Customer reviews for Sorel Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot

Sorel Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot

This version of the Caribou boot has the same waterproof construction, full-grain leather upper and iconic silhouette you know and love, but comes with a wool inner boot (instead of felt) to keep feet warm, dry and cozy during activities in winter weather.
Overall rating:
4.378 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(127 reviews) 127
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 127 reviews
5 Stars
88
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
7
1 Star
7
106 out of 120(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Review 1 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

are these steel toe?

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: American Fork
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Are these steel toe? I'd not, what other ones are?
I would recommend this product.
-34points
0of 34voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Iowa City, IA, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wasn't sure about the white laces at first, but the boots look great. I ordered 1/2 size larger than my normal size, and the boots fit perfectly.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome but way too big

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: San Diego
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered these and they fit like an 80's coupe de ville... Comfy but way way huge. My thickest wool sox wouldn't even touch the sides of my normal size. Bear in mind these are -40 boots and I'm only wearing in the teens, so I'm not tripling up on sox or anything but I ordered a full size smaller and they're still pretty big but doable I guess with some thick sox. If you want a natural feel for normal socks, maybe 1.5 sizes smaller? They're super comfy, amazing on snow and ice but not snug without downsizing considerably. Prob perfect if used properly. Lacing is weird too, loosens immediately after you pull tight and work your way up the boot. I think you just need more stuff between your bones and the boot. Hope this helps someone in my shoes.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy Toes in No Wisconsin

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Can't really comment on quality as I've only worn the boots once. Had to return first order as the boots were definitely way too large (ordered 1/2 size up which was 8.5). Reordered an 8 (usual boot size) and while still large they probably will be fine. First shipment charge (from Sorel) was $6.00 but my return back to them cost me another $20.00. I was also suppose to get a credit for the 2nd pair since the 1st pair was $40.00 less because of Black Friday sale. Sorel did not follow through. Glad I watched my credit card statement because I had to call Sorel and only then did Sorel post my $40.00 credit. Overall customer service was fine except for telling me they'd post my credit when my 2nd boots shipped and then failed to do so. They ship out quite fast so I'd say don't pay for expedited shipping because you get the boots in just a few days. Overall I'm satisfied and look forward to happy feet throughout the winter months.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
6of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great boots.

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Hutchinson, MN 55350, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Use them for ice fishing. Perfect warmth and comfort.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bomb A** Boots

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Saint Paul, MN, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
These boots keep my feet toasty as an arm pit in summer. I wore them out in 10 degree weather for 5 hours and were almost too warm. I said true to size but they run slightly large which is perfect for thick socks. Buy your actual size! These boots are Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious! You don't have to wear these, but you'd be a lot cooler if you did!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Favorite Snow Boots

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Utah
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these boots. They are stylish, super comfortable and very warm! I'm normally a size 13 (US) and ordered 13's but they were slightly too big. I think the size 12 would have fit more snugly but it wasn't a huge issue when I laced them tightly. I highly recommend.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Poor material - cracks in rubber!

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Customer avatar
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is the second pair of this design ending with exact same defect - cracks in the rubber on the side - alongside the upper edge of the grey line.
Previously I owned same design from another brand, and assumed it was a bad label, so I switched to Sorel due to good reviews.
The problem with the reviews are that they have been submitted when product has only been worn a very few times, far from the end of life which seems to be around 1.5 years. Prior to this time they are great and warm.
I've never experience cracks like these in my rubber boots - not even XtraTuff made of vinyl.
I'm very disappointed, and will now have to look for other designs, as also Sorel's boots will crack after very little use vs expected use/wear.
So if you're considering these boots/this design: they are great if you you're OK with buying new ones every 1.5 years, or that a lifetime of 1.5 years is great!
I do not recommend this product.
+7points
12of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I wanted

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: CT
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For years I've watched the ticket punchers on the ski slopes who wear these with envy. I finally got my own pair and they are exactly what I had hoped they would be: comfortable, warm, not too heavy, durable, solid, good traction, stylish, and a little macho. Makes shoveling the driveway and general trudging a little more bearable...and hip.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Money I ever spent

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Cornwall, NY, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these boots over a year ago and it looks like they will make it through another abusive winter. I wear them every day during the cold months working construction. Water, mud, & snow has nothing on these well designed boots. The Caribou's have a pliable leather upper and are very comfortable even when enduring 10-12hr shifts.
I would recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect. True to description

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I switched back to pac-boot style after a decade of use out of a pair of Conquest - I'm not scrambling around on ladders, rooms etc as much anymore! Love these boots very much. Look forward to putting them on! I am an easy 10 in ALL shoes. I ordered 9.5 based on reading reviews, ended up with a 9 and they fit great. Get some!
I would recommend this product.
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great boots

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Baltimore
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally got to wear these boots after having them a few months. We got about 10 inches of snow and I worked outside all day and my feet stayed dry and warm.
-1point
6of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5-Star Winter Boot

PostedDecember 15, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This boot will keep you warm in dry during those New England Winter months.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wool is wonderful

PostedDecember 17, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Christmas Valley, OR, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
I decided to toss tradition and order wool lined boots instead of felt. WOW! Just stepped up to full comfort. These boots are sweet. I wear them with some thick boot socks and stay cozy toe warm. I have a shattered right foot, which makes it wider than the the left. I was worried that they would be to tight and wondered if a larger size was needed. However, after an hour of wear, they loosened and stretched, and formed aroiund my feet like lovers wrap around each other in a fit of heated passion. The soles have been changed...for the better. In fact, compared to older models, the whole boot is a gold medal winner. If felt just didnt do it, go wool. Fall in love with your boots all over again...trust me, I'm a self proclaimed Hobo...lots of miles on theses feet...great boots.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not yet tested by nature

PostedDecember 19, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Caveat: No snow yet, so I haven't had a chance to use the boots. Choosing the correct size is difficult. Like other people, size depends on type of shoe. I measure for an 8. My business shoes are an 8 1/2. My Brooks running shoes are 9 1/2. My Lowa hiking boots are a 10. I initially tried a size 9. Slightly tight so I returned them. Brittney in Customer Service was fantastic! The 9 1/2's feel right - a little room for heavy wool socks. I expect the boots to perform in Chicago according to most of these reviews. Looking forward to a more demanding test in Alaska next winter!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing boots

PostedDecember 23, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Long Island, New York, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My size is 10.5 ordered 10.0 Fits me perfect...Excellence
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Way to big

PostedDecember 30, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: New Orleans
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Large
True to Size
Too Large
2nd time returning this shoe to figure out size. Still can't get it sorted out. I am returning these again and won't re-purchase due to cost to return.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy

PostedDecember 30, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: St. Louis
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought a size 8.5 for my husband birthday and they were too big. So, I returned them and bought a size 7.5 and they fit perfectly. He loves them. GREAT quality and worth the price.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Use the fit guide on Sorel

PostedJanuary 22, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Buffalo NY
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
These boots are awesome. Super warm and comfy. Size fits perfectly as long as you use the fit guide on Sorel or you'll buy the wrong size. I normally buy 10.5 but using the fit guide I am a 10 for this boot. Received the boot and bam! They fit. The Burro is a great looking boot.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The very best. Period.

PostedJanuary 23, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Tahoe City, CA, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
This is my second pair of Sorel Caribou boots. I have other Sorel products, from Glacier Boots, for deep condition snow-shoeing in the back-country, to Manawan slippers to pad around the house, but in my opinion, Sorel Caribous are the "Gold Standard" all around snow boot. My other Caribous, now about 35-40 years old, are still fine, but I wanted an extra pair to keep in my car for surprise snow storms.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next »