Customer reviews for Sorel Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe

Sorel Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe

Inspired by the hunting shoes of the mid 1800’s, our modern interpretation of the Derby can be worn with or without laces and features full-grain leather in classic colors, leather lining and footbed and a leather sole with rubber pods for increased traction so you stay comfortable throughout the day.
Overall rating:
4.511 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
40 out of 43(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Review 1 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Classic looking shoe with modern twist.

PostedMay 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Oklahoma
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Perfect for casual and dress. Leather is beautiful. The toe box is elongated giving the shoe a nice modern look. The shoe seems to be very well crafted, however, I'm sending my shoes back to be fixed/replaced as the rubber sole has de-laminated from the upper sole at the toe. This happened after only 3 days of wear. Hopefully, this is just a faulty pair, but Sorel is standing behind their products as usual and taking care of it for me.
Occasions: Work, Highly Versatile, Going Out, Casual
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super comfortable

PostedMay 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:Yes
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got these about a month ago and they are so comfortable. Great new shoe that I wear constantly.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Unfinished edges

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portsmouth, NH
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
While the comfort and support from the sole of the shoe is exemplary, this is offset by the raw sharpness of the edges around the ankle, such that the top of the heel quickly scrapes away to create a painful abrasion on the tendons of the heel.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stylish and Comfortable

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Pebble Beach, CA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed to a pair of comfortable shoes to wear at work where a tie and jacket dress is the norm. These fit the bill. The have a nice sleek look, and I like the throwback style. I am eager to get a couple more pairs of Sorels to wear for work.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice shoe

PostedJune 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fit . Comfy. My X loves them. Need I say more
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the shoe, not the glue!

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: MT
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bought these through Amazon, mainly for their sole. I gave them a fair quality rating, again, because of the sole. I wanted a nice work shoe that didn't have a slick sole (MT winters) and was excited when i found these. Within 1 month the sole on both shoes had started separating at the toe. Sorel was willing to evaluate for warranty issue, but said it was a 4-6 week turn around. Thank goodness for Archer's Grizzly Boot Co in Missoula. A few bucks and 24 hours later they were better than brand new. I realize I may have gotten a bum pair, but because of the sole, I wouldn't recommend them unless you're OK with the potential of sending them back or have a quality shoe repair shop close by. Everything else about this shoe is amazing.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Comfortable

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Miami, FL
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable, light and non slip surface. Got a lot of compliments for its Retro style. I wear them mainly with khakis. They run a little big so get it 1/2 size smaller and it should fit great.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great shoes

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Los ANgeles
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome fit and great quality. Only thing they got creases real fast from wearing but since these are my first true leather shoes I had in 10 years so it may be part of the package.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Sleek Casual Friday Look!

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: New York, NY
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Most of the reviews are correct, it is a half-size bigger. The shoe tongue base corners are rough and rub against my feet, not good. Wear thick socks to fix that. Not recommended.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

At long last mine

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Maryland
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had waited for 2 years since I saw these recommended in Outside magazine as a shoe that fit like a running shoe but would be acceptable in the office. The $140 price made me blanch a bit so I waited and then forgot about them for a while until I recently rediscovered them at $70 and bought them immediately. They have been everything I thought they would be and I could not be happier ....
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great looking shoes, but not comfortable

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These shoes look great and I was very happy with them out of the box. The shoes felt a bit stiff out of the box, but that is often the case, so I was not worried. I have now worn these 5 times and I am sad to say that the fit has not improved. My feet hurt each time I wear them. The quality is not my concern, simply the fit of the shoe.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pair of shoes

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Stow, OH
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for a pair of shoes that I could wear with jeans and yet still feel dressy. This fit the bill perfectly. If you're between half sizes go with the larger size. I sometimes wear 9.5 and sometime 10 - I ordered the 10 and it fits perfectly. I liked the style and sale price so much I went back online and ordered a pair in the dark brown color, too.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Such an excellent pair of shoes. Hope Sorel never discontinues them!

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shoes are excellent. I have received so many compliments on these shoes in the short time that I have had them. More importantly, they're very comfortable, and had a very short break-in period. I was so impressed with the pair of shoes I ordered that I ordered the other color within a week. I really do hope Sorel continues this line as I'm really impressed.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

business casual

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Fairfax, VA
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hope this review finds you helpful. The fit is slightly large and wide, i.e., about 1/2 inch; but decide for yourself. The quality is bit poor, i.e., glueing between the sole and leather shows gap and spot-uneven. However, the leather quality is very good, at least for the initial look and feel. It should be note that the heal is about 1/2 inch tall.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fits Like a Sock

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Centreville, VA
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shoes look good. They are SUPER comfortable. They fit like a sock and were comfortable from day one.
I bought two pair, brown and tan. My only complaints are that the two colors looked distinct fom each other in pictures but are actually almost the same. It's going to take some dark brown polish to get them to look different.
The reason I didn't give a 5 was the color and then the heel. The heel was MUCH smaller than a normal shoe heel. While it might be more comfortable for a long day of walking, it looks a little less dressy.
Again, a great shoe. It looks good and feels great. I'm excited to see how they perform on a long day of walking and in bad weather.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Unique Look-Great Comfort

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Woodbury, NY
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shoe arrived looking great, if not a little different color wise than I expected. Color was not smooth or similar throughout pattern with "blotches" of darker colors. In the end thought it gave the shoe a unique perspective though think some may be disappointed if color is not true throughout.
From a size perspective I ordered a 12 and for the most part it fits accurately since I believe I have one foot that's a little longer than the other, that shoe is a little tighter but has stretched some with wearing. Have to say shoes are incredibly well made and in spite of the limited tightness have been comfortable to wear under varied conditions. This is my first experience with a Sorel-branded product and I am extremely happy with the purchase-delivery process and the exceptional quality. Obviously I was also delighted paying half price for a shoe well worth the $140 asking price.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ORDER 1/2 SIZE DOWN

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Augusta, GA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband usually wears a 10.5. We first ordered a size 11 because of the way his foot measured on the scale we printed out. We returned that ordered a 10.5 and it was too roomy still. Ordered a size 10 and it fits perfectly. My husband has narrow feet and he usually can only find Vans that fit comfortably but he said these are the most comfortable shoes he has ever worn! So much so even though we went through the hassle of 3 different orders to get the right size I am ordering the other color so he has both!
Also the color with each pair varied with darkness. We ordered the Elk. Each pair came with difference hues, which adds a nice touch since its leather.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe. Can wear it "dress up" or casual

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Portland OR
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got this shoe in both colors. Wish they would make it in black also.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

re: stylish

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: San Jose, CA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've only worn these once in public but I will wear them extensively in Italy in April/May this year, so I'll know more then. My foot is size 14 and they fit just right in a size 13. Thanks to all those reviewers who complained of a large fit. I wouldn't have ordered the Derby's if you hadn't. At this early state what I like most is their sleek design which is visually helpful with feet my size. They are comfortable but will need some wear to lessen the rub below the ankles.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Order 1 size down

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Las Vegas
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These run big for me. I'd recommend ordering 1 size down from what you typically wear
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 Next »