Customer reviews for Sorel Men's Caribou® Wool Boot

Sorel Men's Caribou® Wool Boot

This version of the classic Caribou has the same waterproof construction, full-grain leather upper and iconic silhouette you know and love, but comes with a wool inner boot instead of felt to keep feet warm, dry and cozy during activities in winter weather.
Overall rating:
4.37 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(119 reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 119 reviews
5 Stars
80
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
6
1 Star
6
101 out of 115(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Review 1 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The warmest boot on the planet

PostedOctober 21, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Branford, CT, USA
I have two pairs of Sorels, one for mild and one for severe conditions. I got this pair after photographing ski racers up at Jay Peak, near the Canadian border, on a day when there was ice on the inside of the windshield. These are the warmest boots on the planet, in my opinion. The only downside is that they are two wide and thick to safely drive a vehicle with. For that, I have my lighter duty pair. They also last forever, though you may need to replace the liner once every five years or so.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Longevity

PostedDecember 14, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Burt, NY
My boots are circa 1983, Commanders, and they are just about like these, without the wool collar. They have simulated ruff at top of liner, which I finally replaced back in 2004. I bought these boots to go snowmobiling in northern Maine, where temps were minus 20 to 30 F. I have worn these boots elsewhere since in temps to minus 45 F and my feet have never been cold. The only reason I need to replace them now is the fact that I never kept leather conditioned, so they have become very stiff, especially where the leather has formed creases, and that will actually cut the liner eventually. I remedied first liner with duct tape, may have to do again. But if you want warm, dry boots that will last and last, look no further. Santa , I need a new pair of Sorels........
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cariboooouu!!

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Michigan
Just got back from a trip to upper Michigan, where I was introduced to Sorel by a friend of mine who had a pair of Caribou's. I happend to slip them on one day and found myself wearing them every chance I got! If he was sleeping in, his boots were on my feet! The pack boots I brought I had to constantly swap with my work boots because they hardly stayed on my feet when active. Caribou's on the other hand stayed on my feet like a glove and they were 3 sizes to big and the laces were never tied (could slip em right on and off)!!! Adding to that they were easily the most comfortable boots ever. As far as the cold goes, it didnt get that cold maybe 15 F but im sure they will keep my feet warm in most earthly environments!
Woulda expected a higher price tag.. now im getting a pair of Sorel's for every ocasion!
I beleive I've found the most immpresive boots in the world! thanks Sorel!
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sorel in the snow

PostedMarch 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Portland OR
Kept my feet warm and cozy throughout a day of sledding near Mt. Bachelor. Love that I can remove the lining to dry it out separate from the shell. Would not have it any other way.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These boot are sick

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Pocono's, Pa
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
I love these boot they are so sick. I got them for Christmas and couldn't be more happier. They are really warm and comfortable. People always ask what size they should get? I got a size smaller than my normal shoe size and they fit great. I can't wait to get another snow storm soon so I can rock my Sorel's.
Occasions: Work, Highly Versatile, Casual
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stalwart in the Cold

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Houghton, MI
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
This boot is incredibly warm thanks to its wool and superb construction. It makes for an ideal boot for anyone that spends extended time outdoors. Its waterproofness seems to be fine, but it's mostly cold (not the wet) that my boots have so far seen. My only gripe is that they are a little loose around my ankles. They are, however, much less so than any other winter boots I've owned. I would highly recommend this boot to anyone that is through with cheap alternatives.
Occasions: Work, Highly Versatile
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unbelievably warm.

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Sidney, MT
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It hasn't gotten cold enough for me to start wearing these yet. I had to take them off after about five minutes of walking around in them because they made my feet sweat. They'll be perfect when winter comes to Montana. They fit well and are very comfortable. These boots are well made and are worth the money.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

first winter in fairbanks

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Fairbanks AK
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i just received my first pair of SORELS two weeks ago! my aunt who used to live in fairbanks recommended the wool liners for my first winter in fairbanks and in alaska. i needed a pair of warm waterproof boots that i can wear while mushing siberian huskies around fairbanks and denali national park. i also needed a boot for running errands in fairbanks when it hits -20F -30F -40F. i recommend putting SUPERFEET insoles inside the wool liners for more shock absorption and more heel support (i use SUPERFEET religiously in my other boots and running shoes). i bought my SORELS on sorel.com after sizing my feet at a local store that didn't carry the wool liner CARIBOUS btw.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

old sorels vs. new

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: denver colorado
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i wore a pair of sorel caribous for more than 20 years so they are very worn! i absolutely love my new boots! they fit perfect and are incredibly comfortable!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

carbou mans

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: michagan
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the boot are fine but the liners are to tight so had to cut the elastic front to get my foot in My size is 7 and i even try'd a 8 liner and the same to tight On the old liners the elastic front would open up easyto get your foot in Wish they sill had that type of liner
I would recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Boots

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: PA
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Just recieved my new Caribou's and these are high quality boots! They look and feel great! I ordered my normal size (11) and the wool liner fits perfect. The boot is a little large which is most likely by design. As a side note, shipping on these was extremely fast (1 business day from the order date). Just wanted to give a nod to the customer service level. Our household will be buying more from Sorel in the very near future!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these boots

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Connecticut
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Took a little getting used to having the removable liner. Now that I'm used to it wish I'd had it sooner. Great feature. Great boot - really warm and dry. Best winter camping boot I've had in a while
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Caribou boot review

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Cincinnati
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Look good and are comfortable. I have not had a chance to wear them out in the cold for a long period of time but will say so far they are very warm. The only issue I have right now is that they are tough to get on. I am hoping that is just because they are new and that once they break-in they will be fine. Overall I am happy and would recommend them.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men's Sorel Boots

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: New Prague,MN
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased these boots for my eldest son for Christmas. I took a chance ordering them online because he has a hard to fit foot that has a high instep. He was more than pleased. He wanted a nice comfortable pair of boots so he could spend time playing outside in our Minnesota winter with his triplet sons. His comment was "These are just great!" Thank-you for your fine product.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

IF ONLY ONE BOOT, BUT THE CARIBOU

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Lincoln, NE
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What's good:
- Leather is of good quality
- Boot keeps feet warm
- Shoe strings are sturdy
What's okay, but could be better:
- The texture of the rubber above the sole, though quality, collects dirt and stains
What's bad:
- The boot has poor traction on ice
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

terrific

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
well made. great quality. warm. look good. great purchase
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Boots!!

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Maine
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband loves his new Sorel Caribou boots. He has problems with his feet but he says the new boots are comfortable and sturdy. Also, they have excellent treads so he doesn't worry about falling. Thanks for a fine product.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Boot, so warm!

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This boot is amazing. The liner is great because it's designed in a way that it doesn't take your sock off with the boot when you remove your boots. Also, plenty wide to wear thick socks in. Only thing I will say is, I got the Olive Brown Dark Ginger color and the upper leather part looks brown in the picture but it is definitely more like a dark moss green or army green.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Hannibal, NY 13074, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These boots are the best. I have had a pair for over twenty years, and I am here to purchase another. The price is steep, but it is money well spent. For extreme cold weather one can not do better, :).
The only drawback, they do not do well in water well above where the leather and the rubber shell meet, but for extreme cold and snow only they are the best.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Caribou® Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just got my boots

PostedOctober 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Sterling, VA
I just got my boots and they fit great. Very confortable. I got them early this year because last winter I couldn't find the tabacco color in my size. But I'm glad I waited. I'm giving it 5 stars now on looks fit and confort. I have high hopes for this boot this winter and I will write back when I put them through some snow shoveling and out door work.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 Next »