorado in nov. 1981. I have been wearing them every winter since. Some of the places have been Austria, Swiss., (east) Germany (before the wall came down). I was doing my master's thesis research that year 300 miles inside east Germany(DDR) then. These boots have traveled with me all these years. Today it snowed in Texas. I went to the attic to get mt Sorel's down and found all these reviews on the computer. I thought I was the only guy that could keep a pair of boots that long....(I have them on now!) I was given 6 months to live almost 12 months ago. I packed my Sorel's and put them up thinking I would never have a pair on again...well I think I am in the market for a new pair. What do the doctors know?
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cariboooouu!!

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Michigan
Just got back from a trip to upper Michigan, where I was introduced to Sorel by a friend of mine who had a pair of Caribou's. I happend to slip them on one day and found myself wearing them every chance I got! If he was sleeping in, his boots were on my feet! The pack boots I brought I had to constantly swap with my work boots because they hardly stayed on my feet when active. Caribou's on the other hand stayed on my feet like a glove and they were 3 sizes to big and the laces were never tied (could slip em right on and off)!!! Adding to that they were easily the most comfortable boots ever. As far as the cold goes, it didnt get that cold maybe 15 F but im sure they will keep my feet warm in most earthly environments!
Woulda expected a higher price tag.. now im getting a pair of Sorel's for every ocasion!
I beleive I've found the most immpresive boots in the world! thanks Sorel!
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Warm, but leaky

PostedFebruary 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Minnesota
I got these boots for my birthday July before last and have used them throughout this winter daily. I use them for work, as I am a plow driver and am in the snow constantly. They are an awesome boot warmth wise, but my feet started getting wet earlier this winter. Recently I inspected them closer since the snow is thawing this week and its been wet, and my feet got wet, i realized the sole starting to separate from the boot. Honestly I planned on keeping these boots for years.. looks like the only way Im going to keep them is to fork out more money for a repair or a different pair. I had a pair before and this didnt happen. Disappointed because I actually liked these better. Be prepared for leaks with these boots over time!!!!
I do not recommend this product.
+7points
12of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sorel in the snow

PostedMarch 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Portland OR
Kept my feet warm and cozy throughout a day of sledding near Mt. Bachelor. Love that I can remove the lining to dry it out separate from the shell. Would not have it any other way.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another great pair of boots from Sorel

PostedMarch 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Miami, FL
These are my third pair of Sorels and they are as good as my first two. I bought these boots to wear around town when my wife and I travel North to visit family and friends. They fit great, look good and are comfortable. Did I say they also keep me warm? The new "wool" innerboot is a great addition. Overall a good purchase.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love them

PostedMay 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: CA
I purchased these for use on the North Slope of Alaska. It has been hovering around 0F with plenty of snow, and they have kept my feet pretty warm. Just the tips of my big toes get a little cold, but it's really nothing to write home about. I haven't been wearing thermal socks with them and haven't felt the need to.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Customer Service

PostedMay 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Boise, Idaho
these boots were to replace a pair of Sorel Badger boots bought in the 70's. I ordered the other Caribou(shipped to Arkansas) for my daughter but when she got them she changed her mind and wanted the wool liner and full grain leather instead. I called explained what I wanted. Customer Service was terrific no hassles, return was no problem and the reorder was sent immediately. could not be more satisfied..Six Stars to the Customer Service Dept
I would recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thank You Santa!!

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Pearl River, NY
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
I've been asking for these boots for 3 years now and finally unwrapped them this Christmas! I absolutely love these boots although, it seems like it may be a bit hard to drive in these boots, not a big deal though. I live 30 minutes outside of NYC and we ski alot in Vermont and Upstate NY and these will be perfect for those trips. I'm looking forward to a big snowstorm so I can step outisde in my new Sorel's!! Bring on the Snow!!
Occasions: Active, Highly Versatile, Casual
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Camper

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: New York, NY
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
I purchase a pair of Joan of Arctic boots for my wife for Christmas, and she is a very picky shopper. She loves the boots and could not stop going on and on about how warm and comfortable they are. So I got a bit jealous and purchase a pair of Caribou for myself. She is definitely right, these boots are the warmest and most comfortable pair of boots I have ever purchased by far. Not to mention they are very stylish and the craftmenship is top notch.
After my mother saw my wife's new boots she also wanted a pair.
My only complaint, is that the boots are a little tight when trying to take them off. So my socks pull out everytime I take them off. But thats just a minor set back, considering they surpass all other boots I have purchased in the past.
These boots are definitely worth every penny.
Occasions: Active, Going Out, Casual
I would recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

harold in denver

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: denver colorado
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
i bought these boots on christmas and had a chance to start to break them in this last week.They seemed too do the job but the fit on the left boot is quite tight and hard to get into.I hope that with continued use it will loosen up.
Occasions: Active
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Oregon
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
I've only had these a few days now but they seem great.
Warm and comfortable. Plenty wide, almost think I could have gone with a half size less but I couldn't tell unless I had tried one on.
All in all they seem like a very well constructed and comfortable boot.
Only gave it a good rating because I haven't had them long enough to make a more informed decision.
Occasions: Active, Casual
I would recommend this product.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These boot are sick

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Pocono's, Pa
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
I love these boot they are so sick. I got them for Christmas and couldn't be more happier. They are really warm and comfortable. People always ask what size they should get? I got a size smaller than my normal shoe size and they fit great. I can't wait to get another snow storm soon so I can rock my Sorel's.
Occasions: Work, Highly Versatile, Casual
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great boots

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Ohio
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Large
True to Size
Too Large
I was excited when I received the boots, but when I tried them on they were too big. This isn't that big of a problem as the added room makes them easier to get on and off. The boots are the nicest I have ever owned, and I will be buying more sorels in the near future. The bottom line is that you need to buy these boots.
Occasions: Active
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stalwart in the Cold

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Houghton, MI
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
This boot is incredibly warm thanks to its wool and superb construction. It makes for an ideal boot for anyone that spends extended time outdoors. Its waterproofness seems to be fine, but it's mostly cold (not the wet) that my boots have so far seen. My only gripe is that they are a little loose around my ankles. They are, however, much less so than any other winter boots I've owned. I would highly recommend this boot to anyone that is through with cheap alternatives.
Occasions: Work, Highly Versatile
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dope boots

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: jackson, wy
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
great traction, good lookin', waterproof, warm... i wear an 11 in most shoes, bought these in a 10, probably could have gone down to a 9.5
Occasions: Active, Work, Highly Versatile, Other, Going Out, Casual
I would recommend this product.
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super warm boot

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Denver, CO
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Should have believed the other reviewers when they said the run big. Ordered the Caribou in my regular street shoe size and it's a good size to a size and half to big. Also the instep is tight when getting in the boot. A simple seam ripper took care of that issue.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next »