Customer reviews for Sorel Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe

Sorel Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe

Inspired by the hunting shoes of the mid 1800’s, our modern interpretation of the Derby can be worn with or without laces and features full-grain leather in classic colors, leather lining and footbed and a leather sole with rubber pods for increased traction so you stay comfortable throughout the day.
Overall rating:
4.511 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
40 out of 43(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Review 1 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Looks great; fit can be a challenge

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Looks very fashionable and and fits my business casual workplace attire. The leather is supple. The heel on the shoe is minimal. The rubber soles grip the floor well; I hope they don't wear out too quickly.
I usually wear a Size 8 (US) and hence purchased one on-line. The shoe that arrived was about 1/2" too long. I exchanged it for a 7-1/2 and will wait for its arrival. A couple of red flags should have stopped me from purchasing the item, but I was eager: (1) don't buy a shoes without trying them on a pair, even if it's not exactly the right size, and (2) the website lists this shoe as a US8/UK7.5 whereas the shoes I own are US8/UK7. I'm not sure why there was a discrepancy.
Note: The stores I visited to exchange the shoes do not carry shoes less than a Size 8 (US). Smaller shoe sizes can only be purchased online.
I'm looking forward to getting the right-sized shoes so I can enjoy them.
Occasions: Work, Casual
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Classic looking shoe with modern twist.

PostedMay 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Oklahoma
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Perfect for casual and dress. Leather is beautiful. The toe box is elongated giving the shoe a nice modern look. The shoe seems to be very well crafted, however, I'm sending my shoes back to be fixed/replaced as the rubber sole has de-laminated from the upper sole at the toe. This happened after only 3 days of wear. Hopefully, this is just a faulty pair, but Sorel is standing behind their products as usual and taking care of it for me.
Occasions: Work, Highly Versatile, Going Out, Casual
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super comfortable

PostedMay 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:Yes
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got these about a month ago and they are so comfortable. Great new shoe that I wear constantly.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Derby LTR - great lightweight casual shoe

PostedMay 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Spokane WA
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great style, quality (on second time around) and comfortably lightweight. Ideal for travel, as well as casual work and play. I had to send back original pair due to poor quality. Company was extraordinarily accommodating in their return policy and sent out another pair immediately and without question. Unfortunately, quality control should have been in place prior to orig. shipment.
I would recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Unfinished edges

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portsmouth, NH
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
While the comfort and support from the sole of the shoe is exemplary, this is offset by the raw sharpness of the edges around the ankle, such that the top of the heel quickly scrapes away to create a painful abrasion on the tendons of the heel.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stylish and Comfortable

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Pebble Beach, CA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed to a pair of comfortable shoes to wear at work where a tie and jacket dress is the norm. These fit the bill. The have a nice sleek look, and I like the throwback style. I am eager to get a couple more pairs of Sorels to wear for work.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this shoe, looks great!!

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Reading, PA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Derby looks awesome! The soul in very comfortable the the leather has a good flex. The edges of the leather around the ankle and the edge of the tongue are a little stiff and gave me a blister but that's no different than any leather dress shoe I've tried on before. It'll soften up after some use. I ordered a 10, which is the size I normally wear, and the shoe was way to big. Ordered a 9.5 and it fits a lot better, might have been able to pull off a 9 for a little tighter fit but the shoe fits way better a half a size smaller.
As soon as I wore them out I was complimented on them, they look great and aside from the 'new shoe' stiffness, they feel great. I will be buying them in darker brown as well as soon as I can.
Thanks Sorel for my new favorite shoe!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bySJRoss
Reading, PA
 
Please wait while more information about SJRoss is loaded.
Additional information about SJRoss could not be loaded.
Review after almost a year.
onOctober 15, 2013
I've had these shoes for close to a year now and I am still very pleased with them; however, these are definitely not all weather shoes. The leather is very thin and provides no insulation so in the colder temps wool socks are a must. In addition, this leather must be treated. It absorbs water like crazy and will crack. I condition them and use Chamberlain's no. 3 on both the light and dark versions of these shoes and though the leather does darken a little, it takes on a richer color and will protect your shoes from rain, snow, dirt, etc... It will make your shoes last much longer. The glue, as another reviewer mentioned, is not the best. The rubber tread is coming loose at the toe but I will take the advice of that reviewer and find a shop that can take care of it with new and more resilient glue. All in all, these are still the shoes I wear more than any other pair I have, they get more comfortable the more you wear them and I still receive complements on them. When I bought these I paid full price from Sorel; for the price they're at now, I'm tempted to buy another pair.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 8 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great looking and functional

PostedApril 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Colorado
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought these for my husband for work. He loves them, they are comfortable and stylish. He wears them to various functions- work, school functions, out on the town- very versatile! Love the new trendsetting styles, Sorel!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice shoe

PostedJune 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fit . Comfy. My X loves them. Need I say more
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the shoe, not the glue!

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: MT
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bought these through Amazon, mainly for their sole. I gave them a fair quality rating, again, because of the sole. I wanted a nice work shoe that didn't have a slick sole (MT winters) and was excited when i found these. Within 1 month the sole on both shoes had started separating at the toe. Sorel was willing to evaluate for warranty issue, but said it was a 4-6 week turn around. Thank goodness for Archer's Grizzly Boot Co in Missoula. A few bucks and 24 hours later they were better than brand new. I realize I may have gotten a bum pair, but because of the sole, I wouldn't recommend them unless you're OK with the potential of sending them back or have a quality shoe repair shop close by. Everything else about this shoe is amazing.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Derby shoe

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Portland
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Durable but stylish and wearable
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Comfortable

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Miami, FL
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable, light and non slip surface. Got a lot of compliments for its Retro style. I wear them mainly with khakis. They run a little big so get it 1/2 size smaller and it should fit great.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great look, excellent quality

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: New York
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First time purchasing a Sorel product that wasn't a pair of boots. Could not be happier.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men's Derby

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Fits a half size large, as many other reviews have pointed out, i agree. Additionally, i would not recommend using a leather waterproofing spray with these shoes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice shoes with good quality leather

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Troy,MI
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The shows look sleek and stylish. Very well made with nice leather. Fit for every day wearing.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Shoes

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Wauwatosa, WI
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great online experience, and great deal for $80 with shipping. Wife liked the style, and the quality seems to be above average. The grips on the bottom will be great for Wisconsin winters, and I liked the extra cushioning this rubber soles provided. Overall a great buy. I typically wear a 10.5 to 11, and the 10.5 fit, but with a 1/4 extra room. Wish they had these in black.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great shoes

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Los ANgeles
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome fit and great quality. Only thing they got creases real fast from wearing but since these are my first true leather shoes I had in 10 years so it may be part of the package.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Sleek Casual Friday Look!

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: New York, NY
Footwear Attitude:Trendsetter
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Most of the reviews are correct, it is a half-size bigger. The shoe tongue base corners are rough and rub against my feet, not good. Wear thick socks to fix that. Not recommended.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Derby - Elk - Great Shoe

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Grand Rapids, mi
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Great Shoe. I have had them for about 2 weeks. Very comfortable to wear and I use a standing desk for most of the day. The shoe runs a bit large. I wear an 11 and ordered a 10.5.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Derby™ Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

At long last mine

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Maryland
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had waited for 2 years since I saw these recommended in Outside magazine as a shoe that fit like a running shoe but would be acceptable in the office. The $140 price made me blanch a bit so I waited and then forgot about them for a while until I recently rediscovered them at $70 and bought them immediately. They have been everything I thought they would be and I could not be happier ....
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 Next »