Customer reviews for Sorel Men's Alpha Pac™ Boot

Sorel Men's Alpha Pac™ Boot

Moving fast through extreme environments calls for footwear that won’t weigh you down: after all, performing your best in arctic weather is hard enough without bulky boots.
Overall rating:
4.312 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
13 out of 16(81%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Review 1 for Men's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MoonBoot replacement

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Vagabond
Location: Canton, Ohio
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
I needed new winter boots and remembered how comfy my 70's Moonboots were. (though still too bulky) This Sorel version brought that style back with a more sophisticated design that is fully-functional, comfy and stylish. The two adjustment straps give you some well needed snugness for surefootedness. Not planning on being in the arctic tundra so these should suit my needs even if it's all day snowmobiling or winter hiking. I'm sure they could be made less expensively but why compromise on quality for your feet. I look forward to wearing these in many years to come.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoes

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Jeff2112
Location: Pgh,pa
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shoes are warm and light. I have no trouble walking up and down hills ect. I was able to stand out in the cold for very long periods of time, without freezing my feet off. I recommend these shoes to anyone who works outside in the winter.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for Hard Winter Use.

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
PolarBearB4HughOnIrt
Location: Western Maine Mountains
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Got a pair of these Alpha Pac for ice fishing, snowshoeing and other winter activities. Very warm for the weight and size, but they are not durable or waterproof. Water resistant maybe.
The real problem with them though is the stitching joining the rubber lower to the fabric upper let go after two months of heavy use. Out in conditions from -40f to 20f. Water from drilling the holes got in the stitching I think. Then when it froze it wore on the stitching. Couple that with the flexing from walking and I think that's what made it let go.
If you just want something to get you to the mall and back these will look good doing it, and keep you warm. You want something that will get through a whole winter of ice fishing and trekking, look elsewhere.
I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Boot With Minor Misgivings

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer avatar
bhilip
Location: Iqaluit, NU
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Living in Iqaluit, Nunavut in Canada's Arctic I needed a reliable, lightweight and (most of all) WARM boot. The Alpha Pac had the mobility I needed to be unencumbered while walking (at least 4 km/day), the durability to get through it all (snowmobiling, ocean pack-ice, craggy rocks), and the warmth to withstand the worst of the arctic winter (coldest I had the boots was -58 degrees centigrade - my feet were happily toasty). A VERY nice boot for anyone looking to stay warm and maintain mobility.
I have few misgivings about the boot, and what problems I have are relatively minor. I think it's important to be aware of the little things beforehand - so they don't catch you by surprise.
1 - When you stand on ice and aren't moving it does get a little chilly. Building igloos for a couple hours on ice was a little chilly, even with the air being only -10 degrees.
2 - The elastic draw strings are efficient means of securing the boot. Unfortunately they are the weakest piece of the boot. I was wary of these bands, treated them with care, and still they broke (albeit after 3 months of daily use).
3 - Sizing. Make sure you buy the boots snug. You won't need to pack in extra thick socks (as was advised by my salesman). The boots insulate well enough on their own.
4 - Water. While accidentally stepping through the ice I did get water in my boot - not much, but enough to give me a bit of a shock while a few kilometres from town. However, I should qualify this by saying that while they did leak, my foot remained warm all the way home (despite the soaker).
This is by far the best winter boot I have ever worn. I would highly recommend it to anyone.
Occasions: Active, Highly Versatile, Other, Going Out
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

GREAT COMPANY - TERRIBLE BOOT

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Richie
Location: Kingston, WI
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
THE TAG SAYS - WATERPROOF. THEY ARE NOT!!!
I bought these boots on sale from an outlet store in WI for the best price I found anywhere including online. I read the reviews, checked numerous sites and information, and because I had Sorel boots before and I liked the design I bought them. I needed some lighter weight boots for ice fishing.
One out of ten of the reviews was bad, and had stated "NOT WATERPROOF". That was true then and it is the reason for my bad opinion on these boots. These boots are NOT waterproof!!!
Anything that isn't rubber WILL LEAK WATER!!! And if the boot can't keep water out, cold is sure to follow. I wore these boots twice since buying them 4 days ago, and yesterday in the snow they were comfortable but a little cold in the toes while being on the ice. After today while going through some slush on the lakes I could feel my feet, toes and ankles getting wet.
I'm bummed big time as I really like my old Sorel's and I thought this design was cool. If you want something to go sledding in. maybe even run a snowmobile for an hour or two...fine. But if you need something dependable, durable, warm and dry for a longer period of time this is not the boot for you.
Occasions: Active, Work, Highly Versatile
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous boot

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Customer avatar
mangoman
Location: Oakton, Virginia
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Fit's well...though it doesn't come in half sizes. Round up to allow thick wool socks, and you're fit will be nice and cozy. Beautiful boot with plenty of traction in the snow, and warm as you'll ever need a boot to be.
Occasions: Active
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Quality Product

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Croc4967
Location: Keene, NH
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
I used my Sorel Alpha Pac boots snowmobiling in NH the other day and I'm very satisfied with their performance. The boot is light and very warm. I walked through about 8 inches of snow and my feet were dry and warm the whole time. They are easy to adjust and they have great grip. I will definitely buy from Sorel again!
Occasions: Active, Highly Versatile
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great combination of fashion with function

