Customer reviews for Sorel Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe

Sorel Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe

Inspired by the hunting shoes of the mid 1800’s, our modern interpretation of the Derby can be worn with or without laces and features full-grain leather in classic colors, leather lining and footbed and a leather sole with rubber pods for increased traction so you stay comfortable throughout the day.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
39 out of 42(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Review 1 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sharp-looking, but marginal quality soles

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
CTag
Location: Kentucky
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought both colors of this shoe. They manage to pull off looking both classy and casual equally well. The strings are leather, and the leather upper appears to be very high quality.
However the front edge of the sole immediately came unglued on one of the two pairs. The sole is very thin, maybe less than 1/4" and I'm sure it will tear away if I don't have it re-glued. The thin inner footbed is not supportive at all, and is not removable, so I had to put a better quality footbed over the top of the original. It seems to be working.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Alright alright alright

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
AllRight
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This review is for the Men's Derby shoe, right shoe only. The left shoe cannot currently be tested.
Really happy with this shoe though. I was holding off on buying new shoes until my (lesser) foot healed from it's dramatic shark wrestling/sky diving from space/ultimate frisbee injury (only one of those is true), and I didn't want to be wearing one shoe around and then bust out the other shoe a month later creating an awkward situation where one shoe was worn and the other was shiny and brand new and in my confusion it caused me to write excessively long sentences. BUT, it's been worth it. My right foot has been hella comfy at work of late.
Fit was large as everyone else mentioned so I ordered a size below. Boom. No heel rub or anything like that as mentioned elsewhere. No comments on how awesome they look either, though. Probably because they're distracted by my lesser foot.
But my right foot really likes these shoes. Still waiting to see if the left one is good
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

True to size for me

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
KarlinHTown
Location: Houston, TX
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my third pair of Sorel shoes, and I've definitely become of fan. Like the other two pairs, I ordered these in a size 13 and couldn't imagine going any smaller. These look good, fit great and are comfortable all day long at work.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Order 1 size down

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Travo
Location: Las Vegas
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These run big for me. I'd recommend ordering 1 size down from what you typically wear
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Traction

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Blamados
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Footwear Attitude: Function over fashion
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great shoe. it is very versatile, I can go causal or a little dressier. They have great traction for those slippery winter months. They are very comfortable, and only took a few days to fully break-in.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Derby looked great

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bigdogwillhunt
Location: Bend, OR
Footwear Attitude: Function over fashion
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My shoe size is 10 1/2 2E and the shoes were to narrow for me and I returned them. I did love the look of the shoe.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

re: stylish

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Charlie85
Location: San Jose, CA
Footwear Attitude: Function over fashion
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've only worn these once in public but I will wear them extensively in Italy in April/May this year, so I'll know more then. My foot is size 14 and they fit just right in a size 13. Thanks to all those reviewers who complained of a large fit. I wouldn't have ordered the Derby's if you hadn't. At this early state what I like most is their sleek design which is visually helpful with feet my size. They are comfortable but will need some wear to lessen the rub below the ankles.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

satisfied customer

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
wife
Location: New Orleans
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these shoes for my husband on the recommendation of a friend. I bought them a half size smaller than he usually wears and that fit perfectly. the style is terrific and the leather is very soft which makes the shoe very comfortable (so says my husband). I recommend these shoes.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe. Can wear it "dress up" or casual

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joe43
Location: Portland OR
Footwear Attitude: Function over fashion
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got this shoe in both colors. Wish they would make it in black also.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Winner

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bebe
Location: Kentucky
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
This is my husbands third pair. He loves this brand, both in comfort and looks.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great shoe

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
hikey
Location: oregon
Footwear Attitude: Function over fashion
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My boyfriend loves this shoe, so happy to find it here... on sale, in time for the holidays and with speedy, inexpensive shipping.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ORDER 1/2 SIZE DOWN

