Customer reviews for Sorel Men's Mad Boot Lace™

Sorel Men's Mad Boot Lace™

Combining a water resistant full-grain leather upper with the performance and durability of a molded rubber outsole, this stylish boot provides comfort and protection for long, active days in a variety of conditions.
Overall rating:
4.739 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(65 reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 65 reviews
5 Stars
51
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
62 out of 63(98%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Mad Boot Lace™
Review 1 for Men's Mad Boot Lace™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Boot

PostedAugust 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: PDX
I think the industrial/work look in general, but really like the spin Sorel put on it with these boots. While I haven;t worn them much, they fit well, look great. There is a break in period, of course. Overall a great boot.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Mad Boot Lace™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect fit

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Beond
The tung and boot being sown together makes for a great boot with little to no wear in time and the soft leather resist scuffs better then I thought it could the only concern is the soft spot where sorel's logo is it could be thicker rubber and not so sunk in to provide a longer life for your boot especially if you ride motorcycles your pegs seem to fit right in there but otherwise best boot iv ever had I still havent got even the slightest blister spots that the usuial old military style boots always seem to give at least for the first 50 or so miles but these from mile one have been insainly comfortable iv probably got 70 miles of wear on mine and there just getting better
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byjamiejeans
grand rapids,mi
 
Please wait while more information about jamiejeans is loaded.
Additional information about jamiejeans could not be loaded.
Laces
onNovember 30, 2011
I want to purchase these for my husband for christmas and I need to know if the laces are able to be tightened to fit snug?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 3 for Men's Mad Boot Lace™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome boots

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Hands down best boots I've ever owned.. super comfortable and incredibly stylish..
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Mad Boot Lace™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome boots

PostedNovember 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:Yes
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
I got these boots a few weeks ago and they are great. Normally I can only wear boots when it's really cold but these boots can be worn at any time as they don't make my feet sweat.
Occasions: Work, Casual
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Mad Boot Lace™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Albuquerque
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
These things are great. Very Stylish, but sturdy at the same time. Takes a couple of wears to make them feel lush but once you get past that stage they look and feel great - very happy!
Occasions: Highly Versatile, Casual
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Mad Boot Lace™
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent boot

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Great boot. Nice quality and overall great styling. My only advice is to order a half-size smaller than your normal size. I feel they fit slightly larger than expected. They also keep your feet pretty warm, surprisingly. They're quite comfortable as well.
The Chipmunk brown leather has some nice character to the leather. They don't take very long to break in. Highly recommended.
Occasions: Highly Versatile
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Mad Boot Lace™
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Classic yet agressive!

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Billings, MT
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
These boots look better in person than they do in the picture. The leather quality is remarkable and they are possibly the most comfortable boots I own. The size does run just a bit large. Also an important thing to be aware of is THESE BOOTS ARE NOT INSULATED. There is no form of insulation anywhere on these boots so if you're looking for a cold weather winter boot then best look at a different style. If you just want a pair of beautifully made boots that will have your friends wondering when you became such a fashionista these are the ones!
Occasions: Going Out, Casual
I would recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Mad Boot Lace™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Over all great boot

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Gunnison CO
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought them for my Fiance for a work boot. He is a true size 12 but knew sorels run a tiny bit large so we got an 11 1/2. They fit him perfect and work great in the hot weather. He is a carpenter and needs long lasting durable boots. So far these are great!
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Mad Boot Lace™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I actually think the best boot I have owned

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Newton, Mass
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Recently moved from North Carolina to Boston for work. Got the Kitchener frost for snow (love them) but no opportunity yet to wear in snow. I walk two miles to work each day along the Charles, and needed more of a boot to do the walk. Got these yesterday and just walked 4 miles in them. Not only are they really cool looking, but they are perhaps the most comfortable shoe I have owned. With slacks the black ones look great. I was having pain in foot and knee on my walks to/from work - got none of this while walking in these boots today(I know sounds crazy). Tread has great traction, leather very soft. I am an 11, ordered 11 and it fit fine. Am going to immediately order another pair in another color
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Mad Boot Lace™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Boots! Order half size down.

