Customer reviews for Sorel Men’s Balmoral™ Halfcab Leather Shoe

Sorel Men’s Balmoral™ Halfcab Leather Shoe

A modern interpretation of a classic – perfectly refined for everyday wear, these shoes feature leather that will age gracefully and only get more comfortable with time; rubber pods on the leather outsole for increased traction; and durable leather laces.
Overall rating:
3.682 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
14 out of 20(70%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Balmoral™ Halfcab Leather Shoe
Review 1 for Men’s Balmoral™ Halfcab Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not recommend this shoe

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Petros
Location: New York, NY
Footwear Attitude: Function over fashion
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
I've only had my shoes two weeks and the sole is coming apart. I do not recommend these shoes.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Balmoral™ Halfcab Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Shoe

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
prof
Location: Madison, WI
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far so good. I was a bit apprehensive about purchasing based on previous reviews, but couldn't pass up the sale. Glad I took the chance. I normally wear a 10.5 and that is what I ordered despite other reviews suggesting that these shoes run big. They fit just about perfect. Construction seems good and they broke in fast. Overall, I am pleased with the purchase. Look great with jeans and/or chinos.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Balmoral™ Halfcab Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product has great features!

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
raymingray
Location: La Jolla, Ca
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I normally wear a 10.5 on about everything and the 10.5 on these fit comfortably (I have wide feet). It was also lighter than I expected which was a pleasant surprise. Haven't seen any signs of wear and tear yet after 2 weeks. Great buy!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Balmoral™ Halfcab Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Balmoral Halfcab Boots

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
PharmDStudent
Location: Lexington, Ky
Footwear Attitude: Trendsetter
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The reviews are spot on. I followed their advice and bought an 8.5 instead of a 9 and they fit perfectly. (The other reviews that talk about needing 1.5 to 2 sizes smaller probably don't buy properly sized dress shoes very often.) I had some issues putting them on but I have a feeling it's because of my wide feet. The leather is top notch, as is the sole, but where they meet may be the weakest point in the design (just looks glued together). Overall, very satisfied, especially for this price point.
Also, It only took 2 days for them to be on my doorstep. Awesome!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Balmoral™ Halfcab Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Handsome Shoe

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
WIteacher
Location: Madison, WI
Footwear Attitude: Function over fashion
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The shoe is well constructed. The Sorel-typical grip on the bottom of the shoe make them a more useable casual shoe in WI year-round. I got this for my boyfriend who is a "true" 13 and was nervous they'd be too small/big because of other reviews, but they seem to fit fine. I did notice the toe seems to point in very early - which I can see causing fit issues. Overall beautiful leather.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Balmoral™ Halfcab Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Classic Look

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
r1johnston
Location: Middleburg, VA
Footwear Attitude: Function over fashion
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought these boots on sale as an add-on purchase to the Conquest boots I was buying. The Balmoral is a very thin, low-to-no heel shoe. They are comfortable and the lack of heel is better for my posture and feet. They look great too
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Balmoral™ Halfcab Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very nice shoes

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
rollinga69
Location: Wash DC
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love them, the only recommendation is , get a smaller size..... I am size 11 but ordered 10.5 and it fits perfect.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Balmoral™ Halfcab Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Falls Apart

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
notthisboot55
Location: Washington, D.C.
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
These boots look really nice and are decently comfortable, but unfortunately don't hold up at all. Within in a few weeks of wearing them the toe started coming loose and the leather shoe string became tattered. If you're looking for a boot you'll have to replace very shortly, then go with these. If you want something that will last, go somewhere else. Very disappointed in this product, especially after Sorel's great reputation.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Balmoral™ Halfcab Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the boots!

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
ryanpmay
Location: New York
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got these boots on sale recently and LOVE them!
I do think they run big. I typically wear a 12 boot but based on previous recommendations got the 11, and they fit perfectly.
The leather is great and I was even contemplating getting a back-up pair.
Great boots! I hope Sorel continues to make them.
Ps - I first noticed these boots last year but thought they were too pricey at $160. But on sale at half that, they are very attractive.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ryanpmay1
NYC
 
Please wait while more information about ryanpmay1 is loaded.
Additional information about ryanpmay1 could not be loaded.
Addendum
Posted February 17, 2014
As an addendum, I will reiterate other reviews in that the quality of the boot isn't all that great. If you're looking for this boot to hold up in rough conditions, look elsewhere. I have been wearing them in the harsh Jan/Feb NYC winter and the toe of the sole is starting to peel off (also, the leather is getting beat up pretty bad, which I expect, not a knock on the shoes).
With all that said, I just ordered my second pair of these shoes as I am moving to NC. I think they're great and I am hoping they'll hold up in the milder climate.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for Men’s Balmoral™ Halfcab Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality leather and timeless style

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
ironhut
Location: Indiana
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shoes are perfect for nearly any casual occasion. Great w/ jeans/khakis/etc. Quality looking shoe and more comfortable than I had expected.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Balmoral™ Halfcab Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

way too narrow for my foot

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
diamond
Location: brooklyn
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this shoe was way too narrow for my foot so i returned them. unfortunately i had to pay the return shipping.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Balmoral™ Halfcab Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Shoe tongue bites

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Raja
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Footwear Attitude: Function over fashion
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I love the style of the shoe and color. But, I cannot wear them after 3 or 4 hours. They become really uncomfortable.
The inside of the shoe tongue has a edge that presses against the foot. I wish Sorel has thought about it and gave extra padding
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Balmoral™ Halfcab Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Runs VERY large

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
MJC2
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These were just too big for my husband. He wears a 10 1/2 or 11 and we got the 10 1/2. These were easily a size to two sizes too big. They also had some scuff marks on the leather already. Great style, too bad they have to go back.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Balmoral™ Halfcab Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value.

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Travo
Location: Las Vegas
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The shoes are comfy and look great. They do run a bit big. I wear an 11 and ordered a 10 based on reviews. There's still a bit of room to spare with the 10's I ordered. There is some visable glue around the soles where they were adhered, but I still think these are a great value for the price and the fit. Overall I'm happy with the purchase.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Balmoral™ Halfcab Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect blend of casual and trendy

PostedApril 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
nwdude
Location: Portland, OR
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I looked very hard for a shoe of this style to wear with jeans or casual dress pants. I am very impressed with the initial fit, look and quality; the leather is a supple and took to my foot shape right away. So far my favorite purchase in a while!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Balmoral™ Halfcab Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Husband Loved Them

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
User321
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ordered them as a gift for my husband and they fit him quite well and he's very pleased.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Balmoral™ Halfcab Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Looking Shoe

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
jack182831243
Location: Atlanta
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfortable and Good Looking
Runs about 1/2 size big
Little concerned it will hold up over time. Sorel has a great reputation of lasting, however the stitching seemed alittle weaker/flimsy other boots.
Guess time will tell.
I do love the shoe
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Balmoral™ Halfcab Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Halfcab

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
nagaviper
Location: Honolulu, HI
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great style coupled with amazing comfort. Beautiful leather craftsmanship and a light weight design.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Balmoral™ Halfcab Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Soles falling off

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Austin
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
After the third time of wearing these boots, the soles started falling off. Terrible product for the price you pay for these. Wouldn't recommend to anyone. While they look great, I am now tripping over the soles that are peeling off.
I do not recommend this product.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Balmoral™ Halfcab Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
SeanW
Location: Carrboro, NC
Footwear Attitude: Trendsetter
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought these one week ago and the rubber sole has already peeled off from the front of both shoes. Terrible quality and my last Sorel purchase. I would return them but I bought them out of town. :(
I do not recommend this product.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12Next »