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
MarriedLady
Location: Augusta, GA
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband usually wears a 10.5. We first ordered a size 11 because of the way his foot measured on the scale we printed out. We returned that ordered a 10.5 and it was too roomy still. Ordered a size 10 and it fits perfectly. My husband has narrow feet and he usually can only find Vans that fit comfortably but he said these are the most comfortable shoes he has ever worn! So much so even though we went through the hassle of 3 different orders to get the right size I am ordering the other color so he has both!
Also the color with each pair varied with darkness. We ordered the Elk. Each pair came with difference hues, which adds a nice touch since its leather.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Unique Look-Great Comfort

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jeff12
Location: Woodbury, NY
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shoe arrived looking great, if not a little different color wise than I expected. Color was not smooth or similar throughout pattern with "blotches" of darker colors. In the end thought it gave the shoe a unique perspective though think some may be disappointed if color is not true throughout.
From a size perspective I ordered a 12 and for the most part it fits accurately since I believe I have one foot that's a little longer than the other, that shoe is a little tighter but has stretched some with wearing. Have to say shoes are incredibly well made and in spite of the limited tightness have been comfortable to wear under varied conditions. This is my first experience with a Sorel-branded product and I am extremely happy with the purchase-delivery process and the exceptional quality. Obviously I was also delighted paying half price for a shoe well worth the $140 asking price.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shoes but order a half size down

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Spencer
Location: Springfield, MO
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I originally went to purchase these on the clymb, but I didn't get to it in time. Luckily I was still able to buy them directly from Sorel. I have no complaints what-so-ever, but I wish had read more of the reviews before I ordered. My true size is a 12.5, but they are hard to find so I ordered a size 13 as usual; and they were way too roomy. That being the case I ordered a pair of 12s, waited for them to arrive and tried them on side by side with the 13s. The 12s were a less tight than 13s were loose. I decided to keep the 12s and they were comfy within an hour of wear, and Sorel handled the return with ease. I was so impressed that I just bought some stacked mocs from them so I could have two different pairs of Sorels.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love em'

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
ScottyFNK
Location: Dallas, TX
Footwear Attitude: Trendsetter
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These are a steal for the price they're selling for. As with every other review on here, order 1/2 to a full size down. I typically wear a 10.5-11 and ordered a 10 and they fit perfectly. They're comfortable and broken in right out of the box and I've received multiple complements on them.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great shoe

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
ser1clymber
Location: Auburn,AL
Footwear Attitude: Function over fashion
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The shoes are a good fit, but had to go with a 1/2 size smaller because the run a little large. The leather seems to be in great quality but showed wear a little after wearing them once, but seems to just be the weather getting broken in. Still very please so far with the fit and feel of the shoes. Would definitely recommend them.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fits Like a Sock

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Loserboy
Location: Centreville, VA
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shoes look good. They are SUPER comfortable. They fit like a sock and were comfortable from day one.
I bought two pair, brown and tan. My only complaints are that the two colors looked distinct fom each other in pictures but are actually almost the same. It's going to take some dark brown polish to get them to look different.
The reason I didn't give a 5 was the color and then the heel. The heel was MUCH smaller than a normal shoe heel. While it might be more comfortable for a long day of walking, it looks a little less dressy.
Again, a great shoe. It looks good and feels great. I'm excited to see how they perform on a long day of walking and in bad weather.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

business casual

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jacob
Location: Fairfax, VA
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hope this review finds you helpful. The fit is slightly large and wide, i.e., about 1/2 inch; but decide for yourself. The quality is bit poor, i.e., glueing between the sole and leather shows gap and spot-uneven. However, the leather quality is very good, at least for the initial look and feel. It should be note that the heal is about 1/2 inch tall.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Shoe

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shano
Location: Iowa
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I ordered these online and they came fast. Nice shoe, fit well, very thin material though. I think I paid enough for them ($80.00) but am happy I bought them
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice comfortable shoe

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alexi0
Location: Boston, MA
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got a half size larger shoe that I normally wear. Overall, I think they are true to the size, but rather narrow. Hence for my wider foot 11 feels just right (instead of my usual 10.5).
I like the quality, looks and comfort of these shoes. The only thing I might change is using regular laces. Leather ones that came with shoes are too thick for office wear.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
123Next »