PostedDecember 10, 2011
Customer avatar
DIYALEX
Location: Columbus, OH
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
After 3 years of daily use, I finally chose to replace my Alpha Pac boots with the same exact ones. These are the best winter boots that I've ever owned. Previously, I had never owned a pair of boots with a gator built in. Not only does the gator add a flair of style to your boots, but it becomes extremely functional when taking my dogs out for a walk. These boots look great on. I was initially unsure how masculine these boots would look with my pants tucked into the gator, but my concerns were washed away by all of the compliments that I received from them. The only con is that these particular boots do not have great traction for the ice. I occasionally would lose my balance when walking my dogs on sidewalks in which the snow had never been shoveled (Snow melts during the day and freezes at night. Leaving black ice). Because of that I also chose to buy the Caribou (Better lugged soles) in addition to another pair of the Pac boots. My Pac boots just got worn down because of normal wear and tear and would highly recommend them to anyone!
Occasions: Active, Work, Highly Versatile, Going Out, Casual
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Boot

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Customer avatar
TimH
Location: Denver, CO
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
I will admit that at first I was apprehensive at buying a boot made by Sorel, since the original company went bankrupt and it was acquired by Columbia. After looking at the quality that Columbia is striving for in their other apparel I decided to go ahead and give them a try. It looks like Columbia has continued the great construction that the original company was known for. We just hit -5 degrees in Denver, CO and my feet (including toes) were toasty warm. The removable liner is nice if you ever do any winter camping, or get them soaked. We also just received over 10" of snow over the last couple of days, and I didn't notice any leaks in the boots, and they had pretty good grip on ice. The drawstring cinching as opposed to tying the boot is wonderful, no trying to tie boots with mittens any more! My hat's off to Columbia for the great design.
Occasions: Active, Going Out, Casual
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great Boots; NOT Durable

PostedMarch 14, 2011
Customer avatar
dfay
Location: Devil's Lake, North Dakota
Love these boots! Very comfortable, very warm, and light enough to hike or snowshoe for hours. But . . . the waterproof lining is peeling away from the inside of the BOTH boots around the ankle and water leaks right in. (I discovered this today while walking through slush in my driveway) Also, a patch of canvas designed to reinforce the heel of the boot liner is tearing at the seam. I have owned the boots for 5 months and I wear them several times a week: sledding, ice fishing, and shoveling snow.
While these are the most practical and comfortable winter boots I've ever owned, there lack of durability earns only two stars. Not recommended, especially for heavy use.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My original Super Sorels

PostedFebruary 9, 2011
Customer avatar
barefoot
Location: Boston, MA
As I sit here with my 35 year old Super Sorels on, it pains me to retire them. I have loved them all those years. They still fit but I have a hard time with the laces because of a disability. The Alpha Pacs are easy on and off. My originals had the liners replaced twice and the laces replaced probably 5 times. The tonque of one boot is torn but otherwise I still wear them! Thank You Sorel.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Alpha Pac,Great Boots

PostedJanuary 16, 2011
Customer avatar
spider
Location: South Carolina
I needed a pair of cold weather boots since I wear sneakers mostly year round.I read the reviews of those from the Northern States and was impressed.I didn't want lace up boots because I know what its like to get them off when the laces get wet and cold.Being from the south,we don't get that much snow so I didn't want to break the bank with boots I won't wear that often.We did get a snow recently and I tried them out and was pleased with how warm and light they were.The slip in and out is a plus with these boots.I don't regret buying these boots.Well made and removable liner is nice as well.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best boots I've ever had

PostedNovember 25, 2010
Customer avatar
Dugg
Location: Calgary
Had these for 2 winters in Calgary, last week we were -37 C with the windchill, and the only part of me that wasn't cold was my feet. Very comfortable, easy on and off (which is a big help when the rest of you is frozen). and light enough that they aren't bothersome. Would recomend to anybody.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Alpha Pac is the PERFECT Snow Boot! Read on..

PostedFebruary 6, 2010
Customer avatar
BlackAnt
Location: Nittany Lion Country
After several years of settling for mediocre winter boots along with the frustration of having to lace up boots, getting snow packed in the laces, cold toes, etc., I set out to find the perfect winter/snow boot. I must say I'm happy as a cucumber that I found these boots. I live in Pennsylvania and over the past 2 days my town had a total accumulation of 18 inches of snow, kind of rare for our area, but it happens every now and then. These boots were a pleasure to be outside in. So comfortable, with the super warm liner you probably don't even need to wear socks, but I usually wear ski socks. Great construction, they look amazing...like a real snow boot. No lacing necessary. Slip them on and go! A great strap up top to keep the snow out. Super traction. The bright reflective strip down the side is a nice touch. Sorel, you hit the ball out of the park with this one. Thanks!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very nice pac boots

PostedJanuary 11, 2010
Customer avatar
GS34
Location: Chicago
Pros: Very lightweight, . Easy to put boots on/take off... I love the buckle system these boots have. Most importantly they keep feet warm and dry.
Have had these boots for 4 weeks and am very pleased. I live in Chicago and the weather during this time period has been consistently below freezing, the lowest I have experienced so far was -5 degrees Farenheit. 9mm felt liner is plenty warm, I only wear 1 pair of socks and have had no issues with warmth. Only complaint, and it is a very minor one at that, is there could be more ankle support. I walk a couple miles daily and haven't had any issue but I could not say for certain these would be great for hiking.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-only reviews for Men's Alpha Pac™ Boot
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product