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle, WA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought these boots for stomping around on rainy and snowy days. Right out of the box they are very comfortable and continue to feel better everytime I wear them. They are pretty light weight given the style of boot they are. Would highly recommend them for someone who wants a stylish and functional boot. I generally wear size 11.5 in athletic shoes and dress shoes, ordered a half size down (11) and they fit perfect.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Mad Boot Lace™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Killington, VT
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These boots are very sturdy and excellently made. They are very durable and fashionable. Receive many compliments and am very enthusiastic in sharing how well constructed the soles are.
Have worn them in a major snow storm this week and they appear to be holding up in the waterproof department!
Good value and good purchase. These are well worth the money for the good workmanship.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Mad Boot Lace™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good S--T

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: bay area calif
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
know the brand, knew the style,great everything
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Mad Boot Lace™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product - wish I ordered a size smaller!

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is truly a quality boot with a very comfortable wear. My personal size is just a bit large; not enough to return. If hiking or walking miles a day I would return for a half size smaller. Please remember that when ordering (I was a know it all and didn't follow the reviews I read about sizes running large)!
I love my boots - so light!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Mad Boot Lace™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Boot

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The quality of these boots is excellent. From the minute they were on my foot I knew that these boots were worth the money. They are also pretty stylish. These boots have a thick comfortable sole, they are definitely not "dress up" and look sleek and sharp boots, but more the rugged, lumberjack, outdoors kinda look. Especially nice for the fall/winter when the weather is sloppy.
Usually wear a size 12, but an 11 was a great fit.
One other note, is that these boots my be "helpful" for shorter guys. I'm 6'1" so I dont need the extra height, but the soles on these shoes definitely make me feel taller.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Mad Boot Lace™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharp!

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Shoes arrived fairly quickly. Boots are very sharp looking. I like to chipmunk color and price fits the bill. For those concern about sizing, order down. To give comparison, I wear and 8.5 in Lacoste brand, 9 in Nikes, and mainly 8.5 in everything else. I debated 8.5 and 8 and went with 8 since most reviews say order down. Glad I went to 8 as it fits like a half-size bigger. Still room without pressing against your toes.
The boots look sharp, goes with casual clothing's, won't be my everyday boots for Chicago snow because I want to keep it looking fresh and clean for nicer winter outfits, not everyday rugged terrain.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Mad Boot Lace™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best looking winter boot

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Coming to Boston from LA, these were the first boots I have ever purchased. At first I was nervous about wearing boots since they look immeasurably uncomfortable.
That being said, these boots have changed my perspective. They fit well and they are most definitely comfortable. Most other winter boots tend to focus on function rather than style (you know, those boots with rubber all over them) but these deliver on both. I have had no problems trekking through snow and staying warm.
If you care about style, comfort and utility. You have to get one of these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Mad Boot Lace™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Boot Choice

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle, WA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased a pair of Mad Boots to wear at work as a plainclothes police officer. I wanted something non "police" looking that would keep me dry, comfortable, and last a considerable period of time. I researched many alternatives but found the Mad Boots to be well reviewed and well priced. I got the Seal Brown color and covered them in mink oil for water protection. It worked well and made the boots slightly darker which I liked. So far they've kept my feet dry in the rain. They're slightly larger than the average boot but I had a pair of Sorel's Woodbine's so I went with the same size and they fit well. I also wear thick socks. The soles are very comfortable but I've noticed they can slightly slip on a slick surface, like wet tile etc. I also agree that they can be tough to get on in a hurry, but the no-tongue helps keep water out so it's worth it. Just be prepared to spend 1 min getting them on. I would easily recommend Mad Boots in the $100-$120 range!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Mad Boot Lace™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Style and comfort

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Lancaster, PA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These boots were purchased as a Christmas gift and the recipient couldn't have been happier. They look great and are extremely comfortable. He is wearing them when a dressier look is desired.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Mad Boot Lace™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great boot

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Fort Payne AL
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this boot for my step son for Christmas. He absolutely loved them. He's 20 and they were just what he wanted. He said they were good to work in and casual enough to wear everyday. In fact I've seen him were them a lot since he got them.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Mad Boot Lace™
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good quality, but NO BOOT STRAP!!

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Luckily I purchased these boots on sale for $95.00 because if I had spent $199.00 on them I would be fuming. As far as size goes, I usually wear a 10, but ordered a 9.5. it fit well, but would be tight with thick socks, so I think they run true to size. My biggest complaint is that THERE IS NO BOOT STRAP!! These are tall boots and without a boot strap I nearly get a hernia every morning trying to put these boots on. I'm looking for a foot long shoe horn just to put them on. Once on the boots are comfortable and keep the snow out, but I'm starting to dread putting them on every morning.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 Next »