Customer reviews for Sorel Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot

Sorel Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot

This version of the Caribou boot has the same waterproof construction, full-grain leather upper and iconic silhouette you know and love, but comes with a wool inner boot (instead of felt) to keep feet warm, dry and cozy during activities in winter weather.
Overall rating:
4.573 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(96 reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 96 reviews
5 Stars
70
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
85 out of 90(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Review 1 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great boots

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Customer avatar
Bigjohn
Location: Baltimore
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally got to wear these boots after having them a few months. We got about 10 inches of snow and I worked outside all day and my feet stayed dry and warm.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect. True to description

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Trav
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Small
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I switched back to pac-boot style after a decade of use out of a pair of Conquest - I'm not scrambling around on ladders, rooms etc as much anymore! Love these boots very much. Look forward to putting them on! I am an easy 10 in ALL shoes. I ordered 9.5 based on reading reviews, ended up with a 9 and they fit great. Get some!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Money I ever spent

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Customer avatar
pjacobs433
Location: Cornwall, NY, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these boots over a year ago and it looks like they will make it through another abusive winter. I wear them every day during the cold months working construction. Water, mud, & snow has nothing on these well designed boots. The Caribou's have a pliable leather upper and are very comfortable even when enduring 10-12hr shifts.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I wanted

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Customer avatar
Footy
Location: CT
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For years I've watched the ticket punchers on the ski slopes who wear these with envy. I finally got my own pair and they are exactly what I had hoped they would be: comfortable, warm, not too heavy, durable, solid, good traction, stylish, and a little macho. Makes shoveling the driveway and general trudging a little more bearable...and hip.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Poor material - cracks in rubber!

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Customer avatar
rosmo01
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is the second pair of this design ending with exact same defect - cracks in the rubber on the side - alongside the upper edge of the grey line.
Previously I owned same design from another brand, and assumed it was a bad label, so I switched to Sorel due to good reviews.
The problem with the reviews are that they have been submitted when product has only been worn a very few times, far from the end of life which seems to be around 1.5 years. Prior to this time they are great and warm.
I've never experience cracks like these in my rubber boots - not even XtraTuff made of vinyl.
I'm very disappointed, and will now have to look for other designs, as also Sorel's boots will crack after very little use vs expected use/wear.
So if you're considering these boots/this design: they are great if you you're OK with buying new ones every 1.5 years, or that a lifetime of 1.5 years is great!
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Favorite Snow Boots

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Customer avatar
arw525
Location: Utah
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these boots. They are stylish, super comfortable and very warm! I'm normally a size 13 (US) and ordered 13's but they were slightly too big. I think the size 12 would have fit more snugly but it wasn't a huge issue when I laced them tightly. I highly recommend.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bomb A** Boots

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Customer avatar
Caldar
Location: Saint Paul, MN, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
These boots keep my feet toasty as an arm pit in summer. I wore them out in 10 degree weather for 5 hours and were almost too warm. I said true to size but they run slightly large which is perfect for thick socks. Buy your actual size! These boots are Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious! You don't have to wear these, but you'd be a lot cooler if you did!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great boots.

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Customer avatar
TJMag
Location: Hutchinson, MN 55350, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Use them for ice fishing. Perfect warmth and comfort.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy Toes in No Wisconsin

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Customer avatar
FreezingAgain
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Can't really comment on quality as I've only worn the boots once. Had to return first order as the boots were definitely way too large (ordered 1/2 size up which was 8.5). Reordered an 8 (usual boot size) and while still large they probably will be fine. First shipment charge (from Sorel) was $6.00 but my return back to them cost me another $20.00. I was also suppose to get a credit for the 2nd pair since the 1st pair was $40.00 less because of Black Friday sale. Sorel did not follow through. Glad I watched my credit card statement because I had to call Sorel and only then did Sorel post my $40.00 credit. Overall customer service was fine except for telling me they'd post my credit when my 2nd boots shipped and then failed to do so. They ship out quite fast so I'd say don't pay for expedited shipping because you get the boots in just a few days. Overall I'm satisfied and look forward to happy feet throughout the winter months.
I would recommend this product.
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome but way too big

