Customer reviews for Sorel Men's Greely Brogue™ Boot

Sorel Men's Greely Brogue™ Boot

Men's Greely Brogue™ Boot
Overall rating:
4.571 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
19 out of 21(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Greely Brogue™ Boot
Review 1 for Men's Greely Brogue™ Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good Shoe...but they tare easily

PostedMay 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
ChristianSAW
Location: Ithaca, NY
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Normally, I would give the shoes a 4/5, but the shoes unfortunately do not hold up. I wore the shoe maybe 4 days a week for most of the day in snowy weather. Within 4 weeks, I noticed a hole in the leather near my ankle. I'm not sure if others have experienced this same travesty, but this is a real turn off for me. General comments below:
Pros:
Fits pretty well and the laces are great
Looks good
Comfortable
Mostly waterproof (will get wet if soak in water)
Cons:
Leather is weak
Color is a lot darker than it appears
Clear marks form where shoe bends from ware (i.e. the part where you bend your toes)
I really wanted to like this shoe, but Sorel did not live up to its reputation of quality. It really is a shame.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Greely Brogue™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Look Great, Feel Great

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
BigT
Location: Northern VA
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These boots are stylin'. My concern was that I would be sacrificing function and warmth for style, but not the case at all. Just wore them around in over 1ft snow. and feet were completely dry. I would definitely recommend. Only negative is they are a bit tough to get off and on. Really need to loosen the laces all the way down.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Greely Brogue™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brogue

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
dadada
Location: 61201
Footwear Attitude: Function over fashion
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Long cold Winter in Moline, Illinois. I received my Greely Brogue Boots just in time for another 8 inch snow fall. They did all that was stated. Almost no slippage in snow or ice. Great looking boot that I can wear with my suits. I did use your online size chart and it was right on. Thanks, Dan
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Greely Brogue™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just Perfect

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Avii
Location: NYC
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first pair of SOREL Boots and they are just absolutely perfect in every way. The weather in NYC has been crazy the last few weeks and these boots have saved my feet over and over. I will never buy any other brand of boots. Thanks SOREL!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Greely Brogue™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Boot

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bentini
Location: Toronto, ON
Footwear Attitude: Trendsetter
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these just before Christmas and I have not been disappointed one bit. In terms of fashion they are right up there while still adding comfort and stability.
I would recommenced these boots to anyone who is looking to make a statement with there footwear.
This was money well spent and to be quite frank this is the first time I have ever wrote a review for a shoe/boot product and I have bought 100's of shoes online.
Well worth the money..
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Greely Brogue™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stylish boots

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
chicagoprofessional
Location: Chicago, IL
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These boots are great with awesome traction and waterproofing. They do fit a little wide (and I know because I have wide feet). Also, the "microfiber insulation" is non-existent, but when wearing thicker socks as one would wear in the winter, they are plenty warm. Its currently -9 in Chicago, so that's a good test.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Greely Brogue™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sweet boot

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
JohnnyRotten
Location: Chicago, IL
Footwear Attitude: Function over fashion
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I decided to spend the few extra bucks on what I thought was going to be a higher quality product, and I was correct in doing so. These boots are well made, look awesome, and keep my feet nice and warm and dry in this crazy cold winter. I would absolutely recommend them.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Greely Brogue™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kenneth
Location: Roanoke VA
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Love these boots! Stay warm and dry in the snow and rain! I get more compliments on these boots than anything else I own!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Greely Brogue™ Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Hard to get on and off

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Chicago1973
Location: Chicago, IL
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I may just have high arches, but the boots are very hard to get on and off. Fit nicely once on, however. Just not very convenient.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Greely Brogue™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost a home-run.