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Smiley92101
Location: San Diego
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Too Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered these and they fit like an 80's coupe de ville... Comfy but way way huge. My thickest wool sox wouldn't even touch the sides of my normal size. Bear in mind these are -40 boots and I'm only wearing in the teens, so I'm not tripling up on sox or anything but I ordered a full size smaller and they're still pretty big but doable I guess with some thick sox. If you want a natural feel for normal socks, maybe 1.5 sizes smaller? They're super comfy, amazing on snow and ice but not snug without downsizing considerably. Prob perfect if used properly. Lacing is weird too, loosens immediately after you pull tight and work your way up the boot. I think you just need more stuff between your bones and the boot. Hope this helps someone in my shoes.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Customer avatar
VictoryRider
Location: Iowa City, IA, USA
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wasn't sure about the white laces at first, but the boots look great. I ordered 1/2 size larger than my normal size, and the boots fit perfectly.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

are these steel toe?

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Customer avatar
CHICOLOCO
Location: American Fork
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Are these steel toe? I'd not, what other ones are?
I would recommend this product.
-23points
0of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best boots ever - I didn't know comfort like this existed

PostedMay 18, 2014
Customer avatar
MikeD
Location: Chicago, IL
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can't say enough about these boots, they are the most comfortable shoes I own. I usually wear a size 8, and had to reorder these boots a size lower so I think they run a bit large, but I haven't been satisfied with a boot like this ever. I take shorter walks in snow and ice (Chicago city-dweller) so the laces with easy on / easy off make things quick and simple. I'd recommend them to anyone going on a winter stroll rocking sweatpants and walking the dog. Happy hunting!
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byNickD
Bend, OR
 
Please wait while more information about NickD is loaded.
Additional information about NickD could not be loaded.
onAugust 3, 2014
Yo, MikeD!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent winter boots

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer avatar
pzierke
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product from a great company. These boots are highly recommended and will not disappoint. Top notch quality construction that will last many years to come. There is nothing better than Sorels for the long, cold Minnesota winters. They do run a bit large. I ordered a 1/2 size smaller than my typical shoe size.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Made a hard winter, easier.

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Pottsy
Location: LIC, NY
Footwear Attitude:Style conscious
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a high quality, rugged and stylish boot. It broke in easily and kept my feet warm and dry during a particularly snowy and white winter in NY. Aside from function, the boots got many compliments and stares every time I wore them.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's what I expected, good qualityand workmanship

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Springcoming2014
Location: Northern Michigan
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I owned my previous pair for over twenty (20) years and the only reason I replaced them was because they were finally showing their age, (kinda like me).
My old boots were looking a little sad and my wife insisted that if I was going outside to shovel or blow snow to do so when the neighbors were not at home or just before dark. I thought she was referring to me, until she clarified that she was talking about by boots.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Boots, just the right size.

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Keno
Location: Columbia, MD.
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are some of the best all-around winter boots you can wear. I give them 4 stars because in my opinion the traction could be a little bit better.
For those who are saying they run big, you are aware they are supposed to be a size or so larger? Your foot stays warmer that way as your body heat heats up the air between your foot and the boot. You are supposed to wear a thick pair of socks or two with them as well to "fill in the space" while still allowing air to flow. Wearing winter boots that are properly fitted is how you get frostbite.
I would recommend this product.
+14points
17of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product was very comfortable and warm

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer avatar
GregS
Location: New York
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had another pair of Sorel Snow Boots that I leave at a Winter Vacation House for 14 years. They still feel and look like they did the day I bought them.
I didn't have access to my winter cabin and needed a pair of new boots to go snowmobiling in the Rocky Mountains. The boots arrived at my door step two days after ordering online. I read a review that said they run a little small. I wore two pairs of thick socks and still had room in the boot.
The boots were extremely comfortable and kept my feet warm all day while snowmobiling and walking on snow trails in 15 degree weather.
I would strongly recommend this boot to anyone who wants a durable, fashionable, warm, and high quality boot. They are worth the extra money.
My only regret is that they will last me another 20 years, and I will have to wait that long to buy another pair.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Size Issue

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Larrybwny
Location: White Plains, NY
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a 10.5 (US) and its much too large. Is there a way that I can return them and know exactly what my size should be?
I would recommend this product.
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Caribou™ Wool Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

How to keep warm in -29 below

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Vince23
Location: San Clemnete, CA
Footwear Attitude:Function over fashion
Employee:No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We recently took a trip to Fairbanks, AK to view Northern Lights.
It was pretty cold out at 2:00AM. But, no problem with these
Sorrell's which kept my feet toasty.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 Next »