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nbot
Location: The Interwebs, Very North America
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I found these online via searches for a fashionable but winter friendly boot.
"Tar" is a very dark brown, NOT black, in case you are having a hard time viewing on your monitor. Think slightly beyond dark chocolate, not black. Probably would be fine with black pants since they are so dark?
They are not as warm/insulated as I was expecting. The "microfiber" insulation does not seem that much more than the backing to the suede, the main shoe walls are thin & floppy (not like a rigid leather boot). This probably makes them comfortable to wear daily however.
The tread is great for winter/ice walking, no doubt.
The feet are wider than normal, I have fairly skinny feet and find most shoes fit me fine, but the side to side motion (especially near the ball of the foot) is more than normal. If you have wider feet, this is good for you. For skinny feet, you'll have to cinch down on the laces for a tighter fit (which isn't great) if that's what you are after (again, that may be the design, to allow thicker socks and/or be more comfortable, so I could be off-point).
For the laces, I'd prefer grommets to be available to make lacing up not such a slow process of tugging the strings through the leather. Understood they were likely left off for aesthetics, but non-glossy grommets could have been used.
I tried on other traditional Sorel boots on at a local store, and surprisingly was an 11.5 (their traditional winter boots seemed to run small). These shoes however fit like normal shoes, and I'll have to return for an 11. Perhaps the 11 will not be so wide on my foot as well.
I think Sorel has struck upon a certain niche here and could see this line of boot (of fashionable winter wear) developing into a big seller for Sorel in the future, but on really cold days, even if you have on nice wool socks, I'm guessing I'll be risking some cold toes if I spend any real amount of time walking around in low temps. I think I would've liked a smidgen more insulation since I bought these to be my main winter boots, but perhaps they did this on purpose, so office commuters who don't really see too much time walking around outside in sub-32'F temps wouldn't get too hot during the work day.
Overall a 4 of 5 stars for my needs. Very sharp looking, great quality construction, but for daily winter boots needs a little bit more insulation IMO, then this would be a home-run product; as is, it's fashion slightly over function & thick socks to the rescue. Or, a great spring/fall boot, in which case a 5 of 5 stars is the verdict.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Greely Brogue™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kevin4242
Location: Brooklyn
Footwear Attitude: Trendsetter
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm. Waterproof. Comfortable. And oh so stylish. I'm ready for an additional pair. I've already recommended to friends on FaceBook.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Greely Brogue™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Give them time

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
TomB
Location: St. Louis Park, MN
Footwear Attitude: Function over fashion
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great boots - take about a half dozen wears to break them in to where its not nearly impossible to get them on. Once they are broken in, they are super comfortable, good looking, and fun to wear.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Greely Brogue™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very stylish and warm!

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Susan2112
Location: Chicago
Footwear Attitude: Trendsetter
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hi,
I purchased these for my husband, we live in Chicago, as it's very difficult to find a stylish boot that keeps his feet warm on cold windy days. We received 8" of snow and took them out for a test walk yesterday to go get groceries (we walked) and they were awesome! His feet were toasty warm and the boot was entirely waterproof in the snowy slush! I highly recommend these boots!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Greely Brogue™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Boots

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
hoofs
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit and feel, almost like a shoe... but more like a boot!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Greely Brogue™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Boots Ever, Hands Down

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Priz
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got these just in time for Winter. I work in a casual work environment now, so I wanted a versatile boot, one that is tough and waterproof, but also looks great. These hit the spot. Not only are they stylish due to a wingtip front design, but they have really great leather, and quality stitching. Another great benefit is the comfort of these boots. I can literally wear them all day, and feel like I am floating on air. Great job Sorel.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Greely Brogue™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The most stylish waterproof boot I've found.

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
RyBreadFury
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sizing is as expected. I've already worn these sledding in Flagstaff, AZ and they kept my feet warm and dry with a mid thickness merino wool sock. Good traction in the snow. Great to wear around town. I've worn these for 12 hours straight once already. Never overheated or got cold in a variety of conditions (warm Phoenix to cold Flagstaff and back). Surprisingly comfortable and provide great support. Most people would never guess that these were waterproof boot. They look like trendy boots. I got the dark color. Work well with cords or bootcut jeans. They also look great with slimmer jeans with narrow leg openings. Excellent design. Fantastic all day comfort. If I lived in a northern state I would probably wear these every day there was even the slightest threat of precipitation. If there was any downside it's that they are a little difficult to get on, probably due to the waterproof properties. Worth the effort to pull them on. Great work, Sorel. Push these hard with your vendors so more of the public can get their hands on them and feet in them at major retailers or co-ops.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Greely Brogue™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like it was made for me

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Skywalker
Location: Portland OR
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife and I loved the look of this boot when we first saw it at REI. Honestly I ordered the boot before trying it on. I'm wearing it to work almost everyday now. I bike to work and appreciate the subtle warmth and water resistance it provides. The toe slides into the pedal saddle pretty easily. I'm looking forward to testing the boots hardiness to the harsh rains of Portland OR.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Greely Brogue™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great boot

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Phillip
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I put these on right out of the box and fell in love with them. They look great and feel amazing. Good fit and a fun update for a boot. I can wear it to work and also good with jeans.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Greely Brogue™ Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Functional & Stylish

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
JPNC
Location: Raleigh, NC
Footwear Attitude: Trendsetter
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True to Size
Too Large
Quality
This itemʼs level of materials, construction, and workmanship.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Was looking for a boot to fit the bill of functionality, waterproof, warm yet also be stylish enough for the office and nights out. This definitely fits. I am very happy with these and the unique looks gets complements.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Greely Brogue™ Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my new Sorel Boots.

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Maxmobile
Location: NYC
Footwear Attitude: Style conscious
Employee: No
Fit: 
Too Small
True to Size
True to Size
Too Large
Although I have not even worn these yet, I can see that they are excellent quality and stylish. I live in NYC and have been looking for a good boot for the winter city streets that I can still wear to work and meetings. Great boots.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12Next »